1991 Mazda B2200 Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1991 Mazda B2200 LE 2.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired164000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

A cheap, useful, and reliable little truck

Faults:

Fuel pump went out 2 days after buying truck. It was replaced along with the fuel tank which was rusted out on top.

General Comments:

Paid $500 for this truck. It had been sitting for a year.

There is a considerable amount of rust on the underbody, but in Minnesota that must be expected from all of the chemicals used on the roads in the winter.

I've had it for about a month now and it has started every time in the freezing temperatures here in Minnesota (except when the fuel pump went bad). It takes awhile to warm up and if driven while cold the engine will hesitate and sputter a little. Once engine is warm, however, it drives real nice.

Gas mileage has been sub-par (around 17 mpg in town), but I think this can be attributed to the long warm up periods in the freezing temperatures).

Overall, though, I am satisfied with the truck. It's not the the most gutsy truck, but it gets me where I need to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2003

2nd Jan 2009, 20:09

I agree. Power seems low. What could be the common problem. Or is it just normal?

1st Feb 2013, 21:36

Look at the stock truck specs. I know the carbureted B2200 was rated at 85 horsepower, if that answers your question.

As for reliability, I have one with 244,900 miles and she still runs great.

1991 Mazda B2200 SE 2.2L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance97400 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Scirocco

Summary:

Best truck I ever owned!

Faults:

At 97000 miles, one of the front brake calipers jammed.

At about 70000 miles, the valve guide seals in the head started to leak a little oil into the cylinders. This is only noticeable if parked overnight. The excess oil will burn off with smoke, then it clears up. Not a serious enough issue to have the head rebuilt.

Clutch and timing belt were replaced at 65000 miles. Clutch was worn, but not slipping. Timing belt was still good.

General Comments:

I drove this truck for 7 years straight as a reliable daily, city commuter vehicle, then stored it outside on a wooded lot in the cold, wet environment of Western Washington State. It sat there for 4 years and still managed to come out of hibernation with only the front brake caliper problem! No electrical/electronic problems --nothing. Mice had even built nests in the engine air intake. When I revived the truck, it had 96,970 miles on it. Few vehicles could survive this sort of thing. This is also one of the last carbureted trucks that Mazda produced, and one of the best. This little truck can haul 1250 pounds of payload in the bed with no problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th October, 2002

1991 Mazda B2200 Truck 2.2L Carb. from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L Carb. Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

A reliable honest performing truck

Faults:

Replaced battery at 70,000 miles, vacuum hoses at 181,000, and fuel pump at 184,000 miles. The valves have started to get noisy in the last 20,000 miles and lately it has begun to smoke when first started. I suspect an engine overhaul in on the near horizon.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable vehicle, the comfort level is great for a small truck. I'd highly recommend the B2200 for anyone that needs a handy and faithful workhorse, I have been using it as a commuter car (24MPG Highway) and of course the regular truck duties around the house.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2002

6th Oct 2005, 19:23

B2200's are amazing trucks. For most a workhorse, for others a truck to be customized. Am I the only one who owns one who has noticed how many of these inexpensive little old trucks have been made into show trucks and lowriders?

8th Dec 2007, 23:50

My truck used to smoke just over haul it and it will be great to you and their good to trick out and make fast too.

1991 Mazda B2200 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance146000 miles
Previous carMazda B2200

Summary:

The best

Faults:

None

General Comments:

This is a very strong truck and plan on keeping it for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2002

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 24 reviews