2005 Nissan Maxima SL from North America - Comments

18th Sep 2009, 16:53

This is ridiculous. There are 1000's of us with the same problem and Nissan refuses to do anything about. Never ever ever again purchasing a Nissan.

18th Sep 2009, 19:42

I have a 2005 Nissan Maxima SE with about 40,023 miles on it. I haven't had ANY mechanical problems at all with it due to the last owner rarely driving it. Next month will be my 1st year with it but I want to trade it in for a truck, will that be a wise choice?

19th Sep 2009, 17:49

If it's a domestic truck you're looking at, then no it would not be a wise choice.

12th Oct 2009, 12:33

I have an 05 Maxima with 94000kms on it, and just this weekend, driving home, it wouldn't go out of 5th gear. Even if I stopped, it would stay in 5th and I'd put it in tiptronic to see if I can lower the gear manually, but all it did would give me a big clunk, and wouldn't do anything.

Also, it would be in drive, and I would press the gas and it wouldn't go anywhere, it would just slip for like a minute, I'd have to put my hazard lights on and wait to catch, and if I'm in park and I go to drive, the clunk is huge, it feels like the transmission gonna fall out... so it's just sitting in my garage...

I've read on a forum that some guy went to the dealer without warranty and with tranny problems, and he printed all these complaints from people posted on websites, and took it to the dealer and he showed them the complaints, and they replaced it for nothing.

13th Oct 2009, 10:56

I have a 2005 Maxima and as I read these comments, I've realized that I'm experiencing the same probs. Shifting from 1st to 2nd gear really hard, but not all of the time. Sometimes are worse than others. I haven't taken it to the dealer yet but I plan on it very soon. This should be a recall...

16th Oct 2009, 11:07

I also have a 05 Maxima and my transmission is doing the same as everyone else's. I only have 69500 on it, and reading these other complaints, they really do need to recall this car for the transmission. I know they are aware of this problem. It cost a lot for the car as it is, but to pay for a new transmission on top of still paying for the car is outrageous. I bought this car brand new with only 6 miles on it, and the reason for buying a new car is to avoid these problems so soon. It's a beautiful car and I love it a lot, but they really need to fix this problem for us.

22nd Oct 2009, 20:29

Just bought a 05 Maxima SL.. 1st day home from the dealership I felt the hard shifting, the car has 50k miles, it does the same exact thing, jerks pretty bad right around 20 mph when I'm slowing down.. Took it back to Nissan and they replaced the transmission with a new one and put me in a rental...

Hopefully it doesn't do it again but if it does I have my paperwork of the repairs and I will be seeking a lemon law lawyer... it's ridiculous!

27th Oct 2009, 22:00

2005 Maxima SL Auto Shift 2.0 - I purchased used at 17,000 miles 3yrs ago.

Around 75K felt the delay in shifting 2nd to 3rd, but it did not affect performance.

At 93K, felt the jerking, especially in 2nd gear. Took it in, dealer suggested servicing the transmission, which we did. Dealer could not replicate.

98K jerking was harsh and scary. Took into the dealer who replaced it with a remanufactured transmission - Whew, the warranty covered it!

Two days after getting my vehicle back, the right side axle CV joint went out. Something went wrong with replacing the tranny as I did not have any performance problems with axle prior to replacing the transmission. Dealer didn't admit fault, but replaced the right axle under the transmission warranty and with a small fee.

I now find that the new tranny does not perform when tiptronic shifting; the snappy acceleration is no longer there... All the fun is gone out of driving this car in shift. The tranny performs well otherwise in auto or Drive. I am taking it back to dealer to let them know that the car is not geared the same as my original one. Anyone had issues with remanufactured tranny?

1st Nov 2009, 18:43

Same problem as everyone else. '05 Maxima. 61,000 miles. Encountering a significant THUMP when shifting 1st to 2nd and sometimes from R to 1st (it almost threw me into the parked car in front of me while parallel parking yesterday).

I think is a recall is only fair.

9th Nov 2009, 13:52

I am also having problems with my transmission with hard jerking. My problem is know one could tell me anything while I was still under warranty. Now that the warranty is up, it's my problem to replace the transmission. I think they should recall these car back and take care of the problem. What type of customer service are they offering not recalling these cars? I can't just trade it because I still have 3 yrs on it.

10th Nov 2009, 13:59

I have a Maxima 2005 3.5 SL at 58,000 miles gave me the same problem. Took it to dealer the made a minor detail on it, at 77,000 miles it got worst. We should demand a recall, We have purchased 4 Nissan vehicle, we had a problem with both Maximas, I will never purchase a car from Nissan again.

11th Nov 2009, 21:37

I too have a 2005 Maxima SE with 72,500 miles and a transmission problem. My car shifts hard between 2-3 gear with acceleration and 2-1 with deceleration. Both the dealer and a private mechanic suggested replacing the transmission. What a huge disappointment. Never again will I purchase a Nissan. My only hope now is to trade-in this lemon to an unsuspecting dealer.

23rd Nov 2009, 13:30

I have a 2005 Nissan Maxima, and I had the same problem with the transmission. The only thing I did was that I changed the transmission oil like a week ago, and the car now is running perfect. It didn't do it again, I went to the Nissan dealer and I bought the transmission liquid there.

24th Nov 2009, 21:55

I have a 2005 Maxima SE with 83000 miles on it. About a month ago I started noticing that the transmission was shifting very hard from 2nd to 3rd gear, and then from 2nd to 1st. Shortly after that, I almost got whiplash from the car jerking so hard from when taking off. I finally got my car to the dealership today, and the report is very consistent with all of the other dealerships. The transmission is bad and the cost for a new one is approx. $3300 and a rebuilt is $2500. I am so disappointed.

This is my 2nd Maxima. I owned a '97 and never had a problem. I only traded because I loved the newer body style. This is definitely a problem that needs to be recalled by Nissan. I'm calling Nissan and my state attorney general to report this problem. I think we all should!!

29th Nov 2009, 09:39

I too am having problems with my 2005 Maxima SE.

I bought it from the Nissan dealer 3 years ago with 17,000 miles, and 6 month later I recognized a slight problem. Took it back to the dealer and of course they couldn't find anything.

Now, 3 years later with 47,000 miles on the car and the problem at its peak - hard shifting from park to drive, drive to reverse and vise versa, and slipping and slamming in gear from 2nd to 3rd - they still said they couldn't find a problem 3 weeks ago on 11/09/09, but that I should pay for a $250.00 flush that may solve a "non-existent" problem.

After some back and forth, I did pay, and it did solve the problem for a whole hour. I went back to the dealer yesterday 11/28/09 and they finally agree that there is a problem and they will replace the transmission. They say they also need to replace a computer that controls the tranny that cost $800.00, but is not covered under the warranty. Has anyone heard of that?

I've had 2 other Maximas before this one, and never had the issues that I'm having with the car or the dealer. Needless to say, I will never buy another car from Nissan, and I will advise everyone I know to stay away as well.