2001 Pontiac Aztek Reviews - Page 2 of 16

2001 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired660 miles
Most recent distance72500 miles

Summary:

Love hate relationship right now

Faults:

My dash lights bagan flickering when on.

Rear trunk will not open unless hatch release is pulled and manually opened from the back.

Lock on the drivers door froze and broke when I pulled up to open.

Drivers window froze and when I pushed the down button it broke off and slammed down into the door.

Had a oil leak a year after ownership.

Oil sensor light malfunction and tie rod leaking fluid, needed to be replaced.

Leak in the steering rack.

General Comments:

Great ride in weather. Cuts through snow like a hot knife though butter.

Sound system is good.

Hate the seat belts, hard to put on even after years of owning.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th May, 2008

2001 Pontiac Aztek AWD 3.4 sfi from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4 sfi Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance81000 miles
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

Unless you have to have one, pass it up!!

Faults:

A/C condenser replaced at 20k.

Rear differential replaced at 20k.

Intake and head gaskets at 62k.

Rear knuckles at 52k.

Blower motor resistor pack at 52k.

Tune up at 60k.

Transmission at 80k.

Wheel bearing at 40k, another at 50k, another at 60k, and another at 80k.

General Comments:

Junk; don't buy one.

I can't afford to fix this thing anymore; it is putting me in the poor house.

I can do any of the wheel bearings on it in 40 minutes flat. I do all my own work on it and have probably have 7k$ into it.

Currently it runs and drives, but the ABS and AWD disable lighte is on due to a bad wiring harness. I would stay away from the Torrent and Rendezvous also; it is built on the same chassis as the old Aztek.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd April, 2008

2001 Pontiac Aztek AWD V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance114737 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

This is a great vehicle overall

Faults:

I have had the problem with the rear hatch not opening on 1st press of release. I found an answer on this site about adjusting the black knobs on the side of the hatch. It worked. Even the dealers don't know this. I had the pistons replaced once under warranty to try an fix this. I would like to thank the person who posted this repair.

Thank you.

My gas gage shows either full, or if I stop for a long red light, will go to empty.

The knobs on the seats have come off.

The eyeglass holder on the overhead console broke.

I had to replace my a/c compressor about 2 years ago.

General Comments:

Other than these problems, this is a great vehicle. It is very roomy, and very easy to load it up with stuff. It is very comfortable on long trips. After my mother-in-law had hip replacement surgery, she always wanted to be picked up in my Aztek instead of other cars in the family which included a Buick and an Audi.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th January, 2008

5th Jan 2008, 19:18

I too, have an 01 Aztek, which I have owned since buying it new in Sept 2000. I suggest you check you the Aztek owners group at Yahoo! Groups called "Aztekowners". It has been my the most useful source for me. Good luck. Craig in Tampa.

2001 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 kilometres
Most recent distance175000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Good car if you don't mind the looks

Faults:

I bought this well used at 114000 kms. Right away the right wheel bearing went, which was replaced under warranty.

A year later it went again which wasn't under warranty.

The trunk latch takes multiple hits to open.

I replaced the rear shocks at 170000 kms.

General Comments:

I have been very happy with it so far. It handles well, very roomy and it feels very safe to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th November, 2007

2001 Pontiac Aztek from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutless

Summary:

While the Aztek is roomie, I would not buy another Aztek

Faults:

My AC quit working at 40,000 miles.

Cloth seats have worn down to tearing.

Gas cap is not always easy to get off.

Tires have been replaced twice in 5 years.

Brakes have been replaced once in 5 years.

General Comments:

This car is generally good and is very roomy.

However, it has cost me quite a bit of money replacing and fixing problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th September, 2007

2001 Pontiac Aztek aztek 3.4 V6 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Great, Decent, do all Vehicle

Faults:

Leaking head gasket, Rear knuckles, drivers side wheel bearing.

General Comments:

Nice car rides comfortably drives nice, handles snow ice and rain covered roads with ease. Pulls a decent size trailer easily also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2007

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 62 reviews