1996 Plymouth Neon Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1996 Plymouth Neon 4 cy from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4 cy Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles

Summary:

The car is okay, but I would not buy another, nor do I recommend anyone to purchase this make

Faults:

I purchased the car and within the second week, the head gasket blew.

I have had to have brakes replaced. Even when replaced they are still squeaky.

I have had to get the rear main seals replaced.

The paint is peeling.

General Comments:

Overall, the car is OK. I didn't have to pay for the head gasket. I did pay for the rear main seals because the oil was leaking.

The car doesn't have a lot of power, but it goes pretty fast after changing over.

I hate the brakes. I wish they would shut up.

The panel lights will mysteriously flash off and on and the spedometer will move or stop working during real hot weather or really cold weather. Every mechanic I has taken it to and asked can not give this a diagnosis.

I have to get a paint job due to the cheap paint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd November, 2002

3rd Aug 2004, 10:03

I own a Plymouth Neon 2DR Highline model and have experienced the gauge panel (speedometer, gas, oil, water gauges) go out for no reason while driving down the road. I took the panel apart and found the 2 connectors behind the panel to be loose and causing a loss of connection. I remounted the connectors to be closer to the gauge panel (had to press really hard to mount the gauge panel in place) and that fixed the intermittent problems with it.

30th Dec 2004, 13:16

I recently bought a 1996 Highline and replaced the cluster panel. Now all the mysterious lights work properly. If this is not fixed it will also affect the shifting. Also, I have noticed oil leaking and was told it was the head gasket. I only have 78,000 miles of this vehicle.

1996 Plymouth Neon 2.0L SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0L SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Sundance

Summary:

A pile of junk by Chrysler

Faults:

Immediately after the car was bought the dealer changed the leaky head gasket.

Engine leaks oil. Have to add a quart every other week. (Head gasket probably blown again)

Transmission fluid leaks.

Water leak in the trunk (probably from the taillight)

Paint chipping.

Noises and vibrations.

A/C leaks.

Car stalls consistently.

Speedometer works whenever it feels like.

Squeaky breaks, specially rear brakes.

General Comments:

This car is a pile of junk, I told my wife to run the hell out of it until it falls apart. I will not spend a penny for repairs on this car, is not worth it. I know something else will brake as soon as we fix the current problems. Do not buy a Neon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th November, 2002

1996 Plymouth Neon Expresso Highline 2.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired400 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles

Summary:

I wouldn't buy another Neon

Faults:

Head gasket blew within the first year (1996) I purchased the vehicle.

Gauges stopped working two years after I bought the car (1998) - cost $200 to have repaired.

Paint is blistering and peeling off (2001).

Rain water leaks into the bottom passenger side every-time it rains. (2001)

Cracked head which causes motor oil to leak. (2001)

Air conditioner stopped working (2001).

FM radio does not work anymore. (2000)

General Comments:

This car is cute and very sporty looking.

The engine has good pickup.

Too many electrical problems as well as head casket problems.

I wish I had bought a Toyota or Honda instead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th May, 2002

1996 Plymouth Neon Base 2.0 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 SOHC Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance67686 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Money pit

Faults:

Head gasket.

Transmission.

Fuel line.

Oil sending unit.

Thermostat.

Oil pan gasket.

Fogged head lamp assemblies.

General Comments:

This car was supposed to be a cheap car, but it takes a lot of money to keep it going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th December, 2001

20th Dec 2001, 06:44

Can't be all that bad...

You probably put on overdrive with 2 litre engine.

21st Apr 2004, 22:36

In response to the above comment, I have a 96 Neon and it has been nothing, but problems since the second I bought it, and I take excellent care of my car! In fact, some would say I am overly cautious with it, never driving above 65 and babying it. I thought it would be the nicest car I have ever owned, and so far it has cost me over $1000 in repairs in barely a month. It is a worthless piece of junk and I don't think you should judge that guy's driving abilities. Many of us have had these horrible head gasket problems, fuel problems, O2 problems, you name it we've had it! And it's not a reflection on all of our driving, it's a reflection on the kind of piece of crap cars these Neons are!

29th Apr 2007, 07:35

Well just bought a used 96 Neon SOHC and running into same concerns. Stalling out feeling like a fuel pump, retrieved code from car lean bank 1. Replaced fuel filter. Before replacing filter you could drive the car for an hour then it felt as if it was starving for fuel and die out. After waiting a while you could start the car back up and go again. After replacing the filter I now have a hard start and 0 fuel pressure after driving for approx 60 miles. Any suggestions... besides a tank of gas and a match.

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 42 reviews