2005 Mazda 6 Reviews - Page 4 of 6

2005 Mazda 6 sport V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance19500 miles
Previous carInfiniti QX4

Summary:

Great for the money with a few problems

Faults:

Rattling when going under 25mph. Dealer checked problem was told no fix for it even though Mazda is aware of it.

I have the automatic transmission at times won't shift from 4th gear and revs very high. Took to dealer was told nothing wrong with transmission.

General Comments:

Very nice interior, love the radio controls on the steering wheel, leather seats are great, and seat heaters are awesome!

I have the V6 model and highly recommend it over the 4 cylinder. Great passing power. Vehicle is very quick.

Though I love the seat heaters I wish the button would be in a more accessible spot instead of on the center console, its very difficult to access the controls.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th March, 2007

28th May 2007, 16:14

This was my review. The problems became so annoying I traded my car in and I'm done with the unknown noises!!

2005 Mazda 6 MPS (Mazdaspeed) 2.3 turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.3 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired15970 kilometres
Most recent distance16200 kilometres
Previous carFord Telstar

Summary:

The ultimate street sleeper

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

I thought I'd post this as someone who recently purchased this car and give my impressions as opposed to gripes:

Its not loud, doesn't sprout wings and chrome everywhere and it looks just like any other Mazda 6 except to an expert eye. But when you give it some throttle it will really go, fast.

I found the interior to be fairly spacious and the seats and ride compliment each other well. I drove the car home 130 kilometers from the dealer and didn't feel any worse for wear.

My only gripe so far is that on our roads at highway speeds the tire noise is louder than the stereo, but that's not really a problem with the car itself, rather the choice of tyres.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th January, 2007

2005 Mazda 6 Grand Sport from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

This car rocks!

Faults:

I have noticed an intermittent squeaking sound when I am making a sharp turn to park. Other than that it has been a dream.

General Comments:

I fell in love with this wonderful car when I was shopping at a local dealership. It was well designed, sporty and drove very very well. It has fantastic handling and the acceleration is very good for it's engine. I am not a very fast driver, but when on the freeway this thing can GO! I found it very difficult to control my speed my first few days from my previous car since it was a roller-skate (Civic). The car loves to go and the interior is just great, it's well styled and very comfortable for extended driving with a very nice stereo system as well. The car feels much more expensive than it was and I found a lot of similarities too many other luxury brands in terms of handling and appointments. The Exterior paint resists chipping pretty well and when it is clean it looks just awesome. Cargo room is a plenty here and I take advantage of it all the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2007

13th May 2009, 14:56

The squealing that you here when turning could be the power steering fluid getting low. I have this car and had this problem. When I checked my power steering fluid it was out, and as soon as I put more in the squealing was gone.

2005 Mazda 6 GT 3 litre from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3 litre Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1100 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres

Summary:

An expensive car with a problem that cannot be resolved

Faults:

I have a noisy purge control solenoid at rpm of between 1000 and 2000. It seems the service dealer cannot solve the problem.

General Comments:

Not a very good pick up from a start and noisy front dash. Also the noisy purge control solenoid is a real pain when travelling slowly through traffic or up steep inclines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 2006

2005 Mazda 6 TS2 2.0 litre petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 litre petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Excellent driver's car plus family bus!

Faults:

Nothing. A vandal kicked off the wing mirror, but that is a sign of our maliciously envious society. It never happened to my old Passat. Maybe the hooligans felt sorry for me when I drove a VW.

This Mazda 6 estate is the first ever zero defect car I have owned in twenty odd years of motoring.

General Comments:

This car is better than the Passat it replaced.

I bought the car from the same salesman who had changed dealerships! This makes it look like VW are losing their loyal supporters. I had driven VWs for twenty years. It took a lot to put me off: waterpumps; waterleaks; ECU failure; and a garage which claimed it did not know how to change ATF fluid! The last straw was when I lost trust in the salesmen... They were taking me for granted and did not think I would go to another garage. Enough is enough.

The Mazda is agile. The Passat was like driving an old fashioned baby buggy with a lurching nose and bouncy rear end. The Mazda sits on the road like a cat and you can throw it through corners. I am not an aggressive driver, but you feel safe driving "adventurously". I think the estate is worth the extra money because it give extra height to the cabin which I need.

The seats worried me for a time because they seemed low down and on the small side, but I have to admit they give good support and show no signs of wear or tear. I would recommend the dark coloured interior rather than the grey.

The sound system is awesome. The air con is superb. Everything is logical. You never have to read the handbook. I did not understand how counter-intuitive the old VW was until I found I could work out everything on the Mazda without looking it up in a handbook.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2006

14th May 2012, 03:24

Quick update. I still have same car. 7 years old. Must be love. Have changed the tyres and one set of rear brake pads. Just beginning to see rust bubble on the rear wheel arches. Nothing else has ever gone wrong.

When you get a good car, hold on to it. This is one good car.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 22 reviews