1996 Plymouth Breeze from North America


What a lemon!


Transmission leak was present at time of purchase. Took it in to the dealer and they were unable to find the leak. Told me there must be a hairline crack. I visited the dealer on 5 separate occasions, each proving to be a waste of my time.

Transmission went out at 90,000 miles.

Head gasket blew at 80,000 miles.

Head gasket is presently out at 132,000 miles.

Air conditioner is stuck on the window defrost setting. Seems to be an ongoing problem.

Currently experiencing yet another transmission fluid leak.

Timing belts replaced 3 times within the last year and a half.

At times, car will stick on heater setting and window locks have no power.

Car sputters and nearly dies at each intersection.

Spark Plugs changed 3 times in one year.

General Comments:

This is the worst, most expensive car I have ever owned. I would never recommend this car to anyone! Not even my greatest enemy.

Car lacks power.

Cabin is roomy and seats are indeed comfortable.

This car is much more trouble than it's worth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th June, 2003

1996 Plymouth Breeze 2.0 4 cylinder from North America


If you have deep pockets for repairs, be my guest.


Feels like it is powered by four malnourished hamsters.

Head gasket started leaking at 40,000 miles.


The ball joints and tie rods on the front end wore out at 45,000 miles causing loud banging noises when going over the slightest bump.


Steering rack was replaced at 35,000 miles (warranty covered) because of a whining noise when I turned right.


Transmission had to be replaced at 80,000 miles (traded it in instead) $2,400.

Feeling of trading it in


General Comments:

This car had a lot of expensive problems, but never once left me stranded, so I had to give it pretty high marks for reliability.

The trunk was very spacious.

I liked the looks of the car.

For the most part, I felt as if the car was built as a throw away. And low and behold it was only in production for five years.

After the tranny went out, I cussed all Chrysler products and told myself that I would never buy Chrysler again.

However, when I traded it in, the dealership talked me into buying a 2003 Chrysler Sebring LX (review to come soon)

I figured that a new Chrysler product, with a 7 year/70,000 mile warranty, was a heckuva lot better than a used Chrysler product with no warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2003

1996 Plymouth Breeze from North America


Performs well for the driving conditions I need


The head gasket was shot by the time I had reached 40,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car handles easily.

I enjoy driving it.

Good leg room in the back for the tall guys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

1996 Plymouth Breeze 2.0 from North America


Needs help


I have a breeze, that doesn't make a breeze. During compression check blow by went into radiator overflow tank. Is this a head gasket problem? The car started once with the overflow cap off, but won't start with cap on. Go figure.

General Comments:

Please e-mail me if you have the answer to this questions. dustyandkeri@attbi.com.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th January, 2003

1996 Plymouth Breeze Base 2.0 soch from North America


Very unreliable and bad Head Gaskets!!


The Head Gasket went at about 35,000 miles. The Steering Gear is bad. Brakes are very weak and their new. Every time you start the car all of the windows steam up and in the winter they freeze on the inside. Has no power and is very unreliable.

General Comments:

I think it is comfortable and has a neat exterior shape to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

4th Oct 2003, 23:43

I am having the same problem with my windows. Does anyone know how to fix that?

20th Jan 2004, 19:05

Same thing with my breeze 98.

You must put your knob for outdoor intake, that will solve it.

Sylvain lebiz4@hotmail.com.

17th Apr 2004, 05:40

Oooo, I was wondering how to fix that steamy window problem, thanks!

1996 Plymouth Breeze 2.0L from North America


I'm in love with my car and won't trade it for anything (okay maybe for a vette)!


The Air Conditioner needs fixed; more than likely there's a lack of freon.

Tires need replaced; the tread has worn.

General Comments:

I absolutely love my car. Even though it's only a 4-cylinder, it really gets on it and goes when I need it to. Not only does it come with a monster sound system and a sporty style (for a four door car), it is still spacious enough to acquire suitcases for a road trip along with other people. The interior is nice, the seats are comfy, and the car is still compact enough for tight squeezes when parallel parking. I've never had a serious problem with my car (knock on wood!) and it's totally reliable wherever and whenever I go. I'd recommend a Plymouth Breeze for anyone--from young drivers to families. I don't know about other similar car owners, but my car is the envy of my friends because of the low cost on the car itself and the gas it uses, as well as the maintenance and upkeep. The usually oil change ever couple thousand miles and it's good to go!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2002

30th Sep 2002, 22:25

I fill the same way about my Plymouth Breeze 199,000 and counting. I am very very happy with my car. My CRISTINE.

22nd Oct 2002, 23:32

I am thinking about getting a Plymouth Breeze, so far I like all the reviews. I'd also say if you are thinking about buying a Chevy Malibu think again, or go to something else you'd be better off!

18th Feb 2003, 15:59

You wil get a lemmon like others did.

25th Mar 2003, 16:28

I just purchased a 97 Plymouth breeze. It picks up speed great and looks great. If I have any future problems with it I will let you guys know. I thought there were a lot of bad comments though! :o (

30th Apr 2003, 09:13

My 1996 Plymouth Breeze has 378,000 miles and is still running great. Maybe the trick is to change the oil every 100,000 miles because it has worked for me.

23rd May 2005, 14:58

I have had my 1996 Plymouth Breeze since it was new. No major issues other than the headgasket leak repaired under that "hidden warranty" (crappy way of treating customers I think).

Replaced brakes only once, still get great mileage and hope to have it for years to come.

23rd Oct 2006, 20:53

My mom has a 1997 plymouth breeze it's a good car right now it has I think 44,000 on it right now it's in the shop for a new head gasket other than that it is a good car.