2005 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 12 of 13

2005 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance58500 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

I love it with out the transmission problems

Faults:

Transmission Problem slipping from 2nd to 3rd and from 3rd to 2nd, Struts changed 2 times, and Motor mount broke once.

General Comments:

I Love this car very fast, quick pick up but the Transmission problem scares me, I don't want to get stuck at night with my Children trying to get a tow truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th September, 2008

2005 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carNissan Altima

Summary:

I love the car, but the transmission problems are killing my spirits

Faults:

Suspension went twice, lucky for me the car was still under warranty, this occurred before reaching 30k.

General Comments:

The car picks up quick.

Cabin is roomy but the driver seat must be adjusted several times before find a comfortable position.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th September, 2008

9th Sep 2008, 14:19

What does the suspension have to do with the transmission?

2nd Jan 2009, 12:32

I have a 2005 Nissan Maxima SL with the 3.5 engine. It has 55,000 miles and my transmission is completely out! The Nissan dealer where I financed the car is quoting me for a whole new transmission $4,000, and a regular transmission shop has quoted me $2,000. I still have 2 more years of payments, I think this is so unfair. I called Nissan corp as well and all they said was, sorry for your loss but we can't help you! I'm financed through Nissan Motors Corp.

27th Feb 2009, 21:54

I have a 2005 Maxima SE. My transmission went out at 59K, my rack and pinion has been broken since 20K, and Nissan has not and will not fix it especially since my warranty expired now.

My headlights burn out twice a year, radio broke 3 times, struts broke 4 times in 2 years, sensors going out twice a year, and my battery died after a year and a half of purchasing the car cash.

I have been a loyal customer to Nissan and always took my car there for care, even though I knew they were robbing me. What a piece of crap car. I will never buy another Nissan again, especially when Nissan don't take care of their loyal customers.

6th Mar 2009, 09:07

Bought brand new 2005 Maxima SE, loved the car. At 58K miles felt a continual jerk from 1st to 2nd gear. Brought the car into Nissan numerous times to no avail. Knew it was a transmission problem from the start. Very disappointed in Nissan, no help at all, obviously from the reviews here there is a defect in their transmissions. Very disappointed that Nissan won't stand up to their product.

Dumped the car last month and will never get another Nissan.

2005 Nissan Maxima Ti 3.5 V6 4spd Auto from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 4spd Auto Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance65000 kilometres
Previous carAlfa Romeo 75

Summary:

Beautiful, powerful, economical, reliable and stylish Commodore eater

Faults:

I've had it for 40000Klm and 2 years, and have not had one fault.

General Comments:

This car is awesome. Leather seats and every other feature you could think of.

The 3.5 V6 mated with the 4 speed auto works very well indeed. Because of the car's huge amount of torque, it does around 2200Rpm at 120KPH, then will drop back to third and take off like an intergalactic space ship.

It has very good suspension set up; fairly stiff, but doesn't compromise the ride.

My favorite thing about this 170KW front wheeldrive machine is going around a corner at speed until the rear end flicks out, then nailing the throttle, it pulls the rear end back in and slingshots forward.

It will easily leave a new Commodore or Falcon 6cyl sitting at the lights.

If you want a performance family car with a stylish streak, look no further, as this car does it all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2007

23rd Jun 2007, 05:11

I rented a Maxima for 2 weeks while away on a work trip. I was hugely impressed with everything about the car. Even the controversial styling grew on me over the period.

I spent today driving a VE Commodore Omega, which served to remind me what a great car the Maxima is. In fact it is streets ahead of the Commodore in every respect, despite the fact it has been around for 3 or 4 years now. Unless you're a real Holden fan, or you have a real thing against front wheel drive, I cannot fathom while you'd ever choose the Commodore over the Maxima after becoming acquainted with both.

23rd Mar 2011, 02:48

I bought one of these three years ago in NZ for $16,000, this is incredible value for such a car.

The motor is absolutely superb: smooth powerful and quiet. Leg room is very good and with all the extras it's a beautiful car to drive.

The only disappointment is the stereo: no 3.5mm input, doesn't play MP3 discs and only average sound despite the number of speakers.

17th May 2012, 23:16

I have a 2005 Maxima, and had the same issues as the model is experiencing with the transmission. The whole transmission needed to be replaced.

At 70,000km, I found the trans slipping gears, mainly going from 1st to 2nd, or it jumped into gear when putting it into reverse.

If you are experiencing such issues, please contact me via replying to this post.

Nissan are ignoring a huge potential issue.

I know 3 others with the same issues, although their trans has not failed YET!

After 114,000km, I had to replace the transmission.

Not impressed at all.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 45 reviews