1993 Nissan Hardbody Pickup XE 2.4 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

The Most Reliable Truck, Period!!

Faults:

I have done very little to the truck, such as new O2 sensor which wasn't needed, battery terminal cracked, but no big deal ($2 repair), it kills gas (200 miles to the tank) but there is no trace of leakage anywhere so hopefully there is nothing wrong with the injectors, and there is a noise that seems to be coming from the engine fan (possibly the bearing), and it leans a little bit on the passenger side, but besides that its OK.

General Comments:

First off I bought the truck off Ebay which wasn't such a great idea, but if people knew how to take care of a vehicle this truck would be in mint condition, but we live in a world with a lot of idiots (sorry, but its true). I really do love this truck!!! 4X4 works awesome, trans is good, engine is solid, needs a few minor repairs, but everything will be gravy once I'm finished. My next vehicle will most likely be Japanese unless it's a Ford F-Series.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2004

10th Apr 2005, 14:47

I think the sound on your truck is the water pump bearings because is doing the same thing. Mine leans to the passenger side, about 1/4", but I can't figure out what it is.

1993 Nissan Hardbody Pickup SE-V6 4X4 3.0L from North America

Summary:

Great Truck - Nissan is Quality

Faults:

Nothing major (cross my fingers). Only routine wear and tear.

Previous owner took good care of it. I replaced shocks, drive belts, parking brake adjustment.

On outside of truck top of windshield that borders roof is starting to slightly rust. Touch up paint is fixing this.

Not as tight of a steering radius as I would have expected.

General Comments:

4X4 works great.

Very reliable truck, a true Nissan.

Built in Smyrna, TN.

Wish it had a little better acceleration, but used to have 2001 V-8 Dodge Ram 1500 so I was spoiled.

Drives great on highway.

Gets 20 miles to the gallon.

Economical, practical and reliable truck. I love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2004

1993 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 2.4L Inline 4 from North America

Summary:

An inexpensive reliable truck

Faults:

The paint has not held up well over the years, but with the desert sun it is understandable.

No major problems aside from regular maintenance(i.e. brakes, oil changes, etc.)

General Comments:

This truck is an absolute beast! At over 140,000 miles, it is as reliable as the day I drove it off the lot.

The engine still provides decent acceleration and runs smoothly.

The battery life has been extraordinary in my experience. I had one last 6 years in the Arizona heat, which is unheard of out here for any car or truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th December, 2003

7th Jan 2005, 10:42

My Nissan Pick-up D-21 has over 140,000 and it runs great. It still has good acceleration it never over heated on my Grandpa or me. I take it down the hill in high heats and it doesn't even come close to overheating. We got it from my grandpa who passed away a year ago. My dad was driving it home one day and it just quit running. He started it back up and ran for a couple of seconds and died; so he started back up again and barely pushed on the gas and kept it running. He drove it until the tags expired and it sat for two years. So I said to my dad, "Can you go get me some starting fluid so I can see if it has an intake leak?" So I got in the truck, started it and kept it running at one speed. My dad sprayed starting fluid by the intake and it picked up idle speed. So we ordered the gasket; I put it on and started it up. It runs great. I was happy. Since I fixed it it runs like it was brand new.

1993 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 2.4L Inline-4 from North America

Summary:

This truck will run FOREVER

Faults:

Lots of routine maintenance things: Had to replace spark plugs, fuel filter, brake pads.

Also had some electrical problems, but nothing major, just issues with the combination switch (lights, turn signals) but it was cheap to replace.

General Comments:

This is an amazingly reliable and well built machine. It will take a HUGE beating and still run, and is easy to fix with just minor knowledge of auto repair.

The suspension is really hard, so it's a bumpy ride, but a hard suspension means that this truck can handle potholes and bumpy roads at higher speeds without sustaining damage.

Over all, a great and very reliable car (I beat the hell out of mine with long distance driving and off-roading and I haven't had anything break yet).

I just wish it was a little bit faster though, it came without a tachometer and the engine starts to get REALLY loud at around 75mph, so I have been hesitant to take it much faster than that without knowing my RPMs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2003

25th Feb 2008, 15:04

The engines used in these trucks are the same as the 240sx which is often used as a ricer/racer. They are very hardy engines. The fastest I got my truck up to on a hill was 90-95 mph. I'm not entirely sure which because I was more concerned about driving than how fast I was going. The Amazing thing is that it took the highway really well and wasn't bouncy or uncontrollable at those speeds. The engine was roaring a bit, but it handeled it well. I wouldn't recommend driving at these speed frequently but it is cool to know that you can do it. And on another note the truck could have gone faster than 95 if I let it, but I thought it would be unsafe. :D.

5th Aug 2008, 20:25

My '93 Regular cab will hit 250,000 miles next month. Mileage is within 10% of new. It's had a couple of brake jobs, a water pump (and timing chain while it was open), a radiator, 4 shocks, a clutch, 3 blower motors and a switch for the heat/AC, and 2 starter relays. I'm on my 5th or 6th set of tires. I need the AC all summer (Phoenix) and it's never been cracked. I don't baby this truck and have hauled and towed a lot with it. Maybe 15K miles have been on dirt. It is a gem!

29th Mar 2011, 00:38

I just bought a 93 Nissan with 88000 miles, one owner, and I am pleased so far. It is a little slower than I expected. Anyone have any performance modifications that will not hurt the gas mileage?