2005 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 11 of 13

2005 Nissan Maxima SE DK from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission DK Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance176000 miles
Previous carMini Cooper

Summary:

Never again

Faults:

Knock sensor

Mass air flow sensor

Headlights

Various leaks

Check engine light stays on

Brakes

Clutch

Starter

Air intake

General Comments:

Very smooth ride when operational, but stayed in the shop. All told, in a year and a half, spent about $4,000 in repairs. Had to keep fixing things before could even try to sell it. Very disappointing car. On the other hand, my 1994 Accord keeps trucking right along.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2009

2005 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carFord Expedition

Summary:

Nice car, poor reliability

Faults:

Same problems as everyone else - hard shifting from 1st, 2nd and 3rd. Took it into the dealer, and they said it needed to be re-calibrated. They said this should fix it.

The manager said, as you know these cars have had a lot of problems with the transmission. He stated if this did not fix it them, we would need to replace the tranny ($3,300). Then they stated that the timing belt/chain w/ever needed to be replaced. That's another ($2,200). So I have had this car for 4 months and it could cost me ($5,500), just to have a reliable car for who knows how many more miles.

Even though I just bought it, I am going to get it running, and making as little noise as possible, then trade it in on another car.

General Comments:

Nissan absolutely does not care about the problems they are having with their cars, and it appears will do nothing to try and rectify the situation. I can almost understand the timing chain/belt because the car has 76,000 miles on it. The price was crazy and I would not have Nissan do that anyway. Any mechanic worth his/her salt could do this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th March, 2009

9th Mar 2009, 20:50

GASP!!! $2200 for a timing belt?? I thought that the $400 some dealerships charge around here was crazy.

30th Mar 2010, 09:59

Very interesting. My 2005 Nissan Maxima has had so much work to it. 73000, need new timing chain as well.

My car has had the following replacements over the course of me having it: New transmission, new timing chain, new catalytic converter, my temperature sensor does not work (it was fixed and kept breaking), some thing (I don't know what it is called) that goes all around the motor to help it run, and engine mounts. Yes, I bought the car BRAND NEW.

This car has to be the WORST CAR ever. I will NEVER purchase a Nissan ever again, and I will never speak positively of this manufacturer.

2005 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

First time I have had a problem with this car

Faults:

I have been experiencing problems since Christmas of 08' with my Nissan Maxima. I have taken it in to the dealership numerous times and they keep telling me they can find nothing wrong with the car.

Finally my check engine light comes on while at a stop light, and the engine begins to rev up as if I am pressing the accelerator. Later found out the catalytic convertor is gone.

Has anyone else had this problem? The cost is over 1100.00 to repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th February, 2009

9th Feb 2009, 21:50

NO! Under federal law your catalytic converters are covered under an 8 year/ 80,000 mile emissions warranty. You should not be paying for the replacement of those catalytic converters.

20th Jul 2009, 15:05

I just took my 2005 Maxima SE into the shop today and they told me my Catalytic Converter needs to be replaced along with a CO2 sensor. I was having the same issues. The car would rev up while sitting at a stop light.

It seems this has been an on-going issue with the Maxima, you should see all the posts for the 2001-2002 Maxima; they all have had to replace both the converter, CO2 sensors and coils. I think I may be trading this car in before my 100,000 mile warranty is up.

2005 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Was great, but now sucks!

Faults:

Transmission:

My 2005 Nissan Maxima (Build date of 08/04) has 69000 miles and has started showing signs of what may be serious transmission problems.

1. Takes about 5 seconds to click into gear after the shift lever is put in "D".

2. Very hard jerky shifts between 1st to 2nd and 2nd to 1st, and is accompanied by a loud clunking noise.

3. Transmission slips out of gear during regular driving, allowing the engine to rev freely then jerking back into gear with a loud clunk. This followed by a burnt oil / electrical type smell that gets inside the car, and is evident outside after stopping.

Sometimes I go for days with no symptoms at all, and other times it may happen a dozen times in a day. I took it in to the dealer and none of the problems showed up for them, but they noted that the engine mounts were broken, but that would not cause these symptoms. They suggested a new transmission and motor mounts for $4,000. I drive mainly on the freeways in Southern California and have maintained and babied this car since it was new.

This is my first Nissan, and I have loved this car until these symptoms. I have been eying the new 2009 Maximas, but now I am not sure of this car's long term reliability.

General Comments:

Great performance, but transmission reliability is a big question mark!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th October, 2008

13th Oct 2008, 16:42

Nissan doesn't use that transmission anymore - the 2009 Maximas have the very reliable Nissan CVT. Nissan quality has also improved a from the 2004 Maximas, give it a look!

2nd Dec 2008, 00:27

Maybe you guys gotten a bad batch of early 04? Knock on woods but mine is in excellent shape, in regards to the tranny. I don't have any of the aforementioned problems with 72k miles on it now. I also don't have any major repairs done as of now yet, and hopefully I won't have to either, lol. I do however, have lots of minor problems with trim pieces coming off in the interior, but that's about it.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 45 reviews