1993 Mazda MX6 2.5L from North America


Out of this world


Very minor Problems. I drove the car from Texas from Chicago. On the way home to Chicago, my clutch went out. Not having very much money, I drove it 900 miles home, and felt very silly to learn that one of my fluid hoses had rotted through. I guess it was because I had left the oil cap off one time when I checked it, and this deteriorated the hose quickly.

The sunroof motor is dying, I also get the 'rear brake light' problem, I don't have a spoiler (which I think makes the car look more original). It is a little loud, but I just turn up my radio (still factory and factory speakers still great).

General Comments:

This is a great car. I've owned many cars (mostly used) and the only other car I've owned that handles better was the Audi Quattro (it handled superbly). I get 400=+ miles highway on a 15.5 gallon tank; city driving is about 350<. I use Mobil One synthetic oil; a little expensive, but well worth it. Mobil is the best oil for adding miles per gallon. Synthetic or no. Try it!

I put 35,000+ miles on this car in 1 1/2 years. I've driven from Chicago to Miami and Chicago to Brownsville, TX, among other shorter trips.

The only major problem I've had is the wheel balance/alignment. It seems to need adjusting more than other cars.

I feel I was extremely lucky to have found this car at $1500.

My next car will most definitely be a Mazda--new or used. zooom zooom zooom!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2006

7th Mar 2008, 20:52

I've got a 92 Mazda MX6 and I love it.

I had the same "rear brake light problem"; basically I ripped the taillights apart and found it's a bad ground in the white case that holds the bulbs. It's just a bad design, but tightening the screw fixed the problem.

1993 Mazda MX6 mx from North America


Fast moving car


The car will start and stay on for five min. then cuts off and won't stay on.

General Comments:

Great looking car handles great on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2005

1993 Mazda MX6 L1 V6 2.5 litre from Australia and New Zealand


Great car just whish I could sort out this trans..


Distributer went after having at 155000 km. Power window switch went at 15700 km got that fixed.

Now at 158000 km the drivers side window goes down, but gets stuck going back up.

General Comments:

The car has been quite reliable apart from these problems. I get it tuned on regular bases. Replaced front shockers when I first bought it and have had the transmission checked because of a it's sudden thump into 2nd, but have been told that this is normal. I've had three auto transmission dudes inspect the trans for problems and have all said nothing is wrong with. I find it quite bizzare as I have never driven a car with this much power and force when it shifts into 2nd can this be normal...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th December, 2005

22nd Dec 2005, 22:18

A jerk change between 1st and 2nd is very normal. My 93 MX6 Auto does exactly the same.

11th Jan 2006, 08:26

Hi all! I live in South Africa and also own a `93 MX6 auto, my car also goes into 2nd with a thump so after listening to you all it does sound normal. My car has a whining sound in 1st gear, does anyone else experience this? JC.

3rd Feb 2006, 13:29

The whining sound in first gear is perfectly normal. The automatic transmission is not the smoothest in the world and it is mated to a fairly revvy engine.

On the other hand, you might consider checking the ATX fluid level (or condition of the fluid) using the dipstick, as if the fluid level is too low you might find the shifts erratic. This may also cause transmission overheating.

28th Mar 2006, 20:09

My '93 MX6 is flooding. It first happened in January. I started the car and it immediately flooded. My mechanic changed the distributor. A month later it happened again... I took the plugs out, dried it out and it started. Holding the peddle to the floor (flood start) does not work. Because I fixed the flood by drying out the plugs it's working fine and my new mechanic can't find out what is wrong with it until it happens again. Has anyone else experienced this?

27th Apr 2006, 12:45

I also have a 93 MX6 and it jerks between first and second gear. Although that mainly happens when the weather is cold or the engine itself is cold. After it warms up it's fine.

14th Jun 2006, 16:45

I have a 1994 Mazda MX-6 V6 and when it goes into 1st and 2nd, it does shift fairly hard. Mine also makes a whining noise in first gear. Great Overall car though. Very dependable, Solid Car!