2005 Nissan X-Trail SE 2.5 from North America

Summary:

Best car I purchased

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

Very cheap on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2006

15th May 2006, 20:52

Very descriptive.

2005 Nissan X-Trail SE 2.5 from North America

Summary:

I can't enjoy the car due to the excessive vibrations

Faults:

Excessive vibrations inside cabin when stopped in traffic. This makes driving in the city painfull. Car is placed in neutral when stopped.

Squeaks and rattles galore from the dashboard.

General Comments:

Great car, except for the excessive vibrations and the squeaks and rattles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th March, 2006

23rd May 2006, 17:46

I have new X-trail I found cabin vibration. Most of the time when I was waiting for signal. I think Nissan must investigate this problem. otherwise car is doing fine.

10th Aug 2006, 13:11

I am very sorry to hear that you are having this problem. My 2005 X-Trail is so calm when it idles that I sometimes wonder if it is running. I hope your Nissan dealership can resolve this for you.

30th Aug 2006, 14:51

Hmmm, rattle and vibrations?? I cannot agree on that, my X-Trail is so quiet that sometimes I wonder if it is already on or not. My wife has already tried several times to start it again while idle only to be woken up by the sudden scream noise the car made :o)

This car is great as is, if you have rattle or vibration issues see your dealer and get it fixed. It can get fixed, I'm driving the example.

11th Dec 2006, 12:30

Rattles, noise and poor gas mileage??? Well, I cannot complain at all! There is no noise in the cabin whatsoever. When idle you need to look at the instruments to see if the car is on or not!

My first trip (right from the Nissan dealer lot) was about 3800 miles in one chunk with no problems at all. I also squeezed +350 miles out of it before refilling. Perhaps this normal for a 4 cylinder engine and I'm not yet used to it - my 4Runner (2000 Limited) makes only about 220 miles per full tank.

I really enjoy this vehicle and would buy another one anytime - too bad that this one belongs to my wife.

Nissan - keep up the good work (You even make me as a true Toyota fan doubt sometimes...nah, just kidding, love my 4Runner)

6th Feb 2008, 02:36

Mine is a Taiwanese made 2.5L gas 4WD, and as other user noted, inside cabin at idle speed is very quiet, and I also have to look at RPM meter to make sure that car is running or not.

15th Jul 2012, 16:50

Bad idle happens only on R or D, not on P or N, to all X-Trails.

2005 Nissan X-Trail SE Gasoline from North America

Summary:

We like the car very much except for the vibration

Faults:

This car has had a pronounced vibration when stopping at a sign or red light from the time it was new.

General Comments:

This vehicle is excellent except for the vibration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2006

11th Jul 2010, 23:05

I have had that happen in previous cars; check the muffler or the piping. Sometimes it can come loose and it vibrates like a loud metallic pinging.

2005 Nissan X-Trail Elegance 2.2Dci from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A great buy

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

An excellent car for the price. I priced all the alternatives, and none matched the Nissan in terms of specification for the money (others looked at Toyota Rav4, Land rover Freelander, Hyundai SantaFe). The diesel takes about 7 l/100km (About 42mpg) which is pretty good, although mostly driven on the road, it has shown itself to be a decent off roader. The elegance model was worth the extra €3000 for the Leather Seats, 6 disc cd changer, Double Sunroof etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2006

2005 Nissan X-Trail X 2.5 gas from Colombia

Summary:

Good all around performer. Love the interior and exterior design much better than the Honda CRV

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

The X-Trail has a good engine and is quick off the mark. The handling is good although I would like it to be a bit softer. The brakes are awesome and is the best feature along with the centered dash which is very ergonomic and easy to see. Thus far I am getting about 25 km/gallon in city driving although I have stepped hard on it to test the engine a few times.

Seats are great and the AC is excellent. Finish on the car all around is very good. I think an automatic transmission with 5 speed will be better, but the 4 speed is not bad at all.

Lack of interior illuminations for some controls like lock, right front window is unacceptable and the gas opening latch is hard to get to unless you open the door.

A good all around SUV. I have not tested the 4 x 4 system yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2005

21st Oct 2005, 19:46

I like your opinion. They are my thoughts exactly.

7th Jan 2006, 12:13

I agree with your comments too, I am very happy with my X trail.

I would only mention couple of things:

First, sunroof gets somewhat noisy, with minor squeaks, a bit unpleasant, Nissan dealer is not able to deal with.

Also trunk cover hooks are very fragile, they get easily broken.

Finally, After one and a half year driving this car I do not see the real point in putting the instrument panel in the middle of the dash. Makes no difference and is difficult to get used to, I would take it back to the usual place in next redesign.