2000 Lexus RX 300 3.0 gasoline from North America

Summary:

Good Car, poorly designed transmission

Faults:

Transmission failed at 68,000 miles, and the rebuild failed at 74,000 following a humming noise from the transmission.

All forward gears began slipping from failed clutch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2009

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Summary:

Generally love it, but am disappointed

Faults:

Complete transmission failure at 100,000 miles (160,000kms). I thought Lexus was suppose to be a reliable company/car! How come no recall? From what I see this problem is rampant.

General Comments:

Generally love it..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th August, 2009

2000 Lexus RX 300 6 cylinder from North America

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

I love this car. I had it serviced when I needed to and used only premium gasoline. One time when gas got high, I tried medium grade and ended up with stalling. 180.00 later my car ran fine and I never used low grade gas again. I haven't had those troubles again.

My transmission just went out on me at 230,000 miles.

I do not use the Lexus dealership for service. They are too expensive. Toyota can do the work for you at half the price. Then I found a Lexus Certified Independent Mechanic who was about 25-30 percent cheaper than Toyota.

I did notice certain plastic parts in the visors and interior lights wore out. I had to manipulate them to keep them in place. That is the only annoyance I have experienced.

I will stay with Lexus. They are good cars. Toyotas in designer clothing.

General Comments:

It only had a 6 cylinder engine, but it had spunk. All my friends got this car when it was time for them to trade in. That bothered me a little, but imitation is the finest form of flattery.

It is a car for women I think. It gets decent gas mileage. Roomy, but not a giant like an Expedition I used to own. There is no cuter car on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2009

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Summary:

Don't waste your money on a Lexus

Faults:

Transmission failure at just 90k. Meticulously serviced. Excellent shape otherwise with no mechanical issues. Read all the posts on similar failures with this vehicle... and still no recall??? Shame on you Lexus!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd April, 2009

18th May 2009, 12:01

So you expect a new transmission at 90k miles?

Well, I really can't say that I blame you, as I would expect more than that out of a transmission, except for one thing - The transmission wasn't warrantied for 90k miles, was it?

Unfortunately, for those whose transmissions failed - Lexus is off the hook.

Whatever make you drive, perhaps an extended warranty isn't such a bad idea after all.

2000 Lexus RX 300 3.0L V6 from North America

Summary:

Silky smooth ride and dependable - we loved it

Faults:

Rear main seal replaced.

Several oxygen sensors replaced.

Power steering hose leak.

Catalytic converter needs replacing.

General Comments:

Leased this car in January 2000 for $38.5K. Couldn't bear to give it back after the 39 months was up, so bought it out for $23K (sounds high, but original residual was rated at 67%!)

Most luxurious and well-mannered car I've ever driven. No real problems encountered until recently (still got original transmission, no oil gel, etc.)

Now, it's leaking from the power steering hose & the catalytic converter may need to be replaced. Of course, Lexus dealers charge an arm & leg for this stuff yet the parts are hard to come by except through the dealer.

So, time to trade it in soon for something a little more modern (2000 RX had no options for ESC or side-curtain airbags, for example)

It seems others had many more problems than we did at much lower miles, hard to tell if we're the lucky ones or they're the unlucky ones...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2009

12th Jul 2012, 23:20

Parts are cheap and easy to find. There is no reason to rid oneself of this vehicle.

All medium and big cities have at least one wrecking yard devoted to Lexus. Good quality factory original parts are always available at a very fair price from wrecks, regardless of where you live. As long as a vehicle is at least 8 to 12 years old, there will always be low cost high quality parts available. UPS & FedEx deliver everywhere. "Costly parts" is certainly not a real or logical reason to get rid of this truly fine vehicle.