1996 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 V6 from North America


A great car with good gas mileage


At 127,500 Miles the Radiator, AC Compressor, Water Pump, and Heater core had to be replaced. Now the Transmission is starting to act funny when going from gear 1 to the second gear.

General Comments:

The sedan Sable is an extremely comfortable car with great gas mileage. I am still in High School, and the gas isn't very expensive for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2003

21st Jul 2004, 09:01

I bought my brother in laws old 96 sable, it had 138.000 on it at the time, it now has over 150,000 on it and in the two years I had it I never had any problems with it at all, and its still is a great runner, and it has ice cold air, great gas mileage and not one problem with this car, I would buy another sable, and my brother in law did. to the people that are having problems with there sables, maybe you're not maintaining them properly..

1996 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 V6 from North America


A very nice car with good gas mileage


At 127,500 miles the radiator, AC compressor, heater core, and water pump had to be replaced.

The transmission is now starting to act weird when going from first to second gear.

General Comments:

A very nice car with a comfortable interior and a very nice and powerful engine for its size. It has extremely good gas mileage thanks to the 3.0 V6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2003

1996 Mercury Sable LS 3.0L Duratec DOHC from North America


An excellent luxury car without breaking the bank


Mysteriously wouldn't start in 2000. Found out it was the PCV valve.

Transmission rebuilt at 135000 miles. As I type, it's being done.

General Comments:

My mother has bought the Sable new in 1996.

Acceleration from it's Duratec 3.0L DOHC doesn't break your neck unlike other cars with 200 horsepower.

The interior is almost like brand new.

It handles very nicely on secondary roads.

If you take care of your car, it will take care of you. I always live by that statement.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2003

1996 Mercury Sable GS V.6 from North America


A high performance family sedan


This has been a wonderful car. The only things that have went wrong recently, was the intake manifold gaskets had to be replaced as well as the oil pan gaskets, and transmission gaskets. The total price to have these fixed was under $500. At 78,000 miles this was not a lot of work that had to be done.

General Comments:

This car is wonderful! The ABS break system is great, this car will stop on a dime. It is very roomy and very comfortable. It has been a very reliable car in any kind of weather.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2003

1996 Mercury Sable LS 3.0L 24 valve gasoline from North America


Comfy, powerful, unreliable, expensive to fix


Transmission is cracked, shudders, and occasionally flashes the Overdrive light at me, which means the trans axle is too hot. Slow to shift. Estimated replacement: $2000.

Engine has needed tuneup ($300) because it was running rough.

Front CV joint went out ($200).

Needed a break job ($150).

Needed front-end alignment once and wheel balancing twice ($100).

Check engine light is on most of the time in hot humid weather.

General Comments:

Good points:

Very comfortable. Power everything, soft, comfy, and roomy (for a sedan).

Quite powerful, but doesn't kick in until you're already going 20 mph.

Good A/C.


If you like comfort, buy one new and sell it when it gets to 100,000 miles. Do not try to buy a used one when you are on a budget.

It's expensive to fix.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2003

1996 Mercury Sable GS 3.0L Vulcan from North America


Fords Best ever made!


Brakes @ 21 months.

Tires @ 1 1/1 years.

Battery @ 4 years.

Brakes @ 4 years.

Service engine light on @ 5 years - Computer needed to be reset.

Replaced original Transmission @ 198,000KM.

General Comments:

This car has been the BEST car ever owned in my lifetime. If you understand how a car works... You must realize it needs proper maintenance in order to have it work properly.

This car has cost me very little and has been worth what I paid for it when new in Dec. 1995.

I had a 1990 Dodge spirit and this has sure been a blessing having this sable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2003

2nd Feb 2005, 22:28

I agree! My Sable only has 80,800 miles on it, but I have had next to no problems with it. I had a small problem with the front suspension and a sensor which caused the power steering to go out periodically and the interior lights not to work- both were fixed at a reputable mechanic for about $400. These problems were at around 70,000 miles. She's a tough little sedan, I highly recommend this car if you want something reliable that will need VERY limited repairs! Remember to check your transmission fluid.

17th Apr 2005, 16:26

I have a mercury sable 1996. When I bought this car 16 months ago, it had 180,000 miles. I have loaded an extra 26,000 miles on it. And I have not experienced any major technical problems so far.

This is one of the best cars I have ever owned in my life.

Serge from CT.

25th Oct 2005, 05:27

Original owner of a 1996 Mercury Sable GS. 156k, no problems with the vehicle. I perform all maintenance myself, and keep up with fluid changes. Outstanding vehicle, trouble free.

13th Aug 2008, 13:12

We purchased a ’96 Sable as second vehicle just over a year ago. This was after my wife got side swiped just after dropping the kids off at school in our previous car; a Honda Civic. We were horrified by the degree of damage the Honda sustained considering it wasn’t such a big impact. We decided to get a bigger car, something with a bit more metal around it. The Sable had 145,000 miles on it when we got it. It seems to have been well looked after. We have since added 12,000 miles and the only repairs have been replacing a rad hose and a complete set of brakes. The car is very reliable, spacious and comfortable. All in all seems to be a pretty good car and we are happy with it.

Another good surprise was that our insurance premium dropped by $25 a month, which offsets the extra cost in gas.