2005 Nissan Maxima SL from North America - Comments

4th Dec 2009, 22:01

Thanks for reporting these transmission problems. I thought I was alone. I also, have an 2005 Maxima SE with the hard shifting and jerking which started about a month ago. I love this car, it's so nice, it makes me want to cry. I figured it was the tranny, but I was hoping it was something else. I had the transmission flushed about 3 weeks ago for $200.00 keeping my fingers and toes crossed. After a couple of hours, it was right back jerking and kicking. Now, I have to decide do I want to fix it and gamble on getting another bad tranny, or trade it in and be upside down because I'm not done paying on it?

22nd Dec 2009, 08:31

Well I have been having problems with my 05 Maxima SL for two days, ever since I brought it in for an oil change. The engine light has been on and the car has been struggling to get into 1st and 2nd gear. The car is also jumping when I put it R. Once on the highway the car runs smoothly. After reading this blog, I guess I can maybe stop blaming the oil change guys for doing something to my car? I will definitely post once I find out what is wrong, but it sound like it may be the transmission based on what I've read. I did read somewhere in hear about a fuel pump. After describing my problem to a friend, he suggested I may need a fuel pump. So we'll see.

31st Dec 2009, 18:51

Ditto everything said about the '05 Maxima 3.5L SE transmission. I am the original owner and have babied this car to 91,000 miles, the last 30K or so with the afore-mentioned transmission problems. Looking for a solution that doesn't involve a $3,500 transmission swap.

19th Jan 2010, 17:33

I have a 2005 Maxima SE, I LOVE my little blue car, but started having shifting issues with rough gear shifts and stuttering through 1st, 2nd and 3rd gears around 73k miles.

Also, when accelerating through a red-light or stop sign, the RPM's would shoot to 4 or 5 without my pressing the pedal any harder, and cause the car to lunge forward.

As with the earlier posts, I had taken my car to the dealership several times, but they could never find a problem with my car. With fear of my extended warranty soon running out, I took my car to the dealership unannounced and left it running in their parking-lot, they were able to feel the problem... FINALLY!!!

The transmission is in the process of being replaced, and hopefully the problem is forever solved...

20th Jan 2010, 21:37

I have a 2005 SE with 55,200 miles. I am starting to feel the lag from 1st to 2nd gear, and I had a few bad thuds from reverse to drive. I had a new catalytic converter put in under warranty around 51000 miles. I love this car and owe a good amount. I hope it doesn't crap out on me.. How long is our tranny covered mileage wise?

22nd Jan 2010, 14:08

I have a 2005 Maxima SL, purchased new and dealer maintained. Current mileage 59,200.

Started hearing whining noises when starting from cold and accelerating up through 3rd gear. Took it into an independent expert with significant Nissan experience and they removed all belts and tested. He is convinced that its the timing chain. Another independent who owns a Big O Tire shop has a 350Z and he says there is a plastic part in the timing chain housing that breaks, causing the whining. RPM's are choppy as I accelerate to about 40 MPH. Also hear a rattle in the transmission, so wonder if I am having problems there as well, given all the documented history of this transmission. With all the documented history of problems, I hope the dealer will make it right before I am out of warranty at 60K. Both transmission and timing chain are warrantied to 60K. Does anyone have any recommendations, or have they had any recent success with acknowledgment from Nissan USA?

22nd Jan 2010, 19:12

I am having the same problems with my 2005 Maxima. I think we should all demand a recall. I will call the Attorney General to get this problem resolved.

31st Jan 2010, 13:43

Wow! Once again I thought I was the only one dealing with tranny issues on my 2005 Maxima SL. Same thing as everyone else, Hard shifting between second and third gear. Only when the car is hot though and not all the time. My car is now in a transmission shop, I was looking for a used one, but now I see that I would probably have the same issues. I received a quote of $4000 to rebuild.

2nd Feb 2010, 16:09

I bought a 2005 Nissan Maxima SL brand new. At 78,000 miles, I am having major transmission problems and my mechanic states I need a new valve body, and it may not fix the problem, which will result in me having to buy a new transmission entirely. My car jerks terribly and makes loud noises when I accelerate. I called Nissan and the dealer indicated he might fix it if it is a certain type of transmission. I am going to see him tomorrow, and I will keep people updated.

Additionally, I have already had to replace the alternator, all 4 wheel bearings, and my air conditioner is going bad. I ABSOLUTELY do not recommend this car. Also, to add insult to injury, I still have payments. We'll see how I get treated at the dealer.

3rd Feb 2010, 18:41

I am yet another 2005 Nissan Maxima owner, who is having the same problem with my car. The car is beautiful, but it is not worth the trouble or the money you will have to pay out on repairs for it.

My transmission has just been replaced in my car, and my mechanic told me that it is still shifting hard. He had to order a sensor of some sort for it, but after reading these problems, I just pray that this fixes the problems.

I just had my AC and defroster fixed in it. Total car repair so far is going to be over 2500 dollars.

This is my second Nissan, and my last. I think we should all consider legal action, this is just wrong completely, especially with this many people have transmission problems, Nissan should live up to their name on this one.

16th Feb 2010, 22:55

Wow, since its introduction, Maximas have had their problems. They should discontinue this model, that tries to be luxurious but is flawed like crazy.

I too have the transmission problem, but plan to junk the car. It's a joke; you have to get the high end Nissan to get quality, not this low level luxury junk car!

Warranty is a joke too! All of a sudden Hyundai looks better than all the brands put together!

23rd Feb 2010, 07:20

I have a 2005 Nissan Maxima SE, and like all the other complaints, I'm having the same problems in the shifting from second to third gear, and a thump when putting it in reverse or drive. The thump is so hard, it makes the car shake.

I am very disappointed in this car, because I always thought Nissan's, Honda's, and Toyota's were the best. This is my first Nissan and it will probably be my last. I previously owned 2 Honda Accords and 1 Toyota Tercel, and never had any problems with them. I'm mad with myself, because I traded a perfectly good Honda Accord for this Maxima because I like the body style, and I was getting good reviews on them. If I had read these comments before purchasing my Maxima, I would've drove past the Nissan dealership.