2005 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 4 of 13

2005 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission Automatic
Most recent distance97817 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Disappointing and expensive

Faults:

Transmission would hard shift around second gear. Started on and off in Sept 2010 and would not do it all the time. Had it checked out; fluid, screen filter, all good. Problem seemed to be happening more frequently and I felt unsafe. Took it to Nissan, and days later picked car up with a rebuilt transmission and $3,400 poorer. According to what I've researched, the transmissions for 2005 Maxima should have been recalled.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd March, 2011

2005 Nissan Maxima SE 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Don't buy

Faults:

The transmission is REALLY BAD. Seems like everyone is having similar problems, and Nissan's standard line is "there is nothing wrong".

General Comments:

The transmission clunks into gear, shifts hard. Thousands of similar complaints on the Internet, and NISSAN says there is no problem. I hope nobody has to go through this problem with a Maxima. Looks great, but just be prepared to put out an extra $3500 before it hits 100K. But don't forget, Nissan says there is no problem!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2011

2005 Nissan Maxima SL 3.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

A costly mess

Faults:

My 2005 Nissan Maxima seems to be having the same problems as everyone else on this site. Hard shifting between 2nd and 3rd.

General Comments:

I will never purchase another Nissan. I will advise all my friends and family of my problem, and the problems of others on this site.

Nissan, do something about this shifting problem (recall these poor transmissions) or face losing a lot of loyal customers!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th February, 2011

17th May 2012, 23:08

Hi, was your transmission a 4 or 5 speed?

I have had the same issue with my Maxima here in New Zealand.

I have been told that the transmissions are different to the ones in the USA. Nissan have yet to tell me what the differences are, apart from the part number.

Everything that has been described in the USA is the very same as what has happened to my trans. Nissan don't want to know.

My trans is the 4 speed, and the car is a 2005 Si 3.5 litre.

2005 Nissan Maxima from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission  
Performance marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

They sold me a bad car, and would like another. Is that too much to ask for what I paid for?

Faults:

After four months, needed a new transmission, had to miss work.

That summer, no air conditioning, needed charged so I thought.

In July, steering was shaking really bad, had to get it fixed.

August, warm air blowing, had a hole in a hose. Took it in for a service, they wanted to charge me 345.00, are you kidding?

I'm an unhappy customer.

Got the car inspected, and was told my passenger side floor was rusted; had a hole due to hole causing water to rust the floor. I was told by Nissan that's been happening, so why did the salesman from Nissan, who I will not mention, hold that back it. Cost 321.00, which I thought I should not have to pay. BOTTOM LINE I'm VERY P---D OFF?

I've ended up in hell Nissan. Please help (unhappy).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th February, 2011

2005 Nissan Maxima SL 3.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance100247 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

This car is not reliable, would not buy another

Faults:

A jerk was felt in the car while driving, as if transmission gears had a delayed shift. The car was only 3 and half years old. I HAD THE CAR IN THE SHOP SEVERAL TIMES WITH NO RESOLUTION OF THE PROBLEM. The jerk in the gears got so bad that I took it back to the dealer, where they checked it out and said I needed a motor mount replaced. Also they did a transmission flush. I was informed after they did those repairs that I needed a transmission. I had the transmission replaced.

At this time, I am having a problem with an occasional jerk, which appears transmission related. While driving the car approx 2 weeks ago, the engine had a high pitched sound, the odometer stopped registering, the ABS, SLIP, TCM lights came on, along with the check engine light. The car was driving sluggishly, the brakes were stopping, but the car was not taking off with normal speed after accelerating.

General Comments:

I made it home, parked, turned the car off, and it would not recrank. The car sat for 3 days, whereas it cranked with no warning lights on in the dash. I then drove the car about 6 miles, no warning lights on, attempted to reverse when the gear shift would not move upwards past neutral, but it would move downwards to drive and 1 and 2 gears. Could not turn the car completely off, because the car was not in park, could not remove key from the ignition, so left the car in neutral, put on the parking brake so the car would not roll into the street. The car sat about 3 hours when the car was cranked while in neutral. Foot on brake, gearshift then moved into park, and was able to remove the key.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th December, 2010

27th Dec 2010, 03:30

This review gave me the hiccups. Haha sorry for laughing, but I couldn't help but laugh. I feel your pain, and am real sorry you got such a bunk car, but OMG what a week! It's straight up comical how ridiculous your car is acting, I'd probably not be laughing if it was ME who owned the car.

BTW, after 1999 or 2000 (I forget which), the Japanese automaker Nissan turned their flagship Maxima into a FORMER Japanese car. That's right, after 2000 they were assembled and built in Mexico, Canada, the US or a combination of those. So you pay for a Nissan thinking it's gonna be Japan-reliable, but may as well be buying a Chevy.

Please do your research, the Maxima generation before this WAS built in Japan, and I've heard nothing but good about THOSE ones. Good luck. **Hic!** Danngit!

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 45 reviews