1999 Nissan Altima GLE 2.4 4 cylinder from North America


Super value... especially used!


My driver door window rattles, especially at highway speeds.

The rear window also rattles.

General Comments:

I would contend that this engine was the best four cylinder on the market in this model year.

I have owned several V-6's that did not provide starting-line and high-end acceleration that match the Altima's.

The Altima carries cargo very well; I am impressed with the trunk opening and capacity.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2003

1999 Nissan Altima GXE Not sure, its fast though from North America


Great performing car for great price


Nothing really wrong had gone with it, although someone stole all of my pop-off hubcaps off my car. The hubcaps cost over $200 to replace.

General Comments:

Altima runs so smoothly on the highway, you don't hear anything. Before you know it you can be going 110 and the car is still running effortlessly.

Car turns so smoothly.

Altima speeds up VERY quickly, I can go from 0-60 within 6 seconds or so.

Trunk is very large; it holds large objects, and the car doesn't slow down a bit.

I love my Nissan Altima.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2002

1999 Nissan Altima GXE 2.4L 4 Cylinder from North America


A reliable mid-size family car


Within the first year, there were several squeaks/rattles which you could hear when you drive. Dealership found that someone had left a small tool in the steering column. I believe it was left by the dealership which installed the after-market sunroof.

Also, the driver side seat belt had to be replaced at about 20,000 miles because it had become "lazy" and would not retract. This was covered under warranty.

General Comments:

The car overall works very well. Have had very few problems to complain about.

On wet roads it is not very stable and the handling in turns is not extremely good which is due to the type of car.

Get about 30 miles/ gallon and am happy with the peppy engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2002

18th Mar 2003, 13:38

I bought my 99 Nissan Altima with 7 miles on it when I bought it it made a banging noise in the rear. The dealer ship wouldn't fix it they don't know what it is. Since then I had to replace the brakes twice, driver side power window went out at 45k not covered under warranty, 50k CV boot cracked, 75k starter went out, 75k engine belt cracked.

1999 Nissan Altima GXE 4 cylinder from North America


You're better off with a Honda


Molded door guards turned a brownish yellow in just 1.5 years. The car's color is white. Nissan will only warranty the door guards for a year after new purchase... gee, I wonder why? Nissan won't stand behind their product.

Also, the car has problems starting in cold weather. Have had a few occasions this winter where the car just wouldn't start in cold conditions. The dealership can't seem to solve the problem.

General Comments:

This is my first and last Nissan. When a car company knows it has a problem (defect) in material or workmanship, they should stand behind their product. Nissan is not this kind of company.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th March, 2001

5th Mar 2006, 12:46

To the previous poster.. After the horror stories I have read on almost EVERY so-called quality brand, and after my own car-from-hell experiences with a German import, your quibbles with trivia seem to be somewhere between laughable and ludicrous!!

I have just bought a Nissan based on the almost total lack of complaints on serious deficiencies.. and I count my blessings (you should too..!!)

5th Mar 2006, 19:04

Yes, I don't care anything about Nissans and even I have to agree that this amounts to pointless whining. The cure for hard starting in subzero temperatures is to keep a can of Pyroil starting fluid in the back seat. Of course that will require you to look at those faded door jambs, so I guess a person just can't win...

1999 Nissan Altima GXE 2.4 litre from North America


Its power lock on the rear door went wrong, but got it replaced for free from the dealer.

General Comments:

No problems.

Drinks gas more than a Civic - gives me around 25mpg.

Its seats are not that comfortable for long drives.

Trunk has very small opening. Sometimes it's difficult to put things in it.

Overall a very good car. Extremely reliable. With a good sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2000

17th Jun 2002, 10:14

The Altima is a larger car than the civic, of course it doesn't get the same gas mileage. The Sentra is closer to the Civic's size. A lot of these posts have to be taken with a grain of salt.