2002 Mercury Mountaineer Reviews - Page 7 of 11

2002 Mercury Mountaineer from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Good vehicle if Ford would correct the tailgate problem

Faults:

The most frustrating thing that has happened is the lift-gate has cracked at the Mercury symbol. There was a slight crack and now there are several. There is no recall at the moment, but I know of several people who have had this same problem with 2002 Explorers.

The brakes have needed repairs and one rear axle and one front axle.

General Comments:

All in all I really like the Mountaineer. I have not had a lot of problems like I just read about. I like the 3-seat feature and the leather seat. I like the roomy front seats and the middle row seats.

The Mountaineer handles well on the road.

I would buy it again if it got better gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th November, 2007

8th Mar 2008, 20:52

I have had problems with my lift gate cracking around the symbol. It is bad and getting worse. I have had it repaired once before and now its doing it again. I complained to Ford and they told me there wouldn't be a recall because it had nothing to do with safety, but after all my complaining they did pay for the first job. Poor quality of parts and there are several people in my town that have the same problem-in Explorers and Mountaineers.

2002 Mercury Mountaineer from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Faults:

We had the same problem that many other owners have described. The transmission was not shifting correctly, hesitating between the gears, slamming into the next gear, etc. Finally the OD light started to flicker and it quit shifting altogether.

I checked this website and found this to be a common problem. We took it to the local Ford dealer who presented us with a $3,118.80 bill for replacement. They advised us that the bands in the transmission had disintegrated. They could have replaced the bands, but the cost was nearly as much and there had been metal floating around that could have caused other damage.

Now the good news. I called Ford and they have agreed to pay for half. There was no argument from them and this was handled in four days. No waiting, no debating, no runaround. I suspect they realize that this is a problem part. The dealer actually had the transmission in stock, which tells me they are a common problem. And since they know it is a problem they are quick to resolve it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2007

2002 Mercury Mountaineer AWD 4.0 V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Very good and reliable AWD suv

Faults:

Wheel bearings getting replaced at 109,000.

Have had issues with the Check Engine Light, seems to be plagued with either a faulty gas cap or PVC valves.

No major problems with this vehicle.

General Comments:

No transmission problems, ever! Driven multiple trips to Florida, another to Wyoming and Montana, just completed two weeks in Arizona, Utah, and Colorado pulling a camper-logging 4,000 miles! We also pull a boat around on weekends during the summer.

I have to wonder how and why others' vehicles perform SO poorly, yet I have had such good experience with my Fords. I still drive my '93 Ford Taurus SHO everyday, it has logged 189,000 going for 200,000. Same engine, 2nd clutch, 1 alternator, 3 starters (the car's only fault) multiple sets of tires- I like to drive!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th September, 2007

2002 Mercury Mountaineer from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

It sounds like I am not the only 2002 Mountaineer owner with transmission shudder problems

Faults:

My 2 right wheel bearings were replaced at approx 80K Mi.

At 100K Mi, my two left wheel bearings are going out.

The infamous shutter of the transmission has been going on since approx 75K Mi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd April, 2007

16th Jan 2008, 16:14

I too have a 2002 with the same problems.

16th Apr 2008, 10:40

I too have had the same problems with the transmission. I'm told it will cost $1600-$1800 to fix the problem. I have 99,000 miles on mine now, the "shudder" began around 60,000. If I had only known before I purchased this vehicle, I wouldn't have. Will it cause more damage to the transmission?

9th Sep 2008, 10:05

I have had problems with the transmission in my 2002 mercury mountaineer since 32,000 miles. First, it "lost" first and third gears, then a part was replaced. That time they had my car for a month before it was repaired. Then at 84,500 more problems with the transmission. I bought a rebuilt one to the tune of $3,200. At the same time they had to repair the read differential, and replace the wheel bearings on the back. Now, after less than 7,000 miles on the rebuilt transmission, I was left stranded on the side of the road with my car not driveable again, you guessed it transmission!! It is in the shop now, I will let you know the outcome. I at least purchased a warranty with the rebuilt transmission, so they had better replace it with that! I love the way this car looks, but otherwise I will never buy another Mecury or Ford product again!

14th Nov 2008, 16:07

I too have had the same problems with my 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. This is the second transmission that has been replaced (rebuilt). I bought is brand new, the first transmission went out at 75,000 then again at 125,000. It's a piece of trash!!!

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 39 reviews