1985 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royal Brougham 307 cid from North America

Summary:

The best car I have ever owned

Faults:

The warning chime quit in the first year.

The cruise control needed repair after a few years.

The radiator was replaced after 150,000 miles.

General Comments:

This has been the most reliable car I have ever owned.

It still has the original alternator, motor and transmission.

The car does not burn oil and does not need oil between oil changes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2005

7th Jan 2005, 06:59

Is this the downsized model, or the full size rear drive one? This was a good article, but a description of the ride handling and acceleration would have been nice.

7th Jan 2005, 10:16

The Delta 88 did not go to fwd until '86. The 307 engine designation should have tipped you off that this was rwd model; the fwds were all V6's.

You should have no trouble finding more detailed descriptions of the rwd 88's on this site, seems like every one who still owns one has put a review in here!

12th Jul 2009, 23:46

Great car. I have had one for 19 years, and drove it 100.000 miles here in Iceland, it is still great, just like 19 years ago.

13th Jul 2009, 11:38

I wonder which car has the highest percentage of reviews with the sentence 'best car I have ever owned' in it. I'll wager it might well be the early 1980s Oldsmobile Delta 88.

26th Jun 2011, 20:56

I bought one, and it's my first car too, SO it's an awesome first car; very classy and layback. I love everything about it. Delta 88, with only 69,000 miles.

1985 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 307 Y from North America

Summary:

Classie grocery getter

Faults:

Defective motor, used oil from day 1 got progressively worse until 98,000 miles. Found.25" groove in #7 cylinder from a loose wrist pin, apparently the wrist pin clip was not installed at factory.

Transmission went at 145,000 miles.

Lock up torque converter had to be unplugged to keep from eratic shifting.

General Comments:

This car was in my family from day 1, my Uncle sold it to my father then my father sold to me.

My wife drove this car for 11 years and it has been an awesome ride.

Not the best on gas mileage, but a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2004

1985 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Sedan 5.0L 307 V8 from North America

Summary:

Big, comfortable, American classic.

Faults:

New intake manifold in 2003.

I recently had a new AC Delco engine, GM Good-wrench transmission, radiator, all hoses, new catalytic converter, new smog pump, new water pump, motor mounts and a dozen other engine accessories installed with factory new specifications and 50,000 warranty.

Car has 800 miles on new engine, as of November 2004.

Got AM/FM radio out of 79'Olds Cutlass.

General Comments:

Most comfortable car I've ever rode in.

I enjoy cruising rapidly over speed bumps without spilling my coffee. Speed bumps and driveway entrances feel like water wakes-nice.

I had the car painted in 2001. It's a beautiful sapphire blue. I call it green.

Bought new, stock Olds hub caps and new emblems from dealership.

Replaced windshield with new one.

New shift lever, door locks, cigarette lighter and door seals.

I bought a matching emperial blue throw pillow, to go with the motorized couch theme, as well as a dark blue blanket.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2004

1985 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 5.0L from North America

Summary:

A strong reliable granny mobile

Faults:

Intake gaskets for the cooling system leaked at 105,000 mile and I have had to replace the fuel pump and thermostat at 95,000.

General Comments:

The interior of the the car is roomy and comfortable.

It handles well and rides smooth at higher speeds.

You gotta love the rear wheel drive.

However for a V8 it doesn't have much power or acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2004

1985 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale 307 V8 from North America

Summary:

I wish that my present new car had the comfort characteristics that this car does

Faults:

Alternator.

Intake manifold gasket.

Rear wheel seal.

Brakes.

Recharged R-12 air conditioning.

Hoses.

A water pump every 50 to 60 thousand miles.

Replace the radiator week of June 7, 2004.

General Comments:

There is not a car on the road today that rides any better.

I own a 2004 Impala, it does not compare in seat comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th June, 2004

12th Dec 2009, 04:16

There is better car on the road today... F-150.

12th Dec 2009, 18:55

"There is better car on the road today... F-150."

Now if only that were a CAR.