1993 Mazda MX6 LS 2.0 from North America


Great bang for your buck


My distributer went when I first bought and again at about 200,000 km water accumulates in the spare tire area and for some reason my trunk lock keeps breaking.

General Comments:

This car with its factory racing style seat is great in the corners.

Interior is roomy and every thing is east to get at ex stereo and a/c controls.

Can be great on gas if you are not racing anyone and everyone.

Even being 13 years old the body has no visable rust.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2006

1993 Mazda MX6 coup LS V6 from North America




Well the only thing that I have had a problem with is the transmition. But it is almost 14 years old.

General Comments:

Drives smooth, fun and afordable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 2006

1993 Mazda MX6 4WS Luxury Sports 2.5L from Australia and New Zealand


Nice car the throw into corners... but not so nice when it gets old


Distributor died at 120000kms, bought full Mazda replacement at exorbitant cost to my hip pocket, only for it to fail again 2 years later at 180000kms. Bought a modified replacement from a local manufacturer.

Front suspension bushes had cracked causing knocking noises through the floor, it took three shops to work out what the problem was.

Hydraulic clutch flexpipe blew in heavy traffic, had to wait an hour for the traffic to die down so RACV could tow me home. Replacement flexpipe was only AU$80ish, so I fitted it myself.

Rust has become apparent around the top of the front windscreen and near where the front suspension mounts onto the chassis.

Front windscreen is prone to cracks, and it generally doesn't take much work to crack it... perhaps that's due to the chassis prematurely fatiguing. Have replaced the front windshield three times, had have retired to the fact that the next crack will stay there.

The 4WS front rack is now continuously leaking, and thus I am considering replacing the car now as the repair bill is approximately AU$1200, without taking into account the cost of any parts that break while the action is performed.

General Comments:

This car was great! It's not so fantastic any longer, but it's still a lot better than most other cars out there in the new car market today.

It's been to the moon and back, I've been everywhere with that car since I bought it after my first car (which was brand new) suffered loss of brakes and caused an accident.

The reason it's not so fantastic any longer is most probably because of the fact that to get anything fixed on it, it costs and arm and a leg, and every time something's done the car handles or performs less like it did when I bought it.

I bought the car because it was a nimble machine, almost like a grasshopper... but nowadays I'm feeling as if the now evident structural weaknesses and ageing parts are going to throw me into a tree one day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2006

28th Apr 2006, 09:27

Renewing the car's struts and suspension bushings will make your aging 6 into a new car (I know, another cost, but if it was me, I'd do the work myself and save a bunmdle- its not that difficult).


1993 Mazda MX6 LS 2.5 V6 from North America


A gentlemans GT now for a KIA price


Since I just purchased the car, nothing has gone wrong under my ownership.

However, as of writing the MX-6 needs:

New tires.

New front ball joints.

The airbag diagnostic circuit replaced.

AC recharged.

Drivers seat leather repaired.

Minor bodywork/paint.

General Comments:

I have always wanted one of these cars, and when the opportunity came to snatch one up at a super low price, I couldn't resist.

What a deal! This is such a wickedly fun and at the same time civilized and refined automobile.

The 2.5L V6 is very responsive and smooth throughout its RPM range and can pull from low speeds in any gear. Drop a gear and floor it and the car blasts ahead. I have never owned such a powerful car.

Like the engine, the suspension and chassis grip the road with tenacity, but also give a taut controlled ride that is not jarring. And for a larger car, the MX-6 handles great in the corners.

The clutch is buttery sooth and once one gets used to the heavier shift linkage, quick, precise shifts can be done with ease.

Something that really sold me on this car, along with the timeless styling, were the seats! The leather ones in my LS are a dream- I would be proud to have them as furniture in my home.

Great stock 6 speaker CD stereo. For a 13 year old sound system it works great and sounds awesome.

I'm expecting the MX-6 to cost more to run and maintain than my last car, a 1992 Hyundai Scoupe. But I don't care as it is just so much fun.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2006

28th Apr 2006, 09:55

As of posting this report a month or so ago, I've gotten to know my 6 better. I still think it's a great car for the money- if one can afford the upkeep. I've got new tires on it, replaced the airbag diagnostic circuit, and a leather seat has been repaired.

Two major problems have yet to be addressed though- the AC and a clunk in the steering at parking speeds. The AC requires a Mazda retrofit to convert it to R134 refrigerant. 1993 MX-6's used the old freon R12, but 94' and later models used the CFC free R134. The retrofit kit costs $600 Can+tax and labour, though I wouldn't be surprised if it costs me a grand if more needs to be fixed! If I'd known about the need AC conversion, I'd have looked for a 94' or later MX-6 when buying.

Another problem is a clunk in the steering at low speeds. I am sure it is not CV joints or ball joints, but more likely the steering rack or strut bearings. I'm going to have a mechanic diagnose the sound and hopefully it will be the strut bearings. These, I can fix myself and save a bit of money.

Despite these impending costs, I still feel the 93-97 MX-6's are great cars for the money and still look fresh and current. My V6 LS pulls along with authority and delivers decent gas mileage if driven with restraint. I love the leather seats, the quiet cruising and sure footed handling the car delivers.

Looking forward to lots of fun motoring.


6th Jun 2006, 00:58

I've had the 93 MX-6 LS for nearly three months now and it just keeps on getting better and better (just add money). New V rated tires have been installed and I've had the steering clunk repaired- the cause being worn out strut bearings. In the process new front struts were put in (Monroe Sensatracks) and the car rides ever so much more smoothly and corners with aplomb. This thing is a hoot to drive on twisty roads! Also, I've had the driver's leather seat repaired and the interior now looks pretty much mint.

I have also learned a great deal more about these cars, including the need for non sulphurous gear oil. Cheaping out and using regular 80w-90 hypoid oil results in poor shift quality and reduced syncro life. I was recommended to use Red Line Synthetic 75w-90 or Mazda's own lube.

Anyhow, this thing just keeps on getting better and better. I'd seriously recommend a MX-6 LS (V6) to anyone seeking a powerful car at a reasonable price.


17th Aug 2006, 11:11

I use to own a 1993 Mazda MX-6 but had to sell it as the cost of maintaining it was way too high. I bought it with 75,000 km on it and basically spent $1,000 per month on it for the next 2.5 years. Replaced the following items twice each over the course of my ownership. Front axles ($1,200 rebuilt from Mazda the 1st time...$400 new from NAPA the second time), brakes all around (calipers, rotors and pads...$600 each time), muffler. These items we're fixed once...manifold, igniter, 3 windshields... the list goes on!!

The last year I owned the car it cost me well over $10,000 to keep it on the road. It was a heck of a fun car to drive though.