1999 Oldsmobile Alero Reviews - Page 37 of 38

1999 Oldsmobile Alero GL 3.4L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

Good overall, put parts break to early

Faults:

I had to have the brakes replaced at around 25,000 miles, warped rotors.

Sleeve that goes around emergency break handle split at seams, replaced, new one split as well.

Leaking coolant at intake manifold. Gaskets need to be replaced. Parts on backorder, and have been for 3 months. Leaking began at around 53,000 miles.

General Comments:

Customer service is horrendous. No one at dealerships or Oldsmobile customer service willing to assist in getting part needed faster. Will not assist in loaner car until part arrives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th May, 2002

17th Apr 2003, 11:15

I have a 1999 Alero GlS V6...Dealership replaced intake coolant Gasket... because it was leaking at 30,000 miles now at 53,000 miles it is leaking again...

1999 Oldsmobile Alero GL 3.4L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.4L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

A money pit from hell

Faults:

Water leak under dash since 24,000 miles. Car has been to dealership 5 times, but problem still exists.

Brakes rotors warped at 30,000 miles.

Seat belts have lazy retractors since 40,000 miles.

Intake manifold gasket leak since 60,000 miles. Will take dealership 3-4 weeks to receive replacement parts and will cost approximately $500.

Car will idle rough and stall when stopped on occasion. Dealership cannot determine solution at this time.

General Comments:

Recommendation:

If purchasing a new or used vehicle wait until the second year a car is in production. I have learned my lesson by purchasing a 1999 Alero and would not recommend another Oldsmobile vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

1999 Oldsmobile Alero from North America

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired47 miles
Most recent distance72321 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Bad choice of vehicles - don't buy one

Faults:

Front brake rotors warped at about 30,000 miles, had to be turned once. When the problem continued, rotors were replaced. Both times were free of charge. Still having the same problem with rotors at 72,000 miles.

Drivers side window won't roll down, dealership says it is probably the motor, which is about $450.00 to replace.

Intake manifold gasket bad, causing antifreeze/water mixture to enter the engine, possibly doing major damage. Can't get it fixed as of April 4, 2002 due to national back order of the gasket needed. My dealership alone has 3 cars sitting on their lot right now waiting for this part that has been on back order for about 1 week. They have no idea when the part will be available.

Recall on a latch for the center console.

Rubber molding around all 4 doors warped shortly after we got the car, and lets a lot of wind and outside noise in the car.

General Comments:

It's too bad our Alero has had these problems, because I like the car. It is not very comfortable for my husband who is 6'2", but he likes the car also.

As far as buying another Oldsmobile -

never!!

I would try to persuade anyone I know not to buy this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th April, 2002

8th Nov 2002, 11:00

I too had similar Alero problems. The driver side door seal failed during a heavy rain and next morning I had 2 inches of water on the floor. It was only a few weeks old at the time. They had to order the seal which they replaced under warranty. When I brought it in to the dealer I also asked them about a lifter noise (clicking) when the engine is first started. They told me that GM allows about a minute and a half for the lifter clatter to dissipate and considers this normal (Apparently GM has this problem with all 3.4 V6 engines of this type, very noisy). At about 20000 miles I brought it in for warped rotors and they replaced them under warranty. At 35000 (just in warranty) I got a dash light warning of low coolant. I brought it in and they told me it was the lower intake manifold gasket leaking. This was replaced under warranty also. (what happens in another 35000 miles??). Performance is good. Mileage has been fair and the suspension and handling are great. Too bad about the other issues. Also, the BF Goodrich tires are fading fast now with 42000 miles on them. Would I buy another one? No, I'm thinking of giving up a lifelong association with GM vehicles and buying a Ford! (I know, I know, no guarantees there either..)

31st Mar 2003, 12:12

Do not buy ford!!! I have had nothing but problems.

23rd May 2003, 14:14

I have 1999 Alero Oldsmobile car and I love this car, but I'm having problem with my brakes. I have to get new brakes and rotors about 3 to 5 months.

19th Jan 2004, 18:13

My 79 year old friend has a 1999 Alero and has had many problems with it. Often the tire pressure light comes on when there is no problem. She's got problems with shimmying and probably needs to take it in for brake work. It is just out of warranty and she just put $800 into fixing the automatic driver's side window -- a problem we hear in not uncommon. We think that it's unfair for her to bear the $800 cost of the window repair on a car that's just over 36 months old.

17th Apr 2004, 15:45

I have a 99 Alero. I have had to replace the right window motor. It was $300.00. Also my heat/air only works on speeds 3,4,and 5. In general the car has been a good one. I have had it for 3 years.

2nd Jun 2004, 16:15

I own a 1999 Alero 2.4 liter. I just reached 57,000 miles and I have had no problems except for warped rotors.

4th Jul 2005, 08:43

Fords are terrible cars, get an alero, I have one and it is the best car I have ever owned... only cause its the only car I have ever owned

20th Feb 2009, 11:50

By the way... Everybody that is having problems with their brakes wearing quick.. I guarantee that you need brake calipers. These Alero's along with the Grand Am, and Malibu all have cheap calipers and need to be replaced frequently.

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 132 reviews