1988 Mazda RX7 Reviews - Page 4 of 9

1988 Mazda RX7 Rotary 1.3 B from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission Rotary 1.3 B Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carToyota Truck

Summary:

A rocket with a seat

Faults:

It has been a few years since I had this, but these are the things that went bad and had to be replaced.

AC compressor (not replaced) more HP.

Wiper motor would occasionally stop working.

Major tire chains are required to put "H" rated (more expensive) tires on this car because of its top speed.

General Comments:

For what this car was (an engine on wheels) "no frills" it was fun to drive. The replacement parts were not cheap though, but it is well made and will scream. I drove it on the Autobahn in Germany and had it up to 165 mph, but the front end started to get loose so I shut it down. It handled best at around 120 mph, but you can't drive those speeds here in the states.

This is not a car for a young or inexperienced driver!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2005

1988 Mazda RX7 13b turbo from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 13b turbo Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance136000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Skyline

Summary:

Good compact light weight race car

Faults:

The car's electrics are as bad as they come, the dash board and heater lights flicker on and off intermittently, the window wipers only works on the second fastest setting.

On hot days the car is easily flooded once turned off, you will find yourself unable to start the car for at least 30 minutes, In urgent situations I have found myself removing the fuel injection fuse, kick the engine over a few times then replace the fuse to start it, If you don't know about cars you could be stuck for a while.

General Comments:

These cars put out good power so even if the car is stock you have a winner.

My car has a brass button clutch which is good for racing, on the other hand if you get caught in traffic it makes it very difficult to drive.

My previous car was a Nissan Skyline R32, my rx7 is definitely on par with that monster 6 cylinder turbo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2005

16th Jan 2006, 00:28

Sure you didn't have a Nissan Sentra with a vacuum leak before this? Because no near stock rotary will get to see even the license plate of a RB26DET-T Skyline!!

27th Jan 2006, 00:18

The guy said he had a R32 skyline, they came with a RB20DET, only the GTR came with the RB26DETT, so if it was the 2ltr, they are about the same.

1988 Mazda RX7 1.3 Litre Rotary Engine from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Litre Rotary Engine Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance128000 miles

Summary:

It's an amazing first car experience!

Faults:

When I first bought my RX-7, the seats were worn in pretty good so I just threw some nice blue NOS seat covers on them and they look and feel lke new. Other than that, just a bit of minor electrical work needed, but no nothing huge and that cannot be fixed yourself.

General Comments:

My RX-7 is sporty, it handles like a true pro. I like how low you sit in the car and surprisingly, you have the control feeling. The cabin is very roomy and extreamely comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2004

9th Mar 2005, 21:46

I am thinking about buying an RX 7 for my first car. There is one for sale for 1000$ right now. It is a 1988 RX7 GXL. I'm wondering if the seller knows of anything hidden that will screw up the car in the future. What do you suggest I do?

13th May 2005, 09:22

I am currently looking at a 1981 RX-7 that's only fifteen hundred dollars and I was wondering if there were any questions I needed to ask. Is the car a money trap and is there any part of the car a need to look at closely.

1988 Mazda RX7 SE 1.3 Liter Rotary from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 Liter Rotary Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired161000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Sporty, fast, and fun!

Faults:

Coolant hose came off the first day I got it. Clutch cable was loose. Air conditioning never worked.

General Comments:

Handles like a true sports car should: quick and sleek. Just because it is a rotary doesn't mean that I have had a lot of problems with it. This car is very reliable! Besides basic maintenance, I have never had any major problems with it. It is my daily driver and am never going to get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2004

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 29 reviews