1996 Plymouth Neon Reviews - Page 4 of 11

1996 Plymouth Neon LX 2.0 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance100434 miles
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

It is a good car, but too expensive in repairs

Faults:

My head gasket blew 3 week ago. It is now being fixed and it is costing me $1,000.00.

General Comments:

The car has good mileage, but it is expensive to pay for repairs to the head gasket.

That is the only problem I had with my car, which I've had for 6 monthes now.

I also have to get my odometer fixed because it doesn't work sometimes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th October, 2004

1996 Plymouth Neon 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance159987 miles

Summary:

A reliable car with some maintenance

Faults:

I bought my car brand new, it was my first car. For the first 90,000 - 100,000 miles I had no trouble, it ran perfectly. Then my oil started leaking. After keeping an eye on my oil problem I had a new head gasket put on, still it did not help. After installing three new gaskets, we decided to put a new motor in the car. After putting a new motor, we had to install a new transmission. I could estimate my expenses being somewhere around $2000, which I am sure is on the "cheap" side compared to other peoples expenses.

General Comments:

My car has been very reliable until it hit around 100,000 miles, but with most cars they do need some maintenance. Since installing a new motor, transmission, new belts,and gaskets my car runs smoothly. Its like having a new car again. I recently came back from a trip in which I drove well over 900 miles, before I would not have dreamed of traveling in my car no more than 100!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th July, 2004

1996 Plymouth Neon from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired69 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carbuick century

Faults:

Head gasket blew at 35000 (lucky still under warranty)

Camshaft replaced at 65000; 450.00.

Egr valve replaced cost; 300.00.

Headlights have to be replaced they have some kind of yellow film on them like someone rubbed sandpaper on them.

Passenger wind not seal that great.

I love my car, but I will never by another car from that cheap, incompetent dealer ship.

General Comments:

All in all for a car that's 8 years old I haven't put that much into it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2004

1996 Plymouth Neon Base Coupe 2.0L 4 Cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired111300 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

Great car, would recommend to anyone, and definitely own another

Faults:

Head gasket started leaking around 115,000.

Wheel bearing went bad (my fault).

MAP sensor went bad, or there is a vacuum leak (also my fault).

General Comments:

Car runs and handles great.

The car is base, but the engine still performs better than any other car I have driven in the same class.

Anything that is wrong with the car now, (i.e. head gasket, bearing, and map sensor/vacuum leak) I have cause by my driving.

I would DEFINITELY own another Neon, as this is my 2nd one. And I would recommend this car to anyone.

It is cheap to drive, easy to maintain, and does exactly what I need it to do.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2004

1996 Plymouth Neon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

The best car for me, and super cheap to handle, I love her!

Faults:

The muffler went about 3 months after I bought it.

General Comments:

I love my Neon.

My car picks up speed quickly for an automatic 4 cylinder.

She is always cleaned.

I also like to buy things for her.

She gets all the special seat covers and steering wheel covers along with the seat belt covers.

The Neon has nice floor mats too!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2004

1996 Plymouth Neon from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous cardodge colt

Summary:

A bargain at first, bit the long run will leave you broke

Faults:

The car was very reliable, but little things always went wrong. As soon as the warranty went out an oil leak occurred.

I had to replace the brake pads almost every six months.

The speakers were replaced several times before I gave up.

The struts had to be replaced twice.

It was almost impossible to keep the car in alignment. It would have been a huge money pit if my bother in law wasn't my mechanic.

General Comments:

Although there are numerous complaints about the car, it always started. The car never left me stranded in the six years that I owned it. Funny thing is I was commenting on this fact on the way out of town to trade it. 200 miles away from home I stopped and asked directions to the dealership I was looking for. When I came back to the Neon and tried to start it, it wouldn't start. The starter gave out according to the AAA guy. I left it running the whole time I was making my deal on my 2002 Honda Civic. The dealer turned the car off. I was in a panic assuming it wouldn't start. She started on the first turn of the key. I guess she was just upset we were being separated.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd February, 2004

4th Feb 2004, 19:36

Assuming that the problems you mentioned were the WORST ones you experienced, it is difficult to understand your negative rating of the car. The speaker problems are certainly not indicative of the overall quality-maybe you just got cheap speakers and/or turned up the volume too loud, blowing them out. Likewise for the brake pads-cheap quality pads, hard driving or sticking calipers could have caused rapid wear.

The fact that you got almost 100K miles out of the car implies some degree of reliabilty.

Sorry, but none of the problems you described, with the possible exception of the oil leak, would seem to indicate a lack of quality or workmanship in the car itself.

You may very well experience similar problems with your Civic, based on the comments of others on this board.

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 42 reviews