2000 Peugeot 206 Reviews - Page 8 of 8

2000 Peugeot 206 GTi 2.0i petrol from Gibraltar

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0i petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance9000 kilometres
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Lovely looking car, easy live with, fast, practical

Faults:

Sloppy throttle, solved in 5 minutes.

Noise at the back upon delivery, loose rear seat, fixed.

General Comments:

Excellent grip, very torquey engine compared to some of its rivals, Engine is really opening up now after 9000+ km.

Seating position is fine, seats are pretty comfortable, but the pedals are a bit too close I feel. Interior well designed and looks good, but could do with higher quality materials.

No problems to be honest.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2001

12th Mar 2001, 19:32

I've found the 206 to be a round town car. The gear ratios are too low, so long journeys can be costly, and noisy. Suspension is designed to not be modified because of the torsion bar. If you are a round-town person, for going to the shops it OK, but is you drive out of towns, not recommended.

9th Mar 2004, 14:32

The only problem I've come across with my 206 GTI is the lack of none original Peugeot parts available. This means you have to buy the parts from the dealer which is very expensive.

2000 Peugeot 206 GLX 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Tigra

Summary:

Nice car so far

Faults:

Alarm going off when it wants to, dealer fitted a new bonnet catch, no good. Ultrasonics disconnected and the alarm then behaved. New ultrasonics fitted and so far so good.

General Comments:

Dealers are the worst part of this car. I will be finding a new dealer to service the car as I am not pleased with the one who supplied the car.

I am thinking of having an electric sun roof fitted, does anybody have any comments on this idea?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd December, 2000

3rd Dec 2000, 13:21

My only reservations for aftermarket sunroofs is that they have to be done properly, else the cut-out will be a source for rusting later on, plus leaks. Other than that, go for it.

Hollandia makes good sunroofs, with different types available. My new(er) car doesn't have one, and after having sunroofs in two of my previous cars (metal, slide/tilt) I have to say I miss it sorely.

2000 Peugeot 206 XS 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles

Summary:

A piece of art badly backed

Faults:

Engine management failed in a box junction. The AA had to move the vehicle which caused a huge tailback.

Fan belt squeaking.

Dash rattles.

Back seat retension bar rubbing on the seat.

Anti-roll bar at the front and rear became loose.

Squeaky brakes.

Gruff sounding engine after three days of ownership.

Engine mounts went, causing a tapping/knocking noise when you start the engine or go over a bump.

Dealer fitted spoiler came off while I was driving.

General Comments:

Completely poor car, I spoke to a person at Peugeot customer services. He told me that I had only paid £12,000. That is what you get; it is not a Rolls Royce.

Dealers were poor.

In the end, I sold the car and purchased a nice Fiesta Zetec-S.

Car is badly designed and backed by both the manufacturer and dealers.

A real shame for such a nice little car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th November, 2000

21st May 2001, 15:16

I also have a Peugeot 206 XS 1.6 and I must say: It's a great car!

I guess you just had bad luck with yours, like you can have bad luck with any car... Maybe you bought it when the 206 was just released in your country. Anyway... if it was a poor car, it has become - in my opinion - fantastic now.

6th Aug 2001, 11:25

No - dealers are atrocious; they don't deal, they just supply and want their commission, and for that, you may as well go direct to Peugeot and buy the car. That way there is no excuse for a faulty product that doesn't deliver beyond the styling.

28th Oct 2002, 07:31

My 206 (indirect diesel) has had a very loud intermittent engine rattle from new (December 2000) which only abates when you kill the engine and restart, not easy on the M3 or M27!. Occurs 10 - 15 times a year (26,000 miles for me). The dealer ran out of ideas and advised that I write to Peugeot directly. Peugeot were not interested at all and advised me to go back to dealer. The opinion seems to be that as it is an intermittent problem I should not be concerned... (?)

I won't, buy another Peugeot based on their lack of interest in existing customers and awful customer service.

2000 Peugeot 206 LX 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired900 miles
Most recent distance1800 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 1982 Mini

Summary:

Love the car. Maybe a GTi next

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

My only real complaint is that the footwell is a bit too cramped. It is easy to hit more than one pedal at once. On the plus side, I am fairly tall and there is bags of headroom.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2000

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 36 reviews