2005 Perodua Kelisa EZi 1.0 DOHC from Malaysia


Great performance and fuel economy


1. The car feels like falling when turning at 40km/h or more.

2. The car vibrates when the car speed reaches 105km/h or when the rp/m reaches 3500rp/m.

3. If I do not shift the gear to N when stopping the car at a traffic light, the car engine will die.

4. The car engine will get overheated when it is driven for a few hours.

General Comments:

The car has a great pickup at a roundabout or at a traffic light.

The fuel consumption is very low although the rp/m is high.

The price is also very reasonable for a 1.0 car. Furthermore, the car has electronic side mirrors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2005

13th Jul 2008, 03:07

Kelisa should not be replaced by viva... total out from that car technology concept... if compare to kelisa and viva, I 100% choose kelisa, by judge its body, after market parts, used parts model variation...

13th May 2009, 00:50

To some extend of exaggeration, I can likened this car as a Malaysian Honda Civic Dolphin or Volkswagen Golf Polo. So far it haven't let me down. There is one particular occasion I'll not forget where I drove through 3ft high flooding and this car just amazingly moving alongside VIGO and what not, left behind VIVA, MYVI, WIRA, SAGA, PESONA; they're engines ceased functioning...

2003 Perodua Kelisa EX from Malaysia


Economical, sporty and value for money


Yet to notice anything in particular that are wrong.

General Comments:

The best value for money car. Cheap maintenance and is very practical. Very ideal for city use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2005

23rd Jul 2005, 07:50

Kenari is a horrible looking car. Too boxy.

2002 Perodua Kelisa Ez 1.0 from Singapore


Very costly mistake


Power window jammed and rattles.

Cassette deck rattles - replaced with CD player.

Rear folding seat keep knocking when going past potholes.

Exhaust pipe vibrate too much, leaks black oil/water and knocks on bumper when passing humps.

Glove compartment broken after 6 months. (cannot close)

Fan belt makes irritating loud sound for 3-5 minutes when cold starting.

General Comments:

This is simply a luxury mini car considering the price and given the poor quality (S$50,000).

The entire car vibrates too much, more like a massage chair. The front passenger door gap is double of the drivers door. Water seeps in during a car wash. Dash plastics is third world, feels like it's built to last not more than 3-5 yrs. Engine noise is very coarse, sounds like a van's engine. Fuel economy is considered poor for this segment of car.

Suspension is too soft - too much body roll when taking corners.

Suspension is too hard over potholes too so I'm confused whether it is soft or hard? Anyone care to advice over here?

Other than that it is quite powerful, but only because it is not composed (tend to feel faster than actual speed)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd December, 2004

14th Jun 2005, 01:11

I drive a Kelisa. Nothing in it is broken yet.

So far, I have not experience any handling problem - rain or dry. It must have been partly due to my driving skill - I presume.

4th Dec 2005, 22:51


I was going to buy a kelisa, but after reading your review, I'm thinking about other cars.

Thanks for the warning.

2003 Perodua Kelisa GLX 1.0 from UK and Ireland


A sound, reliable and economical car


Wiring (earthing) needed attention at 2500 miles.

General Comments:

This is a lovely car that is economical. After the initial wiring fault had been addressed, the car has proved to be very reliable. Managed a 1000 mile trip around Scotland quite easily.

A little cramped for rear passengers on long journeys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2004

2003 Perodua Kelisa EZi 12 Valve EFi DOHC from Malaysia


Engineered for Fun


Too bumpy when tyres meet potholes. Tried to flatten my tires a bit, but steering became a bit too heavy, have to pump it back to normal.

Feel like falling to the sides when making a turning at 40-50 Km/h.

My boot door can't be opened using keys at times, need to push in a bit to in order to twist my key. Need to fix in my next service.

Engine feels VERY hot when I came out from the car, maybe engine compartment is too small for air flow due to this high performance TwinCam engine.

General Comments:

Quite okay torque for an automatic, but after replacing the 3 new racing spark plug, my car accelerate from stop-to-go in mere seconds. Most useful for me when coming out from traffic light stops. Quite a torqe monster, but not recommended for high speed driving, unless the car has been lowered 2 inches and tyres change to 165*55*15. Then, it would be a speed and torque monster. Nice combo...

Accessories are more than enough, quite satisfy with all the items, though I can't use the built-in hands free car kit for it only fit old Nokia phones, doesn't fit my Nokia 6610 though, what a waste.

Pleasure driving and easy handling, I don't have to worry about letting my gf drive it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th October, 2003

18th Mar 2005, 23:50

Man you are comparing both cars in different category... if you think that getting 206 is better than kelisa then why do you made a choice of buying Kelisa?

22nd Jul 2005, 22:44

Kelisa is a very average/good car for it's price in my opinion. I've too own a kelisa. Just change into performance springs and absorber, strut the chasis, change to 15x6 rims. Walla!~ a good road gripping and quite car. Now I've put a bolt-on turbo (DT04) in it. Much torque/power been squeeze out of it now. I'm now scared to push the car hard!~ ;)