2000 Lexus RX Reviews - Page 8 of 12

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

VERY POOR

Faults:

The SUV has always been a poor performer. I had to order it and wait three weeks, since they were sold out in Jan 2000 (will never do that again!).

I took it in several times after we got it, because it would just move sideways several inches. At 60 that is scarier! Answer - no problem. Finally I insisted in seeing the service manager. His report - low tire pressure and the car was falling over on the sidewalls. I said that is exactly what it felt like! They never re-inflated them after it left the ship I guess? No further problem with that.

The transmission went just like all the rest - without warning at 78,000 miles. I had an extended warranty to 70,000, and had taken it in at 65000, because it seemed to surge and not catch the gears right. They changed out the throttle position sensor, which just made things worse, like some of the other descriptions "like a manual", and our mileage dropped 10% - not that it was great before. Lexus said "Well unless the computer light is on, we can't do anything." What a company!!

Before we even had time to protest the $4600 bill, it failed again after 140 miles. They at least replaced this for free!!

It is hard to believe that with all these reports, that Lexus still stonewalls us.

I will file a complaint with http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/ivoq/

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th August, 2007

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

Very scary now

Faults:

The transmission of this car all of a sudden started giving us trouble. We are the original owners and all of a sudden, the car will not reverse sometimes and will jolt forward while being driven forward. This occurs unexpectedly and is very unnerving. It is not consistent and so one never knows when it will happen. Also the Lexus dealer service dept. said they were not able to replicate the problem. It seems that they are covering up a problem they know to be known. I agree with the remark that this could be cause for a class action suit if Lexus is not responsive.

General Comments:

Wonderful car until transmission problem.

Will not back up at times.

Jolts forward unexpectedly while accelerating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th August, 2007

2000 Lexus RX 300 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired45 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Bravada

Summary:

Terrific!

Faults:

I did have a problem with the driver's side heated seat, but it was fixed while under warranty. And...that's it! No other problems.

The seats could be more comfortable for longer drives, but it's not a major problem.

General Comments:

I love my Lexus RX300! It has been the most reliable car I've ever owned.

I've owned it 7.5 years. Started looking for a new car, but haven't found anything I like better.

My previous car was an Oldsmobile Bravada which started falling apart not long after purchase and service was horrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2007

3rd Sep 2007, 17:58

I hope you can avoid the all too common transmission problem with this model.

2000 Lexus RX 300 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Great buy

Faults:

We've had a few sensors go on the vehicle and also the brakes needed replacement. Gas mileage isn't great, we get about 20 miles to the gallon, but its pretty expensive in comparison to some of the newer SUV's out.

General Comments:

We've loved this car so far. There are a few bad things, like the turning radius, an awful noise when you only roll down one window, the cup holders are a nuisance, and there is no spot for coins. Otherwise the car has been a dream and is the snow machine. We live in Wisconsin and its more reliable in snow storms than our 4 x 4 truck!! Very quiet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2007

2000 Lexus RX 300 3.1 gas from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.1 gas Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Suburban

Summary:

It is an over-priced Toyota

Faults:

After $3000+ in repairs for the main seals leaking, the rear seals leaking, timing belt replacement, and all other belts replaced, my check engine light appeared, mockingly, and I brought it to the dealership. They inform me that my engine is being replaced. They made no mention of the class action lawsuit that prompted the replacement, but I soon received a letter regarding it and all the models affected. I complained about the $3000 charge, but got no satisfaction from the dealership, but only the explanation, "We had no way of knowing that the engine was going to develop 'sludge'." Yeah, right.

Now, with less than 1000 miles on the new engine, and almost $800 in new tires and alignments, my check engine light comes on again, the car is making awful noises under the dash like a speaker is blown, and the transmission seems to not ever get into first gear. I am now the proud owner of a car needing a $5000 transmission and fuse box. A fuse box. Excellent. I am hoping for a recall or another class action lawsuit. I may even start the lawsuit.

General Comments:

The car handles well, has a decent stereo, and is fun to drive when one isn't worrying about repairs.

Oh how I wish I had done some research here before I let my wife buy the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2007

6th Jan 2007, 00:01

That's exactly how mine went. I mean, they're really nice cars and all, but they have major problems that the dealers don't seem to want to explain. as it sits right now, I'm nearly $8000 into major repairs. it seems that everything else, the little things, are perfect and well crafted, but the transmissions and engine problems are terrible.

And I gotta admit, driving down the interstate at 75 and having your transmission fail isn't the greatest feeling, and its enough to shake anyones loyalty to a car manufacturer

6th Jan 2007, 00:43

I loved my RX300. If it weren't for the transmission going out id still have it. All the conveniences in the car worked great. The a/c and stereo are the best I've encountered and my wifes Mercedes has Bose which was suppose to be the best. The dealer had a 1998 GS400 when I took the RX in after the transmission went out. I bought the GS400 because of what I had heard about them and it was all true. It was used so I was a little hesitant, but with 152,000 miles its still going great. I've put over 100,000 on this car and its great. The transmission problem must only be the RX models.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 47 reviews