2005 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 8 of 13

2005 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 SE from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.5 SE Automatic
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Major problems with this car!!!

Faults:

I have a 2005 Nissan Maxima SE, and the engine blew at 93,000 miles. I picked up my car at the Nissan dealer after they fixed the engine, and I was only 1 mile away when my transmission then blew. I'm now out $6500 dollars and still don't have my car back. This is a Nissan with under a 100,000 miles, and I now had to replace everything under the hood. Makes me think about ever buying another Maxima!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th June, 2010

15th Jun 2010, 11:00

You bought the car used. Do you have the service records for this car since new? Do you know the previous owner and how they treated this car? If you have no idea who drove the car before you, and no service records, you can't possibly know what the car was subjected to before you got it.

These are fast cars, and are regularly subjected to abuse from what I've seen of them. I had a 2002 and used to take out all kinds of cars with mine, as it was so fast for a sedan, and fun to surprise people with. I'm not saying it should have such a catastrophic failure before 100K miles, but it isn't out of the question if it has been severely abused.

This is why it is tough to buy used cars, especially rentals or lease turn-ins.

2005 Nissan Maxima LE 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Great car, crummy transmission!

Faults:

Car performed nicely until we got to 65,000 miles... then the transmission started to act up. Hard "clunking" going between 2nd and 3rd gears on the acceleration... and between 4th and 3rd gear while braking.

The transmission has gone into the "safe" mode several times... won't do anything but 4th gear.

Check engine light is intermittent.

Nissan dealer inspected the vehicle and said it was the motor mounts. Private transmission expert said it was a transmission issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th May, 2010

2005 Nissan Maxima from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

She may cost me money, but so far I still love it

Faults:

On my 2005 Nissan Maxima 3.5 SE/SL, the power steering res. sprung a leak. Cost me $1,800 to get it fixed. Just recently had her in the shop and it cost me $300 to get it out. Now they want $300 more to do this 60k transmission thing. And judging by the complaints, I'd better have that done soon also.

The only complaint I have about the car is that I don't know that much about her. The manual that came with her is basic.

As for driving, she shimmies when I get up to 60mph, but stops shimmying at 65mph. Otherwise, I zoom by everyone.

General Comments:

I love this car. I've had to spend money on her and I still love this car... which is unusual for me, because I trade at the drop of a hat.

The 2005 Nissan Maxima 3.5 SE/SL was my 'dream car'. I've always have wanted one, but was never able to get one. When the opportunity came, I searched for 4 months until I found the one I wanted.

It's a beautiful car, and I love driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2010

2005 Nissan Maxima SE 3.2 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Too many expensive problem for the cost of the car

Faults:

I was in love with the 05 Nissan Maxima, and I had to get one. So I purchased the Maxima, and I loved my car until recently.

Now I am having transmission and timing chain problems. And when I did more research, I found out that I am not alone. There have been different websites with people complaining about the 04-05 Maxima with the transmission and the timing chain. If the person is not having both problems, they are having one of the problems.

Upon calling the Nissan place, you get the run around because they act like they do not know of this problem. But too many people are complaining about the same problem for them to not know about it.

As of today, there is no recall. Which there should be one, because the people that bought these cars are not at fault, because these problems are simple manufacturing problems. And these problems need to be fixed on Nissan's dime.

General Comments:

This is an awesome car. I love the color of my car and I enjoy driving it. But when you get down to the problems of this car, I will never buy a Nissan car again. I do not care how it looks. Because Nissan is not standing by their products, and I cannot afford to keep putting this kind of money out to keep getting manufacturing problems fixed. Since they sell this car so expensive, they need to stand by their work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2010

30th Apr 2010, 23:14

I have the same problem. Had timing chain replaced this week.

Cost is about $2000 dollars. I will NEVER buy another Nissan car or truck. I have a friend that his truck also had timing chain problems.

19th Jul 2010, 15:30

I purchased two Nissans in 2004. One was a 2004 Nissan Altima, which had a recall on the engine. It was repaired without incident and has run fine since the repair.

At the time of that purchase, I fell in love with the style of the Nissan Maxima, and ordered a 05 a several months later.

At approximately 66,000 miles, the 05 Maxima began slamming into gear with a two second delay when shifting out of park into reverse or drive. After ten minutes of driving when the vehicle warms up, the 05 Maxima slams into gear from first gear to second gear, and second gear to third gear like the transmission is getting ready to come out of the front of the vehicle. Unlike the 04 Nissan Altima recall on the engine, Nissan hasn't acknowledged a problem with the 05 Maxima.

I love my 05 Maxima, and do not plan on getting rid of it, especially when it will be paid off shortly, so I will continue everyday networking to get the problem resolved.

2nd Aug 2010, 20:26

I bought the 2005 Maxima SL and there are two things I love about this car. The Bose stereo as I am a Bose fanatic and the smooth ride.

What I don't like are:

- The crappy Constant Variable Transmission which does not work well when in bumper to bumper traffic.

- The vibration in the floor board and seat which I've fought Nissan on numerous times, which they also claim to know nothing about when the web is riddled with the same complaint. They've had their engineers review it because they know it is a bad design. They scam you by saying it's a light steering wheel, or need of wheel alignment - mind you the car was fresh off the floor and they did 4 alignments, balanced tires, etc.

- Nissan maintenance is horrible. My experience is both in two different dealers in NJ and one in Raleigh, NC.

- The cost of the spark plug replacement because because of the bad design where the engine has to be partially lifted to get to the 3 back plugs.

- Replacing belts need to be done through the wheel weld.

- The cabin is quite noisy... unless the Bose is cranked.

I'll never buy another Nissan, it's a shame because this is my third.

Honda Accord here I come...

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 45 reviews