2005 Nissan X-Trail LE 2.5L gas from North America

Faults:

I bought it brand new in November 2004, and only drove 65,000 km.

Had the engine leaking oil, and more than that, I cannot start my car today. Will tow it to the dealer tomorrow. Last time I went to the dealer to check engine leaking, they said it's OK, but when I came back, I found it kept leaking. Don't know why?

General Comments:

If you are luck, it's OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st August, 2009

2005 Nissan X-Trail Elegance 2.2 dCi from Norway

Summary:

Not perfect, but a very good SUV

Faults:

Intercooler broke on 50.000 km (fixed under warranty).

Turbo broke on 52.000 km (fixed under warranty).

General Comments:

The doors refuse to shut in very cold weather, especially when there's a rapid difference in temperatures from warm to cold..

Very good 4x4-capabilities due to instant 4x4 instead of "real-time"-systems. I use it often to tow boats from the beach with sand and high attack-angles, but smells like burned clutch...

Good comfort & powerful engine.

Navigation screen very sensitive to cleaning fluids - screen was totally screwed up after using window cleaning fluids, but replaced under warranty.

Excellent service from my Norwegian dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2009

2005 Nissan X-Trail XE from North America

Summary:

Very disappointed

Faults:

Bought the car in January 2009 second hand. It is a 2005 X Trail, approx 65,000 kms and have had nothing but problems.

After one week... rear differential went.

Hardly starts in the winter. All the locks freeze and can't get it unlocked.

Drivers window is very slow going up and down.

My most recent issue is that sometimes it won't start. It has nothing to do with it being cold or hot, it just won't start. It is almost as though after it is started about 50 times, on the 51st time, it won't go. It makes a weird ticking/turn over noise. You have to try it 3 times, and hold it on and it will start. Very annoying and nobody knows what it is.

General Comments:

Love the drive and 4x4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th June, 2009

8th May 2010, 11:10

The problem with the engine not starting is the usual PNP sensor. Grinding noise has been heard when the starting key is turned. This sensor gives a signal to the starter and permission starter to be turned. So the engine can be started only when the lever is in the position Park or Neutral. It is necessary for the PNP sensor to be cleaned and adjusted, it costs 45 CAD approximately in a Nissan service center.

For an engine heavy start, the problem can be found in spark plug and fuel injectors - spark plug should be replaced, and it will be very well if one bottle of STP "fuel injectors cleaner" (black color tube) is added into the fuel tank for fuel injector cleaning. Results will come immediately.

One thing more - this car is originally constructed for the European market where 95 octane gas oil is used - Canada equivalent 91 premium. Good luck.

2005 Nissan X-Trail Fat Face 2.2 from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Driving at 70 mph in 6th gear on A1 in fast lane; suddenly no response from the accelerator. Managed to roll to safety. Car had to be taken to Nissan garage on the back of a breakdown lorry. Turned out that the clutch plate had seared off.

Nissan said that the cost would be £877! To make it worse they said they had never had to replace a clutch before on a X trail, and that it must be due to the way I drove the car!

No lead up to this, no warning lights.

Luckily the warranty has agreed to foot the bill.

Thank you Nissan...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th April, 2008

2005 Nissan X-Trail XE 2.5 liter from North America

Summary:

The car so far is good except for the wheel bearing problem.

Faults:

Purchased the car in August 2004 new.

In May 2006, at 22,000km, the front right wheel bearing had to be replaced due to pulling to the right.

In December 2007, at 40,200km, the front right wheel bearing had to be replaced again due to excessive tire noise.

General Comments:

I like the car. It is comfortable and very responsive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2008

8th Jan 2009, 02:16

Wheel bearings may be an issue. My base model TI Xtrail 03 owned from new and serviced regularly (Melbourne, AUS) has just had to have BOTH front wheel bearings replaced at 57K. This car is used very rarely under load and with a gentle female driver. My brother's Ford Falcon 1 tonne cab chassis has racked up three times the kiloms under 1 tonne loads without bearing failure. If your Xtrail gets noisy without the drive train engaged, it'll be the wheel bearings.