1999 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 12 of 38

1999 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Previous carbuick centery

Summary:

Heavenly!

Faults:

Nothing at all!

General Comments:

This car must have came Straight from heaven, I never had a car that worked so great before! not a problem since I had bought it other than getting some new tires. GREAT on gas compared too my previous car. Sporty Look, paint stayed GREAT! Tuff car :) Driven by girls :)!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st June, 2006

2nd Sep 2006, 19:22

I agree with you about it being a great 'girls' car! I hope you keep having good luck luck with it, they are very nice looking cars - best of luck on the following: brakes, lights, fans, molding, gas hand, power windows, maybe you won't have any problems...

1999 Oldsmobile Alero GL 3.4 V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired600 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

The gas pump failed at 65,000 miles.

My air-conditioner compressor failed that 85,000 miles.

My alternator failed at 95,000 miles.

A brake valve below the battery failed at 105,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car handles very well. As a commuter car driven every day, it has given me seven years of excellent service. When it had 35,000 miles. on it, I was contacted by GM. They informed me that there was a problem with the motor and they replaced it free of charge. They doubled my warranty to 72,000 miles. I can't complain.

I drive approximately 60 to 70 miles. daily in an even mix of highway and city driving. I try to be easy on my cars and they reward me with high mileage and a few problems. My Alero is no different.

I get approximately 25 miles. per gallon. This car is comfortable and handles very well. The acceleration is more than adequate and breaking is superb. Aside from the usual wear and tear items such as brakes, batteries and oil changes, I have not had any other major repairs except as noted above.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2006

1999 Oldsmobile Alero GLS V6 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

LEMON!!!

Faults:

Dash is wrinkling and turning color.

Air Conditioner doesn't work on first 4 settings.

Tires make a rubbing noise.

Seats are cracking badly.

Alternator went out at 22,000 miles.

Rotors done 2 times.

Pass-lock won't let me start the car half the time.

Coolant leak.

Oil leak.

Passenger side window clips broke and motor went out.

Occasionally the speedometer will go all the way to the right and stay there.

Now the engine is making a loud noise that sounds like a helicopter.

General Comments:

And the car is only 1/2 paid for... I will NEVER AGAIN own a GM. This car isn't even worth what I owe, and have paid to have it fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th April, 2006

9th Nov 2006, 06:28

I know the loud helicopter noise you are speaking of. I had it in my car as well. Finally had to take it apart to have a look, well the CV shaft was loose (changed it), brake pads shot (changed them) and bearing was in bad shape (changed that). Funny thing is they changed that same bearing a year before. After they fixed all the problems above, the noise was gone. Had a mechanic check it out the first time and he said it wasn't the bearing, they were fine. So not too sure what it was from. Hope this helps you.

1999 Oldsmobile Alero 3.4 from North America

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Alero

Summary:

Very, very sad!!

Faults:

Fuel injectors needed to be cleaned and replaced after first 6 months.

Have had front wheel bearings replaced 3 times both by dealer and after market parts, which is a huge expense!

On my third set of brakes and rotors.

Gasket in engine went bad due to corrosion that dealer claimed was due to the "Dex-cool" antifreeze. Another huge expense!

Water pump replaced at 50,000 miles.

Blower switch replaced at 40,000 miles.

Strap from bearing to computer replaced on both wheels.

Two sets of tires, besides the ones that came on the car.

Now need to replace the struts, but am reluctant to put anymore money into this car.

Oh, and don't forget the serpentine belt that had to be replaced after the water pump leaked on it!!

General Comments:

I thought it was a really "hot" car when I bought it! Imagine my surprise when I found out just how "hot" it really was!

By far the worst car I have ever owned! It was my second Oldsmobile purchase, and the first one was also a lemon! You think I would have learned!

Have had extensive correspondence with Oldsmobile, and like everyone else, gotten no satisfaction! They do not stand behind this product, which is very unfortunate!

If all these people feel like I do, it's no wonder they are going out of business!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th March, 2006

27th Mar 2006, 18:14

Your olds needs more torque.

27th Mar 2006, 18:31

This doesn't help your case, but the 99's gave the most problems during the first model year. Some are better than others for whatever reason. You had replaced all the parts that generally go. The engine and trans will take many miles.

30th Mar 2006, 08:01

DEXcool caused a problem? DEXcool is what GM says you're supposed to use!

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 132 reviews