1995 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0 from North America


Best bang for the buck when buying a used car


Rear O2 sensor at 120,000 miles.

Fuel injector (1) at 150,000 miles.

Battery at 120,000 miles.

Transmission currently leaks gear oil 165,000 miles.

Torn cv boot at 150,000 miles.

Rear struts at 110,000 miles.

General Comments:

My families 4th Maxima. Can't get enough of them.

In the almost 60,000 miles I've owned it it has never left me stranded.

Very comfortable even driving 1,000 miles in one day.

Acceleration is good for a family sedan. Handling is however average.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2004

1995 Nissan Maxima GLE from North America


An elegant hot rod


There was an electrical problem resulting in a loss of power. It performed as though water was in the gas line.

The illumination in the (Bose) stereo intermittently turns off with the outside temperature.

General Comments:

Its looks are understated, classy.

Performance is utterly impressive, save for the handling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2004

27th Dec 2006, 13:07

Have to agree with the car being a "gem".

I do agree with the Bose Stereo problem too. My LED went on and off intermittently and finally has totally pooped-out. I know of a place in San Jose, California that rebuilds these bose unites for about $200.00.

My problems over the years since buying my 95 GLE new.

1. Lost a starter just after the warranty expired.

2. Replaced the CV Boots

3. Oxygen sensor

4. New A.C. compressor.

That's it... and that Nissan VQ 3.0 liter V6 starts up and runs flawlessly with 145,000 miles on the odometer! It doesn't drip one little drop of engine oil. It still doesn't seem to burn any appreciable oil either. Fuel economy is excellent for a 190 H.P. engine. I do think that the 190 H.P. rating is underrated. The Automatic still shifts flawlessly, and the automatic climate control is great.

1995 Nissan Maxima GLE V6 3.0 from North America


Highly reliable performance vehicle perfect for family or college students ;)


Replaced starter unit @ roughly 45k (300.00).

Replaced (3) O2 sensors @ roughly 60-70k.

CV boot replaced at 70k.

Front right control arm replaced @ 90k.

General Comments:

Fast car! A joy to drive even after almost 10 years of ownership in my family (I have driven it for about 5 years since 60k). Very dependable, few "real" problems... has never left me stranded (knock on wood). HIGHLY recommended... now if only I had the 5 speed...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2004

1995 Nissan Maxima SE 3.0L from North America


A Luxury sedan with a rocket engine


Nothing has gone wrong with this car! I absolutely love it!

The brakes and tires have all been replaced at 155,000 miles and the radiator and rear axle due to an accident.

Engine is mint. Still extremely quite and drives like brand new.

Clutch has some wear, but that is normal probably will need to be replaced with in 50,000 miles.

Fastest Luxury/Sedan I've ever driven. Forget about the mileage, if you can find one that has been kept up buy it!

This is the best 3.0 L engine built by any company!

General Comments:

Great Car.

Luxurious and fast.

Very dependable.

Gas is costly needs premium (91 octane)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2004

15th Jan 2004, 21:44

I prefer the 3.0L in the 03 Accord. (240 HP)

29th Apr 2004, 20:24

Accord? What about the new Maxima? 260HP.

24th Jul 2004, 00:09

Acura TL? 270 hp.

27th Oct 2004, 12:34

Those are not 3.0 liter engines.

19th Dec 2004, 13:00

And if those were 3.0 liter engines, hp is not all that makes an engine great.

25th Apr 2005, 11:40

I've owned both Accords and Maximas over the years and tested several 2000-2002 models last year before buying the 2001 Maxima SE. I've found in general among similar model years, the Maxima is always a bit bigger, a bit faster, and has a bit more luxury. However it is always a bit more expensive. Nissan seems to make their line of cars sort of in between the other manufacturer's models. Example, The Accord and Camary pretty much are the same type of car. Nissan gives you the Maxima, a bit better, and the Altima, not quite as good, but better than a Civic.

3rd Mar 2009, 03:20

Gen 1 & 2 Taurus SHO 3.0L V6 will give it some very stiff competition... 220 hp bulletproof made by Yamaha.