2000 Lexus RX Reviews - Page 4 of 12

2000 Lexus RX 300 3.0 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres

Summary:

Garbage

Faults:

I purchased the Lexus RX300 in 2005.

I have had 3 sensors replaced at Lexus; it cost me 1500 plus. After having replaced the sensors, the engine indicator remained on, so Lexus replaced it free of charge this time.

Recently, with no warning the transmission broke. The car remained in neutral. When you shut it off for a while, it would drive. Once you stop in traffic, it would not move. I had to have the vehicle towed.

I service the vehicle regularly at Lexus dealerships. I will never purchase another Lexus again.

Probably my next choice over Lexus will be a Hyundai, because at least the money I would use to buy one Lexus, I can buy 2 Hyundais.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th November, 2009

27th Nov 2009, 13:05

"Probably my next choice over Lexus will be a Hyundai"

I can't wait to read what you would say about a Hyundai if you think your Lexus is "garbage".

27th Nov 2009, 15:44

In light of Hyundai's recent positive track record, I would not be surprised if the original poster finds the Hyundai to be "very good" or "excellent".

27th Nov 2009, 19:53

"I can't wait to read what you would say about a Hyundai if you think your Lexus is "garbage"."

I'm not the original reviewer, however, after owning a Hyundai Elantra for the past 62,000 miles and having zero problems, I'm quite happy. I wish the Ford I traded in on the Hyundai was this good!

2000 Lexus RX 300 3.0 gasoline from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carDatsun 260Z

Summary:

Good Car, poorly designed transmission

Faults:

Transmission failed at 68,000 miles, and the rebuild failed at 74,000 following a humming noise from the transmission.

All forward gears began slipping from failed clutch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2009

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired40000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

Generally love it, but am disappointed

Faults:

Complete transmission failure at 100,000 miles (160,000kms). I thought Lexus was suppose to be a reliable company/car! How come no recall? From what I see this problem is rampant.

General Comments:

Generally love it..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th August, 2009

2000 Lexus RX 300 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance230000 miles
Previous carLexus LS400

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

I love this car. I had it serviced when I needed to and used only premium gasoline. One time when gas got high, I tried medium grade and ended up with stalling. 180.00 later my car ran fine and I never used low grade gas again. I haven't had those troubles again.

My transmission just went out on me at 230,000 miles.

I do not use the Lexus dealership for service. They are too expensive. Toyota can do the work for you at half the price. Then I found a Lexus Certified Independent Mechanic who was about 25-30 percent cheaper than Toyota.

I did notice certain plastic parts in the visors and interior lights wore out. I had to manipulate them to keep them in place. That is the only annoyance I have experienced.

I will stay with Lexus. They are good cars. Toyotas in designer clothing.

General Comments:

It only had a 6 cylinder engine, but it had spunk. All my friends got this car when it was time for them to trade in. That bothered me a little, but imitation is the finest form of flattery.

It is a car for women I think. It gets decent gas mileage. Roomy, but not a giant like an Expedition I used to own. There is no cuter car on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2009

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles

Summary:

Don't waste your money on a Lexus

Faults:

Transmission failure at just 90k. Meticulously serviced. Excellent shape otherwise with no mechanical issues. Read all the posts on similar failures with this vehicle... and still no recall??? Shame on you Lexus!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2009

18th May 2009, 12:01

So you expect a new transmission at 90k miles?

Well, I really can't say that I blame you, as I would expect more than that out of a transmission, except for one thing - The transmission wasn't warrantied for 90k miles, was it?

Unfortunately, for those whose transmissions failed - Lexus is off the hook.

Whatever make you drive, perhaps an extended warranty isn't such a bad idea after all.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 47 reviews