2000 Lexus RX Reviews - Page 4 of 13

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission  
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Absolute piece of crap

Faults:

Trans went at 78K.

Trans went again at 97K.

Oxygen sensors always go bad, and cost 170 a piece for the part only, and 100 for install. Dealer will charge 350 - 400.

Needs a timing belt replaced to the tune of 600.

Expensive car, that has poor reliability and expensive repairs.

This is my first and last Toyota or Lexus product. My happiest days with this car are the day I bought it, and the day that I finally sell it.

Lexus is overrated as a company with highly reliable cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th February, 2010

23rd Mar 2010, 08:29

2000, RX 300 transmission went out at 99,000 miles and was totally ruined. Had to have a new transmission installed. What has happened to the Lexus cars that this is happening. Anyone interested in a class action suit? This is not acceptable that Lexus has built a car that all transmission companies are saying this is a major issue with 1999 and 2000 Lexus. The whole car has been a piece of junk with several major issues. Electrical system, windows quit working at less than 50,000 miles and had not even been used that much. What can we do??

Thanks for listening.

Norma Martin 8232 Reynolds Falls Ct. Sarasota, Fl. 34243.

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic

Faults:

At 136,000 miles the transmission went. I went to Amoco because they give a three year warranty on parts and labor. Cost $3,500, rent a car $400.

The planetary gears were done -- big metal chunks missing. Lexus rebuilt $5,300 and only one year warranty.

If you have high miles, sell before the transmission goes. The tech at Amoco said it was a design fault affecting years 99-00'. There was too much movement and space within the planetary gears, and that what caused the failure. Trust me from reading all the posts, sell before it goes...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th January, 2010

23rd Mar 2010, 08:40

I am 73 year old female having great health issues and financial problems, and to get a Lexus RX 300 that at 99,000 miles the transmission failed. When AMOCO tore it apart, the planetary gears were ruined. What is going on with Toyota?

I had expected this car to last the rest of my life as I have had all oil and transmission services done as per Lexus owner manual.

What can we do as a group to be compensated for this?

Norma Martin 8232 Reynolds Falls Ct. Sarasota, Fl. 34243

941-351-2636.

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic

Faults:

For no apparent reason, my car would not start.

After towing the car to the service station, paying to have systems tested and battery charged, it turns out the chip in the key had fallen out.

Cost to replace the chip was $900 plus labor. Seems excessive.

After reading several reviews on line, it appears that this is a very common occurrence.

General Comments:

Cost of maintenance has been an ongoing issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th December, 2009

2000 Lexus RX 300 3.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres

Summary:

Garbage

Faults:

I purchased the Lexus RX300 in 2005.

I have had 3 sensors replaced at Lexus; it cost me 1500 plus. After having replaced the sensors, the engine indicator remained on, so Lexus replaced it free of charge this time.

Recently, with no warning the transmission broke. The car remained in neutral. When you shut it off for a while, it would drive. Once you stop in traffic, it would not move. I had to have the vehicle towed.

I service the vehicle regularly at Lexus dealerships. I will never purchase another Lexus again.

Probably my next choice over Lexus will be a Hyundai, because at least the money I would use to buy one Lexus, I can buy 2 Hyundais.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th November, 2009

27th Nov 2009, 13:05

"Probably my next choice over Lexus will be a Hyundai"

I can't wait to read what you would say about a Hyundai if you think your Lexus is "garbage".

27th Nov 2009, 15:44

In light of Hyundai's recent positive track record, I would not be surprised if the original poster finds the Hyundai to be "very good" or "excellent".

27th Nov 2009, 19:53

"I can't wait to read what you would say about a Hyundai if you think your Lexus is "garbage"."

I'm not the original reviewer, however, after owning a Hyundai Elantra for the past 62,000 miles and having zero problems, I'm quite happy. I wish the Ford I traded in on the Hyundai was this good!

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 48 reviews