1988 Mazda RX7 Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1988 Mazda RX7 GTU 13b rotary from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 13b rotary Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance208000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

The only car I have ever loved

Faults:

Well I haven't had any problems with the car, even though there were so many miles on it.

I replaced the stock clutch at 165000 with a centerforce stage 3.

Now at 208000, I just lost an apex seal on rotor 2.

Blew off a muffler when I was cranking over the motor trying to un-flood it.

General Comments:

I love RX7's. Ever since owning this one I have become a real enthusiast. I just wish more people in Charles County Maryland would feel the same. I am about to rebuild my motor with ceramic 2 piece 3mm apex seals, I've heard they're the best way to go.

Anyway, before the problems, the car ran great. Fast as hell and handled like a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2001

1st Apr 2005, 08:54

I Have MAZDA RX7 too, but I don't know why it floods all the time. Can someone tell me why? E-Mail at chrisbegay1989@yahoo.com.

12th Dec 2006, 17:01

Flooding issues: It's your fuel injectors. I've had this problem myself, and it's a very easy problem to fix.

1988 Mazda RX7 GXL 13B Rotary from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 13B Rotary Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

It is a good car, but parts are expensive

Faults:

The first thing to go wrong was the cooling system.

After replacing that the radiator blew.

Other than that it is a good mechanically sound car.

General Comments:

The handling in this car is great.

Acceleration is not breath-taking, but is decent.

There is hardly any room in the car, but it is good for a student.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2001

1988 Mazda RX7 Convertible 1.3 rotary from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 rotary Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carMaserati 425

Summary:

A car you can fall in love with

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Soon after I bought the car, it started running hot (apparently an apex seal). I was told I needed a new engine. To cut a long story short, after trying a lot of sealer's, CRC block sealer did the trick, the car has been running cool for 2 months now. Love the car. One of the best looking convertibles around (my biased opinion).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2001

20th Apr 2003, 21:52

Thought so.. I've got a 87 series 4 with a similar problem. It starts fine, but the radiator bubbles as soon as you turn the key. It heats up very quick as well and will continue to bubble after the car has been turned off. it seems as it is losing pressure to the cooling system or something cause well I tried to open the radiator after it was started and there was to much pressure, so I used the bleeder on top of the radiator and it was constantly blowing out pressure. engine has started smoking too.. I'm not impressed... 2 nd engine owner. if that's the problem am I able to use my other engine with blown oil seals and combine these engines together. and if so what other parts am I gonna have to get.

1988 Mazda RX7 Convertible 1.3L rotary from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3L rotary Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance114000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Greatest sports car for under $7,000

Faults:

New clutch and transmission, but I knew that before I purchased it.

Broken water pump (I broke it).

Broken door handle.

General Comments:

I love this car. It's begging for a TII motor which will come soon or I'll accept donations for a 20B.

Working on it is pretty simple. My girlfriend likes it (always a plus). There is also plenty of aftermarket support which means I can go as fast as my wallet allows!

Just change your oil every 3k and watch the coolant, and you should be fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2001

1988 Mazda RX7 GTU 13B Rotary from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 13B Rotary Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Performance car with headaches

Faults:

Had to replace a master cylinder unit in both that I owned. Seems to have a starting problem in the winter because of low compression. Engine pretty much blew up on me one day at work, it's still in the shop. The rest of it was minor and regular maintenance.

General Comments:

Because of the rotary engine, repairs are expensive and the dealer was especially slow with service. Great car while it is good, but after about 100k miles mine started to really have different problems that I couldn't really fix because I was a student at the time with a limited income. I've seen some last a while, but I've seen a lot crap out around 110k-140k. If the car has low compression, unload it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 29 reviews