1993 Nissan Hardbody Pickup 2.4 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Freaking awesome truck

Faults:

Battery, alternator, water pump, bearings, starter and passenger door no longer opens.

General Comments:

My truck has a great running 2.4 4 cyl 5 speed. This is the best truck ever built. It has survived many off road trips, and for many years was used as a work horse for my landscaping company. It plowed snow for 5 years in a row (that's in the mtn's of PA).

About a year ago a worker over filled the oil by 1 quart; it was smoking badly and was in the middle of a job and had no tools to let the oil out, so I drove it home 20 miles with it smoking badly. Let the oil out and put in something from the auto parts store to stop smoking, which worked after a little bit. I retired it from my fleet of trucks, and now it's used as an off road truck. Before I took it off the road, it was still seeing 20mpg easily.

Today my son takes it in the woods and it sees some rough terrain, and gets a pretty good beating, and it was jumped 6 foot with very minor damage (dipstick tube broke). He added a snorkel to the intake and many times it sees water up to the headlights. This truck just won't give up; starts right up each time and runs like a champ.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2009

24th Nov 2011, 13:41

I purchased my 1993 Nissan 4x4 pickup 4 months ago. It is a good looking, rust free, refurbished vehicle that has a marked title. Has new tires and wheels, and ran true and straight. Seemed like a good deal at the time. Now it sits at a friends garage with the engine removed and in need of new rod bearings and clutch. I'm now on a Chevy Chase vacation, as all this trouble surfaced on my way to my Eastern Oregon elk hunt, which left us stranded for over 30 hours in the snow. Read all the great reviews on Nissan 4x4's, checked the rig out, yes it had been serviced, looked clean and sharp. Gas mileage was 14.45mpg on the trip. What a disaster $$$$$.

28th Dec 2011, 21:04

When I reported my unfortunate experience with my 4x4 Nissan pickup, I was unaware of the real cause of this disaster. A lack of basic maintenance, regular oil changes, was the sole cause of this engine failure. My brother is an experienced Toyota mechanic, and he did the engine swap. He told me that Nissans may not be as easy to work on as Toyotas, but that this failure was 100% neglect and NOT any flaw with Nissan. A new to me engine and new clutch has transformed this little truck into a very nice rig. MY APOLOGIES to Nissan Motor Corporation for my ignorant comments.

2nd Jul 2012, 18:39

I've fallen in love with this little truck. My engine replacement, new clutch and new exhaust system = GREAT TRUCK. Repairing it was well worth it.

Lesson learned: thoroughly check out any used vehicle before you buy it. Considering what I paid for it, everything came out OK... except for the ruined elk hunt.

Will not overlook Nissan in the future... no longer Toyota prejudiced.

23rd Sep 2015, 01:38

I have now owned this Nissan Hardbody now for three years, and I must say it outperforms my old Toyota in off road situations. All the bugs have been worked out, and this time I made it to my elk hunt, where this little truck was a regular mountain goat. Great truck.

1993 Nissan Hardbody Pickup Navara 3.0 V6 petrol/LPG from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A ripper really, considering!

Faults:

Fuel pump failed @ 240,000Km - replaced with an external Holden unit ($550 cheaper).

Lower ball joints and Castor bar bushes @ 300,000Km. Shockers @ 325,000Km.

Front brake pads @ 335,000Km, rears soon!

1 x Injector replaced @ 390,000Km others removed and cleaned.

Water pump seized @ 418,000Km.

Rear spring shackle bushes @ 427,000Km.

Starter motor @ 428,000Km.

Gearbox getting noisy now in 3rd and 5th gears.

Drivers seat collapsed a while ago!

Some rust appearing in rear body, and door window trim area.

General Comments:

Engine has had no repairs since new, runs like a dream, blows no smoke, starts first time hot or cold. I always use full synthetic oils, change engine oil @ 20,000Km, BUT I change filters every 5000Km. I Generally use Shell Helix Ultra.

Lots of squeaks and rattles!

Bad draught from vent in drivers door trim!

Occasionally blows instruments fuse, which stops alternator charging the battery!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2008