1996 Plymouth Neon Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1996 Plymouth Neon Base 2.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles

Summary:

I love her =)

Faults:

The headgasket went out but another local dealer (not the one I bought it from) Buhler Chrysler Plymouth replaced it in a few days without any problem or hassle. Otherwise only small things that never sidelined me, she has started up every time =

General Comments:

I love the car, they're an addiction kinda like VW bugs, in their own field. They definitely grow on ya.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2000

15th Oct 2001, 21:06

I'm glad this person likes their Neon, but mine is a piece of junk - I'm a guy and I'd sooner drive a new Bug at this point. And I hate new Bugs.

24th Apr 2003, 19:09

My Neon also need to have it's head gasket replaced. I understood that Chrysler had an unpublished extended warranty of 1 year 12,000 miles for the head gasket. My car was under the mileage, but over the time, but I was able to get them to do the job for only $150 (quote was $600). So I think I did OK. You might want to call the regional Chrysler rep and discuss your lack of satisfaction and they can "Cut" deals. You may not get it for free, but at a steep discount. Good luck.

26th Jun 2003, 22:05

I just recently purchased my neon and it is now 8 years old and still kicked. There is one problem that I have to fix... the front axle. not bad for being 8 years old. Other than that its perfect...

29th Jun 2003, 19:20

I have a 1996 Plymouth Neon. I got my car from a car auction about 3 years ago. I feel blessed that all I have ever had to replace was an oxygen sensor (when I bought it), battery terminals, battery, tires, a fuel filter and a starter. BUT... my BIG problem is that the paint is peeling. I was told that for a three year period Neon's had a problem with their paint. I was also told that there was a recall on the paint and I could get my car repainted. I have not been able to find any information on this recall. If anyone has any information on this please let me know!

17th Feb 2006, 08:31

I am having problem with my neon too. but after looking on line for a few hours. and reading the somethings over and over. I notice that a lot of the problems are probibly with the car itself and not the maintenance. but I did find a website its free and you can get the safety recalls for all cars and trucks.

I don't know if I can post it so drop and e-mail and I will send it to you.

LILLOVEE430@optonline.net.

1996 Plymouth Neon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles

Summary:

Cheaply made, not worth anything but scrap metal

Faults:

A/C compressor, brake calipers, power moonroof jams, reverse in auto transmission has went out twice, muffler has came loose several times, "Check Engine" light comes on for some unknown reason, MASSIVE oil leaks.

General Comments:

Cute car... but please avoid it, is very unreliable, it WILL leave you stranded. You will not be able to trade this thing in, NO ONE will take it, you are stuck with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th July, 2000

29th Jan 2001, 12:17

I totally agree, this car is a piece of junk. I regret the day I bought it.

14th Feb 2001, 15:42

This car is a complete piece of crap. The only thing that this car should be used for is a ship's anchor. Even then the metal is so thin and cheap it would probably disintegrate. As for getting rid of it no one wants these clunkers. My advice to you is to drive it off a pier and rid yourself of this junk!

10th Dec 2003, 18:37

I may be in the vast minority, but I bought my Plymouth Neon new in 1995 and have had it ever since. (It now has almost 180,000 miles.) I did have to have the main seal and head gasket replaced, but other than that I have only needed routine maintenance.

22nd Aug 2009, 00:41

I have a '95 Neon Sport, its head gasket went at 79,000, and then the power steering rack went at 81,000 miles. Otherwise, it's been pretty reliable. Mine has never left me stranded. While I agree that this car is no Honda, it's not as bad as you make it out to be. Maybe if you did some routine maintenance it would've lasted longer?

1996 Plymouth Neon Espresso from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles

Faults:

I have had to replace the head gasket and the O2 sensor twice. Both were one year apart from having them replaced the first time. The A/C also went out and it took the dealer 3 times to finally repair it. It is still temperamental but the headache of dealing with them is not worth it.

General Comments:

The service from the dealers is really horrible and I wouldn't recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th July, 2000

11th Jan 2004, 22:12

I generally agree with this review, but I just wanted to add some other things. I have many problems with the cooling system and have gone through quite a few thermostats. this is all under normal driving conditions. I disagree about the performance level though. I have recently gotten into a few races in the neon and I was rather impressed with the pick-up and the speed of the vehicle; for only a little four-banger.

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 42 reviews