2004 Mazda 6 from North America - Comments

24th Apr 2007, 14:46

I like all of you purchased a 2005 Mazda 6 and although I do sometimes hear the rattling sound, it comes and goes... but I have had numerous problems with this vehicle and I belive the mazda dealers know this car is an issue. The first problem that I had dealt with a mysterious water leak that started on the driver's side. I had to go to another mazda dealer who spent 3 days plugging rags into the source. After that instance my brake calipers failed and I learned this when I heard a grinding noise and thought it was my brakes. The dealer said I was lucky it was under warranty. At that time I only had about 20k miles on it and I purchased an extra warranty up to five years or 100k miles. The problem that I'm dealing with now is the jolting and accerlation issues. When I'm on I-95 I should be in 4th gear @ 65 mph, but its only indicating that its in 3rd gear. I brought the issue up to the service center and they stated it was my spark plugs. huh? OK, I changed the spark plugs and guess what; I still have the same issue. My head lights and my day lights keep burning out and the dealer keeps asking me if I am placing the xenon lights in it. huh? I keep getting the same lights they (the Dealership) are placing in it. The Mazda 6 is a nice looking LEMON!!!

8th Jun 2007, 13:53

I bought a brand new Mazda6 2005 and it has been nothing, but trouble. Does anyone have the problem of when you are making a sharp right or left turn, like pulling into a parking space or turning sharp curve with screeching noise while putting on the brake. I have had this car in the shop many many times and they say there is nothing wrong and that it does not do that when they drive it. Also, in summer months when slowing down from 65 to approx. 45 my steering wheel shakes. Dealer put on new rotors and said brake pads were fine, but still having this problem. Also, having the jolting problem. Will never buy a Mazda again.

26th Jun 2007, 18:38

We purchased a new 2005 Mazda 6 Wagon in Nov. 2006 with 87 miles on it. It has been in the shop every month for the past 4 months. It has less than 12k miles on it now.

It started with the rattling in the front when going under 15 mph. The dealership fixed that. Then in March the check engine light came on, and we have had numerous problems ever since then.

5 days ago, we dropped our car off again because the check engine light came on. The dealership said that a few problems came up when they hooked it up to the computer, and they also discovered that the vacuum seal was bad (even though the computer wasn't reading that). They said they contacted Mazda, and were told that we are not to drive it again until they send someone out to look at it!

Our neighbors laugh at us because each month we have different loaner cars sitting in our driveway, and they laugh and say "So I guess you won't be "zoom-zooming" again this week? ha-ha".

I loved how the car drove and handled, and it was perfect as a family vehicle, but now I feel we were sold a car with known problems.

16th Jul 2007, 19:43

I have a 2006 Mazda6 and I love it. So much that I haven't wanted to give it to the Dealership to checkout the jolt in the transmission That is becoming more frequent and more severe. It happens on the highway when I am stepping on it to pass or just get it on. I have a service contract for 100,000 miles and so this should be covered. Has anyone else had this happen to them? what was the resolve? Please respond.

Thanks, Judy.

20th Jul 2007, 17:49

I have a 05 Mazda 6 Hatchback. The problem that I have with my car is a squeaking noise when I press on the brake pedal. The noise is coming from the pedal. Does anyone have the same problem and how do I fix it??? (my car has 40,000 miles)

23rd Jul 2007, 23:43

My 05 Mazda 6 also developed a squeaking noise when pressing on the brake pedal, it started at about 50,000 miles.

Not sure what caused it, but as a precaution I had the old brake fluid flushed out and new fluid added as per technical service bulletin #04-005/06. (brake fluid deterioration). The flush was done several days ago, and so far so good.

18th Sep 2007, 12:29

2005 Mazda 6 transmission problems continue. The transmission shifted suddenly from 6th to 4th gear going down hill causing a significant jump in rpm's. Dealership inspected vehicle in mid 2006 and replaced transimission. Condition arose once again in mid 2007 and dealership has indicated that Mazda corporate tech support has reported that this jump in gears is normal and nothing is wrong. Frustrated that I will be left with needing to replace transmission again after after warranty is out of date.

21st Sep 2007, 10:25

I have a 2006 Mazda 6 and I know what the problem is with the transmission coming out of gear when you step into it. The problem is with the transmission valve body. Mazda dealership says it would cost about 3K to fix. Mazda has numerous service broadcasts on this issue. In my opinion this should be a recall issue. If there are enough folks with this problem reporting to Mazda they may end up recalling the valve body's. This very well could be a safety issue and should be addressed immediately.

24th Sep 2007, 09:56

I have a 2004 Mazda 6. Similar rattling noise under the passenger side dash. However these aren't happening under 25mph, they happen at approximately 4,000rpm which is about where I normally drive the car unfortunately. I've done a fair bit of dismantling without actually removing the dash, but still can't locate the source. It'd be nice if Mazda would 'fess up and tell everyone what the issue is if they really do know.

/Markie.

12th Mar 2008, 16:44

My 2005 had throttle body issues... 10-15 times within the first four months I owned it. Got a lemon Law attorney. Even after part revisions it still stalls at bad times... like on the west side highway or GWB... the car is a nightmare. Too bad to because driving wise it's a nice car.

Mazda sucks...

15th Mar 2008, 05:54

Here In S.A., I have bought a Mazda 6, 2006 model. After 2000km, the car starts to make a squeaky noise when idling about 800rpm (between the engine and exhaust system). Complaints and complaints have been foretold to the dealership, and a request for an engineer to come from Mazda to inspect the noise. A catalytic convertor was changed, an exhaust manifold has been changed, an intake manifold has been changed after the first service, and still the noise is there. The engineer inspecting replies that he can't hear anything, and the floor manager and floor assistance could hear the noise, but this so called engineer from Mazda cannot hear any noise.

I was told to drive the car, and that if anything goes wrong it will be covered under warranty. Yes, the warranty is one aspect, what about the safety aspect, and what if the very same people turn on you and say why did you drive a vehicle if the noise exists? The car only has 14000km on dial. What now Mazda? Can you not fix your own manufactured problem. It seem like these days we are paying for royalty rather than loyalty.

Fed up Mazda owner.