1993 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1993 Nissan Hardbody Pickup from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance222000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Truck

Summary:

Freaking fantastic

Faults:

Fan clutch, thermostat, brakes, and water pump. Mostly, standard service.

General Comments:

They run forever, and with low maintenence. We really love our Nissans, and have three of the hardbodies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2001

15th Jun 2004, 22:40

I acquired a 1993 Nissan Hard-body Pickup in late 1994, had only 15000 miles then. Ten years later it now has 227000 miles and runs like new. Body is in very decent shape and engine idles very quietly. I love this truck, but I also have 2 trucks and can't always drive them both. For the right price I guess I can sell my 93 Nissan.

1993 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 2.4 Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 Gas Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Rock solid reliability

Faults:

I had to replace the starter. It was hard to get out, and replace. Other than that, the truck has been rock solid reliable. I have NEVER had such a reliable vehicle before.

General Comments:

I was a big fan of Nissan. I am starting to shy away from them though, because of them making more cars, and components in Mexico. My truck was built in Tennessee, and it is rock solid. My Sentra was built in Japan, and was great. The quality of the Mexican built cars from all manufacturers seems to be lacking. I do not think I would put my hard earned money on a vehicle built in Mexico. I will probably buy Toyota, or Suzuki next time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th March, 2001

17th Jun 2003, 10:58

The Nissan trucks today now have their own plant in Tennessee (not the same as the Smyrna plant).This plant just opened recently (2003).

10th Jun 2005, 08:22

I have a 1993 Nissan Hardbody shortbed 4X4 and it has been the best vehicle I have ever owned. I bought it new off the showroom floor. It has 116K miles on it now and I hope to get 200K out of it before I buy a new Frontier 4X4 Crewcab! I have had to only replace the tires, battery, belt so far. The starter went out this week so I plan to replace that tomorrow. I hear that is tricky. Other than that, it has been very dependable and low maintenance. I bought an Xterra 2 years ago which is a great truck too! I live in Tennessee very near where the trucks are made so I will continue to support my State's product.

24th Jul 2006, 13:49

The starter isn't too hard to replace if you simply take off the passenger front tire. If you don't take the tire off, I can't imagine what a hassle it would be.

28th Aug 2009, 21:06

I wrote the original report on my truck. I still have it, and it is still giving me great service. Since I last wrote, except for tires and batteries, I have replaced the shocks, a windshield washer motor, and a rubber brake light switch button that cost $1.49 at the dealer! Just today I replaced the striker on the driver's side door, because the plastic cover rotted off, and it latched loudly.

This is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. I have the original brakes, and I have not even had to add freon to the much used A/C.

I STILL love this truck!

1993 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Base w. Extended Cab 2.4 litre EFI 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.4 litre EFI 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired12 kilometres
Most recent distance100000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Gentlemen, park your egos

Faults:

Nothing. Ignored sticky hydraulic lifter.

General Comments:

Seats somewhat uncomfortable. Base model is pretty stark. Not enough torque from 4 cyl. engine for a working truck but then, you can't get 30 mi. per Imp. gal. from a 6 cyl. No rust problems. Regular maintenance is easy. No timing belt to change. A boring but reliable drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th June, 2000

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 32 reviews