1995 Nissan Primera Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1995 Nissan Primera LX 1.6 Unleaded from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Unleaded Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205

Summary:

Great car

Faults:

Nothing major as yet, touch wood.

Minor things:

Need a new radiator as a lot of the fins are missing. I think this accounts for the load 'ticking' noise which occurs for a minute or two when cooling down.

The sun roof cover rattles.

Short circuit on the back shell of the head lamp causes main beam indicator on the dash board to light and the 'door open' buzzer to go off when sidelights are on. Need to get this fixed, but easy and cheap enough.

Front passenger suspension creeks and does not get on with sleeping policemen.

General Comments:

Great car, good value for money.

Handles well, and picks up very quickly when you need to get away at roundabouts.

I know there are not many people who would agree with me, but I think it look fantastic.

Fairly easy to work on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2003

25th Apr 2004, 15:35

I like the look of the primera as well best and most reliable car I have owned drove 700 miles in a weekend no problem.

1995 Nissan Primera LX 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carNissan Bluebird

Summary:

Ultra-reliable and fun to drive

Faults:

Constant-velocity rubber boots split.

General Comments:

Extremely reliable - no serious faults encountered despite age and mileage.

The ride can be a bit bouncy - could do with new shock absorbers.

Engine bay still dry as a bone - not a leak to be seen.

A bit lacking in room, more 'Escort' size than 'Mondeo'.

Engine very willing, good fun to drive, maybe not as relaxing as it could be.

Brakes feel a bit dead, but are OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2003

1995 Nissan Primera SRi 1.6 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance92500 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

The best looking, sweetest driving, Mondeo bashing, Jap sports saloon of the last 10 years!

Faults:

Clutch wore out pretty quickly (but I have ragged it a bit when I've seen Evos, Scoobies and RS Turbos) and it cost £330 to replace.

Front nearside suspension is on its way out and needs replacing (a very annoying noise and a lot of wallowing is the result)

Boot lid has annoying rattle when on the move.

Power has dropped after regular long haul trips.

General Comments:

The SRi Primera wasn't the quickest car in the world, but it's a darn site faster than my 1100cc Metro.

It has TSW alloys (195/50/15s) and has lowered suspension and really ooks the business.

It goes well, especially over 3500 revs and motorway driving is effortless.

Top speed is good (I've had it up to 140mph) but it's not the quickest of the mark, but it's OK.

Comfort is a big thing for me because I do a lot of long journeys and the cabin is well laid out and very spacious. There's also plenty of leg room (I'm 6ft 4ins) and the boot space is cavernous enough to fit all my fishing kit inside.

It's also got a big spoiler... life is sweet, no?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2002

28th Nov 2003, 07:16

Nissan must make a super 1600 engine to see 140mph.

1995 Nissan Primera LX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance103000 miles
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

A family car for the driving enthusiast

Faults:

1 rear shock leaking, starter motor "slips", brake judder, leak from steering rack, handbrake won't hold on hills. I am a mechanic so this was all no problem, and I am more particular than most...

General Comments:

Handles superbly, after fitting 195/60/15 tyres, standard wheels too small. Performance could be better, should have bought a 2 litre.

Very comfortable to drive, and plenty of equipment, with a nice interior, which I prefer to later Primera's, big boot and tows my caravan quite well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th July, 2001

1995 Nissan Primera eGT 2.0i 16v twin cam from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v twin cam Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

Underrated performance saloon offering a superb driving experience

Faults:

Spongy clutch.

CV joint needed replacing.

Untraceable rattle from the steering column.

General Comments:

Superb handling and ride as standard thanks to a spot on chassis set up. Apparently, handling can be improved even more by lowering and adding different alloys. I am considering this myself but have heard that different springs/wheels can upset the passive rear wheel steering so it's worth looking into.

Performance is great. Always puts a smile on my face and it eats the miles up quickly. The engine note is quiet at slow/cruising speeds, open it up though and you get a fantastic roar from 3500 up to the (7500) redline, particularly if you change to a nice Janspeed backbox.

The interior has been criticised for being bland. It's not flashy that's for sure, but if you get the leather seats, it's one of the comfiest, best built interiors you'll find in this group of vehicles.

The main problem with my car has always been the clutch which suffers from a spongy feel and grind (from the cable). It's a mystery to my local dealer since I've had the car and has not been cured even after a new clutch kit and 2 new cables. Still, it doesn't make too much difference and I can live with it for all the car's plus points!

I was close to changing my car for a newer Almera GTi (Git) but have decided that it's still got plenty in it after 95k and will keep me entertained, and more comfortable for some time yet.

I'm considering doing the wheels and suspension thing after reading some favourable comments on the site. So, if anyone knows of a store that does Primera tuning bits (suspension, engine) for reasonable outlay, please let me know.

rapster@ic24.net.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2001

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 29 reviews