2000 Pontiac Bonneville Reviews - Page 4 of 9

2000 Pontiac Bonneville SLE from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

This car has been a complete headache

Faults:

I have never known how strange a car could be. First, I experienced problems with the speedometer. I would be driving 35 mph and the speedometer would suddenly indicate I was doing 80 mph. After a couple of months of hearing from the repair guys that they couldn't find anything wrong, the problem corrected it self only to start again 6 months later.

Second, the car would shut off in the middle of driving. The car would only start back up once it had set for about 30 minutes. to an hour. My door locks, and controls for the windows stop working.

One of the mechanics in the automotive shops in my neighborhood thought I was either crazy or was coming on to him. My car stopped on me 4 days in a row. I would either walk down to the shop or call them. When they would arrive to my car, it would start up. Since the car started up, they were unable to tell me what if anything was wrong with the car.

I have spent a lot of money on just trying to find out what is wrong with this car. I know I can't be the only person experiencing these types of problem with the 2000 Pontiac Bonneville.

General Comments:

The car would be nice if it ran correctly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2006

20th Apr 2008, 22:10

My 1999 Bonneville shuts off while I'm driving also. I was wondering if you ever figured out what the problem was. It does it every time I drive it.

29th Jul 2009, 23:22

Could possibly be your ignition.

20th Jul 2010, 10:38

I also had a similar stalling problem with my 2001 Bonneville SLE. I would be driving the car and it would just quit. Also I had noticed that the tachometer would mysteriously drop to zero while the car was running. I was able to restart the car after numerous tries, but the problem persisted.

My mechanic tried replacing the control module under the coil packs, but again the problem returned. After keeping the car for a few weeks he was able to find the problem. It ended up being the crankcase position sensor. It has been about a year now. I have had zero problems with this stalling issue since the repair.

2000 Pontiac Bonneville from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Not impressed, will never buy this type of car again

Faults:

Heating unit has been replaced 3 times before it was fixed in 2001 or 2002? Could not locate receipt of repairs at this time.

IP Cluster ASM replaced 12/12/03.

Hazard Warning Switch replaced 4/9/04.

Recall on 3054 Fuel 1/8/05.

Replaced # 3 Fuel Injector 12/12/05.

In at current time for what appears to be another Fuel Injector replacement 8/2/06.

The motor for the right rear passenger window has gone out currently being repaired 8/2/06.

General Comments:

I am not impressed with this vehicle what so ever.

Too many COSTLY repairs. Expected better quality for this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd August, 2006

2000 Pontiac Bonneville from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Faults:

I had a leak in my 2000 Bonny trunk that I finally traced after much effort, including multiple trips into the trunk with a flashlight and someone with a hose on the outside. I found that there is a plastic strip on the outside of the trunk that retains rain water. The water then siphons beneath the trunk rubber seal and enters the trunk at multiple points. I made a permanent fix by pulling the rubber seal, applying silicone sealer liberally in the groove of the seal, and then re-attaching the seal. No problems since I did this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th March, 2006

2000 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

It's a fine car and reliable

Faults:

Nothing so far. Only routine maintenance.

General Comments:

I needed a car after my Integra broke a timing chain that caused major engine damage so I sold it instead. This car (Bonneville) was recommended by a relative who found it online. I like the 2000+ styling so I test drove it. After reviewing the cars history and agreeing on price, (I paid $7300 in 2004) I drove it home and it has never failed me since. Like I said, I only have changed the oil.

The car drives smooth and comfortable yet can take a hard corner or catch up with the pack. It is easy to spin the tires on wet pavement. My only complaint (very minor) would be the seats are a little creaky and the dash insert paint is peeling.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th December, 2005

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 37 reviews