2005 Nissan X-Trail Reviews - Page 3 of 6

2005 Nissan X-Trail XE from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Very disappointed

Faults:

Bought the car in January 2009 second hand. It is a 2005 X Trail, approx 65,000 kms and have had nothing but problems.

After one week... rear differential went.

Hardly starts in the winter. All the locks freeze and can't get it unlocked.

Drivers window is very slow going up and down.

My most recent issue is that sometimes it won't start. It has nothing to do with it being cold or hot, it just won't start. It is almost as though after it is started about 50 times, on the 51st time, it won't go. It makes a weird ticking/turn over noise. You have to try it 3 times, and hold it on and it will start. Very annoying and nobody knows what it is.

General Comments:

Love the drive and 4x4.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th June, 2009

8th May 2010, 11:10

The problem with the engine not starting is the usual PNP sensor. Grinding noise has been heard when the starting key is turned. This sensor gives a signal to the starter and permission starter to be turned. So the engine can be started only when the lever is in the position Park or Neutral. It is necessary for the PNP sensor to be cleaned and adjusted, it costs 45 CAD approximately in a Nissan service center.

For an engine heavy start, the problem can be found in spark plug and fuel injectors - spark plug should be replaced, and it will be very well if one bottle of STP "fuel injectors cleaner" (black color tube) is added into the fuel tank for fuel injector cleaning. Results will come immediately.

One thing more - this car is originally constructed for the European market where 95 octane gas oil is used - Canada equivalent 91 premium. Good luck.

2005 Nissan X-Trail Fat Face 2.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Most recent distance51000 miles

Faults:

Driving at 70 mph in 6th gear on A1 in fast lane; suddenly no response from the accelerator. Managed to roll to safety. Car had to be taken to Nissan garage on the back of a breakdown lorry. Turned out that the clutch plate had seared off.

Nissan said that the cost would be £877! To make it worse they said they had never had to replace a clutch before on a X trail, and that it must be due to the way I drove the car!

No lead up to this, no warning lights.

Luckily the warranty has agreed to foot the bill.

Thank you Nissan...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th April, 2008

2005 Nissan X-Trail XE 2.5 liter from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance40200 kilometres

Summary:

The car so far is good except for the wheel bearing problem.

Faults:

Purchased the car in August 2004 new.

In May 2006, at 22,000km, the front right wheel bearing had to be replaced due to pulling to the right.

In December 2007, at 40,200km, the front right wheel bearing had to be replaced again due to excessive tire noise.

General Comments:

I like the car. It is comfortable and very responsive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2008

8th Jan 2009, 02:16

Wheel bearings may be an issue. My base model TI Xtrail 03 owned from new and serviced regularly (Melbourne, AUS) has just had to have BOTH front wheel bearings replaced at 57K. This car is used very rarely under load and with a gentle female driver. My brother's Ford Falcon 1 tonne cab chassis has racked up three times the kiloms under 1 tonne loads without bearing failure. If your Xtrail gets noisy without the drive train engaged, it'll be the wheel bearings.

2005 Nissan X-Trail SVE 2.2 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance63000 miles
Previous carNissan X-Trail

Summary:

Good car let down by turbo reliability problems

Faults:

The first turbo on my X-Trail developed the "whistle" in November 2006 when the car had done around 30,000 miles, and was replaced under warranty in December 2006.

Last week, the car started to lose power and pump out black smoke; I limped to my local Nissan dealer and have been told that the replacement turbo has now blown too!

An associate at work has had exactly the same problem with the turbo on his car going, and there is clearly a problem either with the design or quality of manufacture of these units.

I will hopefully have my turbo replaced under warranty (the car is only 3 years old in March 2008), but this is clearly unacceptable and Nissan should be protecting its reputation for quality, reliability and customer service by replacing failing units swiftly and without demur.

General Comments:

Good car otherwise, with good pulling power for horse boxes and the like, and nippy acceleration when called for (and when the turbo is working)!

I was about to purchase another, but the turbo failures are disturbing from a manufacturer that prides itself on reliability, and I am having second thoughts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2008

6th Mar 2008, 14:46

Not only the X trail, but the Primera 2.2 suffers the same fate.

I'm on my 3rd turbo, the longest having lasted 16000 miles.

15th Jun 2009, 13:54

My Nissan X-Trail turbo failed last year. Had it replaced. Now the intercooler has failed. Have been told it will cost about £300 to have it replaced. It sounds like a common fault. It's about time Nissan did a recall on the turbo system.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 27 reviews