1996 Plymouth Neon Reviews - Page 10 of 11

1996 Plymouth Neon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Watch what you buy, some are junk

Faults:

My motor blew after 30,000 miles. It is very hard to get parts for it, there are two of the same car - one from Mexico and another from the US.

General Comments:

This car isn't worth what you pay for it. It's a junk car cause there are two different 1996 Plymouth Neon cars. One is made in Mexico, the other is made in the US, and people that don't know the difference, but if you buy the one from Mexico you will not be able to gets parts for it. I know, I've been trying to get a part for 6 months and I still can't get it cause it is the Mexican made car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2001

25th Apr 2001, 20:35

My 1997 Neon is built in Mexico (VIN begins with 3). I don't believe that parts are different from the US-built Neon. I had a few parts replaced in 1.5 years (instrument cluster board, oil pan, rear main seal, few smaller things) and it was never a problem. All parts (from Mopar) were available in dealer's stock or arrived the next day when ordered.

19th Jan 2002, 23:37

There is perhaps another solution, get rid of the Neon, have you seen the many other posts on this website? Over 80% of them are due to the same faults. Get a lawyer, find out your state's lemon law details and find yourself into a Ford or Toyota :)

1996 Plymouth Neon Expresso from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

This car is a piece of junk

Faults:

Head gasket replacement at 12k.

Whole transmission replaced at 60k, $2500.

Wiring problem, 60k.

Service engine light on all the time for an unknown reason.

Power steering noise.

Starting problem.

The car lurches when turning to the right.

General Comments:

This was my first new car, I was very very disappointed and will never ever buy another Chrysler product. I want to get rid of this piece of crap, only one problem is no one will buy it. And the stupid thing isn't even paid off yet!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th January, 2001

1996 Plymouth Neon Highline 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles

Summary:

Oil, oil, everywhere!

Faults:

Head gasket replaced twice.

O2 sensor.

All plug wires twice.

Brake rotors.

General Comments:

It seems that the head gasket is an item to be replaced every 30,000 miles. Luckily the first one went when the car had ~29,500 miles. The 2nd one the dealer replaced at around 55k as a pre-existing condition. I was given a quote of $700 for doing the head gasket replacement. When it blows the gasket it leaks oil everywhere. What a mess!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2001

12th Jan 2001, 11:15

Oh yeah.... I forgot to mention the fact that the roof seals leaked. Took a while to find the leak that on several occasions resulted in inches of water on the rear seat. :-(

9th Mar 2004, 13:57

I too had problems with my head gasket. My first one blew at 125,000. I also had to replace my alternator twice.

1996 Plymouth Neon Highline 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

Mechanically reliable, but look out for paint flakes!

Faults:

The head gasket blew the day after I bought it (used). The dealership replaced it for free, however.

There are scratches on the windows from where the window pads have collected dirt and marked them over time.

Also, the paint is chipping in large flakes, and it is only four years old.

General Comments:

While the car is lacking in some physical attributes, it has never given me a problem mechanically except the initial problems with the head gasket.

Other than that, it starts and stops when I want it too, it is as fast as I need it to be, and it isn't too bad on gas mileage either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th November, 2000

11th Jan 2001, 11:43

I own a 1995 Neon Highline and in mid-1999 the paint started flaking. First on the trunk, then on the roof. The dealership fixed the trunk and later the roof. Now, other parts of the car are flaking, but the warrenty expired on the paint. The dealership said it will look at the situation on a case by case basis. I've noticed this happening on other Neon's around town.

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 42 reviews