2002 Mercury Mountaineer Reviews - Page 10 of 11

2002 Mercury Mountaineer V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carMercury Legend

Summary:

Not very reliable

Faults:

Threw the timing chain and is costing me approximately $1600 to repair. I found out after talking to several mechanics that these engines are notorious for doing this. In fact, the local Ford dealership carries a "kit" for this specific repair. hmmmmm. Coincidence? Maybe, maybe not, but this seems to be a very common problem. I am keeping my paperwork in the event there is a recall on this particular part. I really like the truck but now i don't feel that i can trust it.

General Comments:

This is the second mountaineer I have owned, and it will be the last Ford product I ever purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th April, 2006

14th Apr 2006, 06:51

You did know you're supposed to change the timing chain/belt? at 60,000 right?

2002 Mercury Mountaineer V8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Nice vehicle, Terrible repair record.

Faults:

Transmission repair or overhaul X 3

Rear Axle seals X 2

Overhaul Rear Differential

Total "after warranty costs" not including routine maintenance brakes etc. $4722.27.

General Comments:

I love th ride, the features, the styling, BUT it has been the most trouble prone vehicle I have ever owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th April, 2006

2002 Mercury Mountaineer from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Car great in the snow, but transmission problems solidifies the fact that I will never buy another

Faults:

At 42,000 solenoid had to be replaced at a cost of $600. Now at 60,000 transmission had to be rebuilt at a cost of $2,400. Car was out of warranty and not under an extended warranty.

General Comments:

It seems that a new car, one owner, 3 years old and not yet paid for should still have the original transmission. Must be a defect in the transmission.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2006

2002 Mercury Mountaineer AWD 4.0 V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Could have been great, but missing one important piece

Faults:

The transmission is horrible. It shudders and slips. Changing the fluid did nothing. I bought an SCT Xcalibrator which allows me to adjust the settings of the transmission, but that did not help either.

The glossy finish on the exterior trim pieces around doors is flaking off rapidly.

The leather on the rear seats are wearing faster than other areas of the car.

General Comments:

Excellent handling on wet or dry pavement for an SUV.

Good acceleration from the V6.

Good towing capacity.

Quiet and comfortable interior with good standard features.

The seat warmers are nice and the premium audio is decent.

However, the horrible transmission ruins what could have been a great urban SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2005

2002 Mercury Mountaineer from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Faults:

We bought the Mountaineer in 2003, it was one year old with 38,000 miles on it. Immediately, I noticed it just didn't shift as smoothly as my last car (98 Ford Explorer). We brought it in within 4 months of buying so that if it was a transmission problem, it could be fixed under our extended warranty. They did a "transmission pack" and sent us on our way. One year later, warranty expired, and it's even rougher than before. It takes about 10 seconds to shift into reverse. The dealer just called and told us that they will have to rebuild the transmission - a $4,200 dollar job. However, (and this was news to me) because these cars seem to be having a lot of transmission problems, Ford is paying half of it, and the dealer is eating some of the cost also. I will have to pay $1600 of it. Why didn't they catch the big problem last year before the warranty expired? I hate being at the mercy of auto service people. It also makes me wonder why Ford isn't paying for all of it if they admit something just isn't right with their transmissions?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2005

20th Sep 2005, 10:46

The Ford dealer says I need to have my transmission rebuilt too. This is the second time I have brought it in for a transmission problem. The first time it was still under warranty and they replaced a switch or valve or something. Who would I contact to see if Ford would pay for part of this?

2002 Mercury Mountaineer 4.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance26000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

This is the nicest 4x4 I've owned

Faults:

Problems to date have been minor. I had the water pump replaced last week.

The indicator light for the seat heating system was blinking on and off when it was turned off.

General Comments:

This car has the electronic HVAC system and I love it. Just set the temp and forget it!

The leather seats with the heaters for cooold mornings are wonderful.

The all wheel drive system is a get in and drive with no cares wonder!

The ride is very smooth and stable, you can't tell you're in a 4x4.

The power for passing is very acceptable so I don't think you need the extra gas MPG loss to have the V8.

I also own a 2004 Ford Explorer Limited fully loaded and I let my wife drive it.

I prefer the Mercury.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2005

29th Mar 2007, 19:32

2002 Mercury Mountaineer V-8 60K

We love our Mountaineer for looks, comfort and gas mileage. We travel south for the winter and average over 20mpg fully loaded.

I do not like the new transmission Ford is using. I will not buy another car with that kind of transmission. It acts like the first automatic transmission around 1950.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 39 reviews