1990 Nissan 300ZX Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1990 Nissan 300ZX Twin Turbo Targa Top 3.0 twin turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 twin turbo Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carMazda Xedos 6

Summary:

A super car for boring Ford money...

Faults:

Nothing major in over 3 years. I was told before I bought the car that it would be expensive to repair. I haven't had chance to find out as it hasn't gone wrong!

General Comments:

Without doubt the 300ZX is the best of the 1990's Japanese super cars.

10 years old and it still turns heads. The sheer power, acceleration and grip in the dry just cannot be beaten. Take care in the wet though...

Automatic is best as it allows the turbos to keep spinning flat out through the gear changes. Manual chews gear boxes in about 60,000 miles if driven hard.

Japanese imports to the UK all seem to be lasting better than UK originals due to the lack of salt on Japanese roads.

Check for uneven tire wear before purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2001

24th May 2001, 12:49

I believe the running cost was filled in wrong you may want to take a look at that.

High numbers are good.

Low numbers are bad.

Got it.

20th Jun 2001, 00:58

That's a bit harsh on the lad eh. even though I'm sure your perfect, its a bit harsh to hassle him about one fault. my 300 could be a 1 if I drove it hard all the time :) had the computer re-done, bigger turbo conversion etc :)

28th Jun 2001, 12:34

I recently went in the Nissan 300ZX twin turbo as a passenger and that was enough for me, the car gives out 280 bhp and believe me you feel every one of them. The driver put his foot on the gas and it re-arranged my internal organs, the car is as fast as hell and I was thrilled just as a passenger, just wish I was an owner of one of these truly great cars!

30th Oct 2002, 06:35

I test drove a 92 Import TT for a laugh, I am now grinning from ear to ear. It took 15 minutes to fall in love, and I went to the showroom to buy a RX7.

Its 10 years old and still looks good. Repair bills can be pricey if you go to the wrong place, join the owners club, you will get great advice and a wealth of experience on tap.

My other tip is to buy your parts abroad, they still work out cheaper with the import duty.

20th Dec 2002, 09:06

Does anyone know what gearbox this car has i. e the code?

Or can anyone tell me if a L4N71B auto transmission will bolt up to a VG30DET with no other mods? Please e-mail me: respectaye@msn.com Thanks.

14th Jul 2004, 18:13

I own a 90 300zx TT. 150,000 kilometres on a manual transmission and it was driven hard. Gearbox is fine.

23rd Sep 2008, 09:32

Automatic better? I don't agree, manual is ALWAYS better in any sports car situation. without a clutch you are useless.

8th Dec 2008, 15:45

My question can I convert a normal car into a Targa Top and if so where.

P S UK site only.

1990 Nissan 300ZX Twin Turbo 3.0 turbo petrol from Monaco

Year of manufacture1990
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10

Faults:

Tyres very expensive and difficult to source - need tuning every 3,000miles/5,000km.

General Comments:

Very wide - not good for city driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 1998

22nd Mar 2001, 07:50

Do NOT go to a Nissan Dealer, they don't know anything about the car... and there's NO WAY a well maintained TT needs a tune-up every 5000 km.

30th Mar 2001, 13:17

Maybe it's Monaco GAS? Are you using at least 93 octane? My TT does have a tire eating problem also, but it's my foot that is to blame. I run injector cleaner through my car every 2 or 3 tanks to keep the "sensitive" fuel injectors clean.Z's Rock! have 2 71 240's and my 91 300.

Glad to see I'll be able to get another about 2002!

Mike.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 33 reviews