1985 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Brougham 5 litre 307 8 cylinder from North America


A cheap beast on wheels!


When I bought the vehicle, the only maintenance to be done was the new transmission fluid and subsequently set-up the bands. This was never done by the original owner I bought it from.

Presently, the only job I have undertaken is the ball joints, and alignment and front brake pads that I replaced.

General Comments:

I bought this car for $900 certified and emission tested and other than the huge gas tank (94.5 litres) and four barrel carburetor sucking up the gas I have nothing but praise for this beast of a vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2002

27th Dec 2006, 00:00

These cars are fast, comfortable, reliable and beautiful. I have driven mine for 50,000 miles with no problems. It is even worth buying these and restoring them, if you can overcome the smog control rules in your area. They do rust out though.

1985 Oldsmobile Delta 88 from North America


This vehicle is a very comfortable limousine


The AM/FM cassette (factory) is out of service. I understand that this a common problem.

The transmission is finally failing. It is a THM200R4.

Driver's seat belt buckle failed.

General Comments:

The ride is excellent. The car completely disregards speed bumps, much to the horror of the moron tailgating me.

I have bought Oldsmobile 88's and 98's since 1980 to serve as a family car and for my wife to haul the kids in. My three daughters have learned to drive in these beasts (a 1971 88, 1979 98 and now a 1985 88). Each were involved in accidents as children will be and received no injuries whatsoever. The vehicle performed perfectly. I am currently rebuilding the 1985 88.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2001

5th Feb 2002, 19:35

I also have a 1985 Oldsmobile Delta 88. I have had many engine problems with this car. They lock up easy. I have already overhauled it 5 times and I am now looking for another engine (307 4bbl 700 overdrive trans), the original can't be built anymore!


Murfreesboro, tn 37128

1985 Oldsmobile Delta 88 Royale Brougham LS 307 cid V8 from North America


Couch on wheels



The 307 in with roller lifters is fairly quiet, but doesn't seem to want to move the car.


The THM 200-4R was not built strong enough for such a heavy car and engine engine. Consequently, I'm on rebuild tranny number two.


The gray metallic paint is rapidly fading and coming off on the hood, trunk lid, and roof.

General Comments:


Pretty good, except the tranny; lack-luster performance, but comfortable and good headroom.


Little understeer, barely any road feel, absorbs bumps well. Good drifting and predictable emergency handling. Most stable at 25-35 and 75-80 mph.


Good headroom for front and back seat. Easily fits four tall and/or large adults.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2001

1985 Oldsmobile Delta 88 V8 307 5.0L from North America


It is the greatest car ever built


Starter replaced in 2000.

Water pump in 2000.

Radio went.

Windshield leaks.

Driver's seat only goes forward and back.

Passenger side rear window only opens from the driver's controls.

Blew the speakers in it, but other than that it's the greatest thing in the world.

General Comments:

Old Blue is the greatest car there is, it rides like a couch. You can really put 6 large people in there comfortably. It's the greatest, I love it. It may drink gas, but oh well, I've got a job.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2001

14th Mar 2001, 13:59

I have to say that I as well own an "85" Delta 88. Betsy is the best thing that has happened to me in a while even though she has a few problems. Can I really blame her, though? She has had a total of three owners (that I know of) that didn't take very good care of her, and she still runs better than most of my friends cars.

16th Jul 2001, 15:55

I had one, too. It was a 4-door burgundy, stripped-down model. Power door locks was about it.

I drove it for 18 months, put 38,000 miles on her, and she never complained. I even got 22 mpg on one trip. But I made the mistake of letting her go.

Ultra-smooth ride, smooth acceleration, and a good snow car, too. Someday I may find another one if I'm lucky.