1988 Mazda RX7 Reviews - Page 7 of 9

1988 Mazda RX7 Convertible 13B 1.3 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 13B 1.3 Liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Best 1200 dollars I will ever spend!

Faults:

I just acquired this car a few days ago, from a friend who deals in used cars. It could use a brake job and there is an exhaust leak that needs to be taken care of before I put the car on the road next week.

General Comments:

Engine is very strong. Car is very quick and drives smooth with little vibration.

I haven't driven a manual for over 20 years, but this car is easier to shift than I remember my previous manual transmission car (1979 Trans Am)

Passenger Room is extremely Tight. I am not very tall (a quarter inch under six feet) and cannot fit in car when the top is down!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd November, 2002

9th Nov 2002, 18:17

I am twelve years old and I road in my dad's car today. I was scared to get on the freeway with that car, but after a while I thought is was running great. Now I really like riding in the car now that I know that I will be safe. I think it runs smooth, but I could tell when I'm riding in the car with my dad that it is a lot of work.

5th Jul 2009, 10:33

I just got a 1988 rx7 convertible for my 15th birthday and it is great. I am going to start to modify it but I don't know what to do first.

1988 Mazda RX7 SE 13B Rotary from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 13B Rotary Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 kilometres
Most recent distance52000 kilometres

Summary:

A true sports car

Faults:

Clutch throwaway bearing began to squeak. I decided to change it even though the clutch still had half its life left.

Otherwise...mint!

General Comments:

This car is incredible.

The rotary is a blast to drive. The power builds dramatically, and the sound is incredible!

The handling is superb and the more you drive the car the more confidence you have in it.

The RX7 was designed to be a sports car and it does its job well. From its race inspired rotary engine to its 50/50 weight distribution, suspension and brakes, everything is geared for performance!

Love this car! I'll never go piston again :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2002

1988 Mazda RX7 GXL 1.3 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired159964 miles
Most recent distance159964 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

Great little car

Faults:

This car has had minor problems such as the back wiper not working unless it feels like it. The clutch and engine are original and still strong. Very quick and sporty, I have fun going around winding roads at 50 or 60. I have to pump the gas pedal to get it to start, which I've heard is a common problem with RX-7's. The suspension is weak, but just needs new rear struts, no big deal. It only gets 17/24 mpg on gas, which isn't great for its size, but isn't a big downfall.

General Comments:

This is a great little car! It is fast, not as fast as my Eclipse was, but pretty good for a 1.3 liter engine. I enjoy the overall performance of this car and I love the way it accelerates. I recommend you buy an RX-7 of any year or model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2002

7th Dec 2003, 15:34

I agree with you 100 percent. They aren't the fastest car, actually really not that fast at all, but when you accelerate and the engine makes a "whining" noise, and people look at me and think that I have put something into the car, like a turbo. But my car is actually in very good condition, and it is the GXL model, leather seats, sunroof, all that good stuff. But this year car has a lot of problems, like I have to pull out a fuse to my car and then try to start it and then put it back in and turn the key and it will start, imagine how embarassing when people see you doing this. Hope you enjoy your car.

1988 Mazda RX7 SE 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired153000 miles
Most recent distance155000 miles
Previous carChevrolet El Camino

Summary:

The best car for the price-really fun too!

Faults:

I have never had any trouble out of the car since I have owned it that was the car's fault. Three days after I got it I was turning and hit the gas too much and lost control. I had to replace the left wheel assembly and the rim. It's kind of hard to find someone who knows how to work on these cars.

General Comments:

This car handles awesome!

The acceleration isn't as great as I thought it would be. Not too bad though.

If you just want a car that is fun and will pick up chicks, this is it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2002

6th Sep 2004, 21:03

I have had an 84 and now own an 88. In the unmodified base model, gears 1,2, & 3 won't necessarily throw your head back. When you get in 4 and 5, the engine really goes. These engines run better at higher RPM's.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 29 reviews