1998 Nissan Primera GT 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Cheap, fast-ish, reliable

Faults:

Rear O/S caliper seized.

N/S front electric window intermittent fault.

Original tape head unit display intermittent fault (yup, so few issues I had to include this!)

General Comments:

Much underestimated due to slightly bland looks.

If you can get over the fact that this isn't the best looking large hatch on the market, I don't think you could do much better for the money.

Very good build quality, great handling, good performance, smooth engine, never missed a mechanical beat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th August, 2010

1998 Nissan Primera CVT m6 Sr20ve from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Underated gem!

Faults:

Nothing (touch wood).

General Comments:

Strong performing car.

After owning a Subaru Legacy RSK before from a dealer for 3 years, and suffering close to 7000NZD of repairs, I sold it at just 120ks. Note, don't buy a Legacy with turbos over 110; as soon as they hit 90k, save cash ASAP! Anyway, I bought that car for 14000, sold for 9000 (manuals hold more value than autos). Had my eyes on a Primera that had done 125ks for 6500! Bargain!

I had enough cash to see out any problems this car would have, but so far NOTHING, it's incredible to finally own a car that hasn't given me a problem. Owned Subarus, Mitsus, Mazdas, Hondas and even Toyotas. Never had a Nissan; first Nissan, and so far so good.

Mine has the CVT m6 gearbox, with the added power from the sr20ve; great combo on the motorways and state highways in NZ.

Space is OK, same as my old Legacy.

Comparing the Legacy RSK before to the Primera, well the Legacy has more power; 280hp manual twin turbo, while the Primera has 190hp CVT, no turbo, but that's the only plus for the Subi.

The Primera for 20000ks has been so reliable, I haven't seen my mechanic since Sept, and that was for a oil change, has easily passed the WoFs, which I had trouble with my Legacy.

I took the car long distance; without 4wd I thought handling would be average like most FWD, but this was sensational, and the gearbox is amazing, in traffic it's a little jerky as it struggles to find the right ratio, but enter the motorway and it's awesome. The engine is great, added a Blitz exhaust, A/M ECU, podfilter intake, bigger injectors, platinum sparks; given the Primera more than the factory 190hp, has a great sound, especially after 4000rpm.

With a manual gearbox, this would be a seriously good car, will be saving for a conversion.

Pace 0-100kms about 8 seconds, beats my partner's Altezza equipped with the beams RS engine.

In all, I'm very happy with this car, not many left (thanks a lot Labour), so if you want good reliable fun, and again a RELIABLE car, get a Primera!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2010

18th Mar 2010, 01:05

You've got the CVT Primera?? I'd start saving if I were you. Those CVTs are not the most robust. Ask mechanics about CVTs. Recent-model ones, maybe OK -- but those first generation CVTs are not as robust as a normal automatic gearbox. Good luck.

1998 Nissan Primera SLX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Would definitely buy another Nissan

Faults:

Nothing, except the radio display, fuel warning light, and normal wear and tear items such as tyres and light bulbs.

General Comments:

I bought this car back in May 2008, with 124,000 miles. It now has 132,000 miles on the clock (Jan 09).

I was a bit nervous about buying a high mileage car, but it drove well and had very fluid steering. I have driven a 2008 Astra with worse steering than this.

I needed a cheap larger automatic for under a grand. Looking through adverts, I actually bought this as a rush purchase. I accidentally saw the advert for this car (I wouldn't looked at a Nissan, would normally have looked at your normal Mondeos and Vectras).

This car is seriously under rated as a car; they just don't break. Most reliable car I have ever had the pleasure of owning.

The car seems to run better higher up in the gears. This is because it hasn't really been driven at motorway speeds for six years. When floored they pick up well, and the kickdown is really effective. But seriously, why did Nissan not sell more of these things? They are more solid than the Vectra and Mondeo. I will keep this car for years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2009

27th Jan 2009, 04:15

This review is not exaggerated. I've had my 1998 SLX auto hatchback since 1999. It has now done just over 100,000. It has needed nothing other than routine repairs: tyres, exhaust etc. It sailed clear through its first five MOT's. It is still performing and driving as well as ever. It is the best car I have ever had. I have been driving since 1964.

JH. Dumfries.

15th May 2009, 10:59

I bought a new 2.0 SE hatchback Primera in Jan 1999. Still driving it and no repairs except for a new clutch. Still delighted with the car and see no reason to change.

9th Aug 2010, 18:45

I bought Nissan Primera 1.6 1998 in 2008 with 92,000 miles.

Zero problems, apart from normal tyres, exhaust plus one two services.

Just bought 1998 Nissan Primera SLX Auto, 92,000 miles and all specs... This car is just as good as the first Primera, but a whole lot better too because of the specs. But, what amazing cars. The last manual Primera I considered the best car I have ever had. Now, of course, I am shocked by the easy comfortable, perfect car that I have purchased for £990. The last Primera taken in part exchange for £500!!!

The front bearings were beginning to rattle, and 39,000 miles in two years, plus tiny bit of clutch beginning to slip and engaging right at top of pedal release. So, time to change! But hey, this second Primera 2.0i Auto SLX is absolutely amazing!! What an incredibly luxurious drive, and reliability! Why was this car not feted hugely???!!! I love 'em!!

Why do people throw their money away so easily on all the new cars??? (Good thing they do, though, economy wise! Good luck to them!) I prefer to spend any spare on seeing the world etc.... we are not around that long! Cheers D.