2005 Nissan Maxima Reviews - Page 6 of 13

2005 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance78333 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

2004-2006 Nissan Maximas need to be recalled, and money returned to the owners

Faults:

I have a 2005 Maxima, and yes it's a great car.

April of this year, I had to have a new transmission put in my car, which cost me exactly $3717.06. I have seen a lot of issues lately pertaining to these cars. I too think that there needs to be a recall, because I paid $21000.00 cash for my car, and now I'm getting all kinds of trouble with it.

General Comments:

Great car, roomy and cute.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2010

2005 Nissan Maxima SE from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Don't buy it unless the problem is fixed!

Faults:

Our Maxima has had problems with the transmission.

Jerks to go into gear, slips in 3rd and 4th. Some days are worse than others. It seems to get worse when it warms up!

General Comments:

I do not recommend this car to any one. Call 1-800-nissan-1 or your complaints do not count online, you have to have a file number! I don't know if they will do a recall, but the more complaints the better, also get in touch with the NHTSA. We were told they (Nissan) could not help us!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2010

2005 Nissan Maxima SE 3.5 V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

An absolutely fun and reliable car!

Faults:

No problems yet. Everything works fine so far...

General Comments:

The car is very fun to drive! It is quick, nimble and easy on gas so far. I love the power and passing ability. Turning ratio on parking is little tight, but not a big complaint.

Haven't had it long, but I put 270,000 miles on a 1989 Nissan Maxima previously.

I did buy the extended warranty because of the comments made here and other places about the transmission. A 04-06 problem from the transmission manufacturer. I will enjoy riding till that issue raises its ugly head.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2010

13th Oct 2011, 09:31

Follow-up: I did this review. I can say that the last year plus have been overall great with the car. However, the transmission started the jerking and slipping. Luckily, because of reading reviews here, I purchased an extended warranty and it is being replaced under it. I really love this car though.

Other things done were a recharging of the A/C (did myself for $20.00), new tires, new battery, new windshield wipers, and the pads will soon need replacing. Headlights were replaced right before I purchased it.

2005 Nissan Maxima from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

It's a lemon

Faults:

Had problems with transmission "flaring" at slow speeds.

Axel seal leak had to be repaired, and I had to replace the radiator.

General Comments:

Performance is very disappointing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th August, 2010

2005 Nissan Maxima SL 3.5 VQ35DE from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 VQ35DE Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Nissan should have a transmission recall!!!

Faults:

BOSE CD player's cover won't open.

Hard shifting from Park to Drive, etc.

General Comments:

I bought this car second hand. When I got it out of the dealer I bought it from, the CD player didn't work. Then I started noticing the transmission had some clunks shifting from Park to Drive. The transmission also shifts hard when in automatic mode in 1st to 3rd gear, but not in sequential mode.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th August, 2010

2005 Nissan Maxima SL 3.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles

Summary:

Unreliable transmission, not worth buying

Faults:

Faulty timing chain - replaced at 55,000 miles. Went in complaining of a rattle noise at 3000 RPM when cold. Had a nice surprise that the timing chain needed to be replaced, 3 months outside of my warranty.

Faulty transmission - replaced at 51,000 miles. Luckily under warranty as the transmission would move up and down without me doing anything.

Exhaust valve - 10,000 miles. Rattled (same as symptoms seen with timing chain).

General Comments:

While I have enjoyed driving this car immensely, things have started to go bad post 50,000 miles. I believe in getting 100K out of a car and I doubt that this will happen with this one.

Something I would not expect from a Japanese designed car but perhaps American Manufacturing is bringing down reliability.

Heard from multiple people about transmission and timing chain issues - this is a design fault which is costing owners and Nissan reputation big time. I will not be buying another Nissan in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2010

20th Jan 2011, 05:22

I am now seeing the same exact issues in my 2005 Nissan Maxima. My luck, both the transmission and the timing chain went bad at the same time and five months out of warranty. I am shocked to find so many Nissan owners are having the same exact problems with their vehicle. I am telling everybody I know not to buy Nissan.

Average review marks: 5.4 / 10, based on 45 reviews