1996 Plymouth Neon Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1996 Plymouth Neon 2.0 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.7 / 10
Distance when acquired144900 miles
Most recent distance146230 miles

Summary:

Did they get the parts for these from a damn junk yard? Crap, crap, crap

Faults:

Well... The air conditioner no longer works, the brakes sound like a bus coming to a stop, interior is cheap and uncomfortable, check engine light is always on, transmission shifts rough, paint is peeling.

General Comments:

My friend got this car for free from his older sister, aside from having 145,000 miles on it for a 96! It is a ticking time bomb. I told my friend to go for a Malibu or Saturn next. At least GM products don't start falling apart so soon.

Don't buy Chrysler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th September, 2001

1996 Plymouth Neon Highline 2.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired58500 miles
Most recent distance61200 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

A piece of junk... akin to Vega, Yugo, etc

Faults:

Blown head gasket at 60,000 miles. Warped the head beyond repair.

General Comments:

I have got the same problem as apparently thousands of others have - Chrysler built a cheap car, and won't recall it.

The head gasket blew, and the local dealer claimed the head was too warped to repair. Aluminum materials, and all. Turns out, it wasn't too warped (I took the old one to have it checked myself). So I paid $1400 to have an oil leak repaired. I contacted Chrysler, who refuse to claim any responsibility.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th September, 2001

1996 Plymouth Neon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Don't Know
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired144500 miles
Most recent distance145200 miles

Summary:

I'd take my chances with a Kia before I would buy another one of these wrecks

Faults:

Brakes, leaks oil and transmission fluid.

Bad body and paint.

General Comments:

This cars is a piece of junk. It rides rough, the brakes squeak badly, the dashboard shakes at stops, paint is peeling and the car is rusting. I can see why they do not make Plymouths anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

1996 Plymouth Neon 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Spectrum

Summary:

It sucks!!!

Faults:

My head gasket blew at 40,000 miles.

For some reason while you're driving along down the highway or road, the car will just quit running.

General Comments:

I have had this car to the garage about six or seven times for it to be fixed and they insist that there is nothing wrong with it! I would love to know why it keeps stalling. This car sucks!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

22nd Oct 2002, 22:37

I own a Plymouth neon 1996 and had it in the shop so many times. I agree they should never have put in on the market The paint is peeling, the door panels are falling off. On driver side and pass side. My head gasket I get it fixed, well about a year later have to do it over again. Once again back to every time the shop.

7th Nov 2002, 02:39

Next time have them check your fuel pump. Some of them quit working when they get hot. It's about a $500 part.

16th Aug 2004, 18:45

If alternator, starter, coil, battery, cables are good, pump o.k. and is fuel injected, why won't the 96 Neon start? Please give me something to look for. If it is a sensor how do I know if the thing won't start? Anyone have any idea?

1996 Plymouth Neon Highline SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles

Summary:

Piece of crap

Faults:

Head gasket @ 50,000.

Cam seal @ 57,000.

ALL the paint came off when it was 4 years old.

Transmission leaks @ 58,000.

General Comments:

NEVER EVER buy a Neon. I have had nothing but problems with it! Plus Chrysler will NOT stand behind their products. Must be pretty crappy if they don't believe in their own products?!?!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st March, 2001

21st Apr 2009, 14:47

Okay, so here is the deal. I own a 1996 Plymouth Neon Highline. I bought it from a used car dealership. So as to some minor repairs at this point, I find the car pretty reliable. So many of the complaints I read, say from Chrysler. I know in 1996 both made the car and are in connection with one another. Should I worry about what the problems Chrysler manufactured on it, or should I feel pretty safe with the fact that Plymouth was my make?

22nd Aug 2009, 00:52

To the above comment:

Uh..no not really. It's a Plymouth, which means that your Plymouth Neon is the identical twin of the Dodge Neon, and the Chrysler Neon. All Chrysler models are interchangeable. The Dodge Durango and the Chrysler Aspen? Same car. The Dodge Stratus and the Chrysler Sebring? Same car. The Dodge Caravan and the Chrysler Town and Country? You guessed it, same car. Plymouth models and Chrysler models were even more interchangeable than Dodge and Chrysler! So no, your car is the exact same as everybody else's, it just has a Plymouth symbol on the front.

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 42 reviews