1991 Mazda B2200 Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1991 Mazda B2200 SE-5 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carMazda B2000

Summary:

Great truck, I'm looking for another

Faults:

I have replaced the brakes, timing belt, water pump, starter, radiator and fuel pump.

General Comments:

I have replaced many parts, but I do maintenance for a living and use the truck daily. It is easy to work on and very reliable. It was the best quality for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2001

2nd Jan 2009, 19:37

I agree. One of the best features of the B2200 is the ease of parts replacement. Most things that might need to be replaced are easy to get at. That is a huge bonus to the do-it-yourselfer!

1991 Mazda B2200 SE5 Extended Cab 2.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance49000 miles
Previous carMazda B2000

Summary:

I only wish they still built this truck!!

Faults:

Very few problems. Only routine maintenance, tire replacement, and exhaust system.

General Comments:

This is, by far, the best truck for "around the house" that I have ever owned. It is completely dependable and is built the way that all vehicles should be (Take care of the routine maintenance and it will not cause you problems, period).

In an age of planned obsolesence and service departments raking it in by "repairing" the manufacturer's junk, this vehicle is refreshingly different. Simply and dependably, this vehicle has taken care of me and has given me no problems whatsoever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2000

1991 Mazda B2200 2.2 injected from Japan

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 injected Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

A dependable little GIANT!

Faults:

Had to replace the master/slave cylinder for the clutch twice.

General Comments:

Outstandingly fine vehicle..... except for the $200 worth of repairs, it has been a very reliable vehicle.

Only four cylinders, and yet I've made 2 1,500 mile trips pulling approximately 4,000 lbs. On the last trip, I drove it in two separate spans of 17 hours and 20 hours (no joke!). And, other than a hot stick shift, the little monster pulled through - perhaps owing partially to Mobil 1 engine oil.

If I do buy a new vehicle within the next 10 years, it will undoubtedly be a spare vehicle - I'll drive my little truck until it's ready for the junkyard!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2000

8th Dec 2000, 15:00

I myself have a Mazda b2200. It has 300,000 km and has never broken down. We have one ton on the back and we pull one ton; strangely it's a quarter ton truck.

1st Jul 2002, 03:04

I'm with you guys on the "out-of-proportion" loads this truck can handle.

The factory rated the B2200 for a 1400 lb. load.

That's 2-200 lb. people up front and 1200 lbs. in the bed.

Some years ago, after my father passed away, I was left with trying to figure out what to do with a few "items" he'd collected over the years.

4 of these items were small-mid sized diesel engines.

I decided to donate them to a Marine Diesel School, since I had no use for them.

One engine was a 6 cylinder and probably weighed about 1500 lbs.

It was just about as long as the (short) bed in my truck, so I had to make 2 trips out of this.

The other 3 were two 3-cylinder models and a larger 4-cylinder.

I've seen weights for the 4 cylinder before and it's listed at around 800 lbs.

I assume the two 3 cylinder engines weighed around 500-600 pounds, each.

While I had to keep the truck in 4th gear for the two 60 mile trips, the truck delivered all the engines with barely a thought.

In fact, I was able to deliver the 4 cylinder and the two 3 cylinder engines all at once!.

However, a word of warning to other Mazda owners...

Shortly after that excursion, I noticed I had blown the rear axle seals on my truck and attributed this to the excessive weight I had recently carried.

I decided to replace the wheel bearings at that time also, just to be safe.

Remember, always try to work within the limitations of your truck.

My 1989 Mazda B2200 is rated for a max. 1400 pound load, that includes the weight of the driver and passenger(s), so take everything into account before loading up your truck.

While I'm satisfied that my truck was able to do the job I asked it to do, it's not something I think I'll ever make it do, again.

29th Nov 2002, 11:10

My 1991 B2200 has served me well also. I have never had a problem with it. The only maintenance I've done is that required. After all these years it still seems like a new truck. The only disapointing thing the low resale value for it.

On another not thought; The Toyota worshiper down the hall form me has had far more problems than I and they all cost a lot. I know Toyota has a good reputation I just think it funny that He can go through two Toyotas in the time I have only one Mazda.

Happy Trucking!

6th Mar 2004, 22:41

I have owned a 1993 Mazda 2200 since 1998. It had about 65000 km. on it when I purchased it, and it now has about 165000 km. on it. I have just driven across Canada, from Vancouver to Halifax and back. What a little beauty!The burning oil problem mentioned by others is apparent and I will look into that soon. So dependable! Will keep it forever.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 24 reviews