1991 Mazda B2200 2.2 fl from North America


I love this truck


Well since I've had this awsome truck I've noticed that in the mornings it's a little hard to start because its cold.

It does burn a lot of oil.

Right now my clutch is starting to go out, but I think that's my fault.

General Comments:

This is one of the funest trucks I've ever had.

Its fast, but the handling could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2006

1991 Mazda B2200 SE-5 202 from North America


This is a great truck


Smokes, head gasket, fuel pump, clutch.

General Comments:

Great truck period!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2006

1991 Mazda B2200 2.2L Fuel Injection from North America




A couple of clutch jobs. a u-joint went out at 175,000. just replaced a cracked head and gaskets. the computer unit went out on the right side kickpanel at around 160,000. a water pump. smokes when you start it, but then goes away. Burns oil. replaced 02 sensor 1 time.

General Comments:

I have put all 212,000 miles on this truck. It has been a very reliable vehicle. When things go wrong they are easy to fix. It has always passed the strict smog laws that California has too. I expect to get 300,000 out of this puppy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2006

1991 Mazda B2200 2.2 liter, carb. from North America


I love this little truck.. its the best vehicle I've ever owned over the past 30 years


The carb had to be replaced because of debris from the old, replaced gas tank.

The engine smokes heavily at start-up, but dies down when warm. It has gotten worse since I've had it.

Engine overheats on hot days and high speeds.. I believe this is caused by plugged ports, bad rad, or a weak water pump, and probably contributed to the smoking problem over time.

Seats have worn, but its been around for a while.

General Comments:

I wish I could find a replacement for this truck.. but since that's not easy up here in rust land, I'll probably rebuild this one. It gets great mileage and runs very strong, much more so than the 4x4 version. I'm hoping I can reduce the smoking problem by replacing the valve guide seals, or worse case a valve job. A fairly new engine can be bought for $600 from a california company (they get them from japan with low miles) but shipping to New England quickly inflates that price another $700.

This has been a great work truck, and with studded snows it runs great in the winter too. Why oh why did Mazda ever agree to merge with FORD??? Ford hasn't a clue how to build cheap, reliable vehicles that last.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2006

2nd May 2006, 13:30

Those who have owned ford rangers would beg to differ.

17th Nov 2006, 00:57

I have the same truck and it also smokes when you start it. I just had a valve job and it still smokes so it couldn't be the valves. I think it's the rings actually.

24th Mar 2009, 13:40

Mine just turned 236,000 miles. I get 27MPG. Motor oil is changed every 3000 miles (Pennzoil). No exhaust smoke at all. It's an extended cab. (Ziebart), the only rust is along the top side of the tailgate (very minor). At times I think about selling it. Then I ask myself - WHY?

30th Sep 2010, 08:19

Try replacing your thermostat and coolant water pump. While you are at it you might as well change the timing belt and components. This will most likely solve your overheating problem.

30th Nov 2010, 01:21

Check your clutch fan is working properly. Just let the engine idle and watch your temperature gauge. If your clutch fan is engaging, it should keep the temperature cool (mid range) If it is not, your radiator temp will be going up. I think half the head gasket failures could also be traced to the clutch fan failing long before the head gasket goes. The engine overheats, and if you're not checking your temp gauge as you drive, you might not catch it.

I replaced my head gasket at 195000 km just a month ago, and my mechanic caught the fact that my clutch fan was not working, as the engine over heated while idling in the shop. I bought the vehicle a year ago used at 181000 kms, and noticed that at idle, it would over heat, but just did not idle the truck. And never had it over heat in regular driving. So the clutch fan was probably failed when I bought the truck.