2000 Peugeot 206 Reviews - Page 6 of 8

2000 Peugeot 206 GLX 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Excellent value for money

Faults:

I have had the brake light switch fail twice, which left the brake lights permanently on. When the part was not available, the dealer managed a quick fix to keep me going.

A hit and run truck took off the whole of the drivers side whilst parked but the repair by the dealer was excellent.

General Comments:

Being a 1.4 petrol vehicle, it is economical to use, insure & tax in the UK.

I do not expect the car to be fantastically quick but it will cruise at high speed on the motorway all day and the superb handling allows high speed to be maintained through bends.

The only petty issue I have is that it would have been nice to have a light in the glove compartment as the rest of the car has great attention to detail.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2001

2000 Peugeot 206 LX 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4700 miles
Most recent distance8900 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Full of features, stylish at a good price

Faults:

Front passenger seat flipper failed after 3 months.

General Comments:

Great car, reliable and comfortable.

A bit slow on pickup and up hills, but it is only a 1.1. Very confident on motorways and around town.

Dealers a bit awkward, in 3 times for the seat repair. 1st for diagnosis (1 day), 2nd for fault finding, faulty part had to be ordered from France despite the 206 being built in the UK (5 days in garage to find this out), 3rd time for part fitting (1 morning in the garage).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2001

2000 Peugeot 206 GLX 1.4 from Singapore

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Nissan March

Faults:

The power steering fluid leaked when the car was about 3 months old. It was sent back to the service centre for repair and is now alright.

Paint work is weak, it comes off easily.

Some idiot actually personalised my car with his name on it - with a light scratch! (not the car's fault)

General Comments:

Pick up speed is slow.

Generally good things come in small packages, and the 206 is one of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd August, 2001

28th Aug 2001, 16:57

Right about the pickup being slow - I test drove a 1.4 before buying and decided to go for the 1.6 instead.

22nd Dec 2002, 22:23

When I test drove the peugeot 206 1.4, it was alright. The pick up speed was not that bad as one had imagined it to be. It was rather small though - the compartments esp. But the low price kind of made it all up for a continental car, I guess. No more Japanese cars or Korean cars for me... not used to it.

2000 Peugeot 206 LX 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Fantastic speedy car for the money

Faults:

Had a squeaky fan belt, dealer took 4 attempts to find and fix it.

The power steering went, but was repaired without hassle.

General Comments:

Have put some larger 195, 16" wheels on the car which has dramatically improved the handling. As a result it's great fun for only a 1.4i.

The interior is in my opinion unbeatable for design and quality.

Rivals, the Polo and Saxo, have much to learn from the 206.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2001

2000 Peugeot 206 LX 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Metro

Summary:

Great comfortable car

Faults:

Nothing, although I only had it for a couple of months.

General Comments:

I loved the car, very comfortable and fairly nippy, it was a company car and I think I would have bought one if they hadn't become a bit over popular in England!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

2000 Peugeot 206 GLX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carFiat Bravo

Summary:

Bad news

Faults:

Power steering pump noisy, making a grinding sound normally associated with cars half-way through their lives.

Engine managment failures abounded, revs soaring at junctions (fortunately), complete loss of power on other occasions. Fixed partially by the dealer.

Starting difficulties experienced. Dealer suggested applying 'a bit of throttle'. Fuel injection systems appropriate fuel/air ratios according to conditions - have built-in automated fire-up procedure.

Suspension developed a rattle at three thousand miles ('that's what happens'). Friend discovered loose anti-roll bars.

By then it had all been too much. My previous Fiat had lasted five years with less hassle.

General Comments:

Comfortable.

Car handles and performs quite well.

The dealers are money-grabbing, offering very poor levels of service, telling non-truths or covering up as far as possible.

Complete complacency within and amongst.

Reliability shabby.

Numerous faults, unacceptable of a most definitely professionally engineered world consumer product.

Reform needed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

23rd May 2001, 06:59

I was glad in a way that someone else had problems with their 206, mine is 9 months old and here is a list of faults I've had:

1. The ECU (Electronic Control Unit) and transponder were faulty, causing the car to stop, I rang Peugeot Assist they came and gave me a replacement car, while mine was being repaired, it was away for a total of 5 weeks and 1 day.

2. The shocks were leaking and had to be replaced.

3. One of the engine mountings was faulty and had to be replaced.

4. My husband was washing the car and a large part of the paint work fell off - approx. 6 inches long and 3 inches wide.

5. The window in the front passenger door needs a new regulator.

6. There is a loud squeaking noise coming from the front wheel on the drivers side. I had a 1991 Ford Fiesta before this and I never had any trouble with it.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 36 reviews