2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Summary:

Not perfection as they claim, and their transmissions are shoddy

Faults:

My check engine light went on at 94,000 and cost $650 to repair.

My transmission did not go into reverse at 98,000 a couple of times.

Transmission dead at 100,000 miles.

General Comments:

For a luxury vehicle that was maintained and only driven by me for 30,000 miles, its transmission problems are a serious and safety issue. The Lexus dealer sent me off onto a major route of traffic, knowing my transmission was going, and it failed about 100 yards from the dealership. I was on the side of the road with very narrow breakdown lane.

They couldn't care less about safety.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2010

2000 Lexus RX 300 3.0L from North America

Summary:

It's very nice car

Faults:

Transmission is shot and doesn't want to move.

I hope Lexus list a recall for these cars; it's a shame because they should take care of these cars.

If somebody has news about any solution for these cars from Lexus, let everybody know. Thanks.

General Comments:

Drives nice, but seems like they have transmission problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th October, 2010

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Summary:

ContactChrisWhite AT gmail DOT com if you want to be part of a CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT

Faults:

Transmission failed, big time, no warning and almost caused an accident.

General Comments:

I have loved the car. We had some initial issues with water leaking into the car through a taillight. It was a known issue at our dealership anyway, and Lexus finally agreed to fix the problem at no cost to us. But after the transmission failure, I am awestruck. I never expected the car to be failure proof, but some basic research has revealed that there are quite a few unhappy owners of Lexus RX300s made from 1999 to 2002, that have had the exact same transmission experience I have. It is a known issue that Lexus refuses to address. I have an attorney willing to get on board with a class action lawsuit. I see people on forums and boards all over the web in the short span of 2 hours since I started researching, talking about how we should all band together. Well if you are having the same problem and your Lexus is an RX300 manufactured between 1999 and 2002, let me know and let's DO band together and make them repair these defects.

My email is ContactChrisWhite AT gmail DOT com, and I am totally serious.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th October, 2010

27th Dec 2012, 16:41

My 2000 Lexus RX 300 automatic transmission also went on my car without any warning to me! I was shocked that something so major would go on my Lexus, after just having 100,000 miles on it! Last year my motor went, but at least Lexus paid for half of the expense! But as for the transmission, I didn't get a penny towards it! I'm so upset & afraid to drive my car anywhere anymore!

Upset from Toms River, New Jersey!!!

12th Jun 2014, 17:56

What is the status of your transmission claim with Lexus? I have an RX300 with nearly 165,000 miles, and experience problems with it shifting out 2nd gear. Note; the car has been well maintained, any success in Lexus supporting you in this matter?

2000 Lexus RX 300 SUV from North America

Summary:

Hot Mess

Faults:

Transmission went at 90,000. Before that it was the emissions. This car has expensive problems.

General Comments:

Don't buy this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th July, 2010

30th Jul 2010, 02:59

Love the title (Hot Mess). Like a gorgeous model with a raging cocaine habit.

2000 Lexus RX 300 from Puerto Rico

Faults:

I purchased my Lexus RX300 with 70,000 miles. Now the SUV has 147,000 miles driven. It drives very smooth.

I was in the process of giving my SUV to my father, until my engine light came on. I have it in the shop as we speak. This has been my first issue, and my mechanic says is not a big deal. I hope he is telling me truth. I will keep you all posted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th July, 2010

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Summary:

Seemed trouble free for a while, and thought it would last, but now I'm disappointed

Faults:

ABS axle needed replacing at 106,000 miles - $1,500!

I was surprised this happened, but after reading comments on this site and others, I guess I shouldn't be. I'm not sure if I will go back to Lexus, though they have cars I'm interested in - hybrid SUV's. The dealership is nice and feels luxurious - especially compared to other luxury dealers.

But, I am definitely disappointed in the mechanical problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th April, 2010