2000 Pontiac Bonneville Reviews - Page 8 of 9

2000 Pontiac Bonneville SE 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carLincoln Mark VIII

Summary:

Used bargain of the year

Faults:

I have had nothing go wrong with this car.

General Comments:

I am a little disappointed with the amount of low-end torque. My minivan gets off the line faster than the bonny does; however, when it comes to passing power this car is dialed in. It is geared perfectly for acceleration. Especially between 60 - 105mph. I couldn't complain about the gas mileage either 30mpg going 80mph on back roads.

I am also impressed with the reliability. My Lincoln Mark VIII was in the shop every other week for something after 30k miles. The bonny is showing no signs of stress. I think I'll have this car for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2003

22nd Feb 2005, 23:51

Have a 2000 pontiac bonneville with 80000 miles on it, never a single problem with it, I love the car to death. very powerful for a 3.8L v6, and amazing passing power, has a speed stop at 107mph, found that out. awesome car though.

2000 Pontiac Bonneville SLE 3.8 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carInfiniti G20

Summary:

Perfect combination of sport and luxury

Faults:

Not one single problem.

General Comments:

This is the first Pontiac I've ever owned and I am completely impressed.

The power of this car has to be listed wrong at 210 horsepower. I had an Intrepid R/T listed at 255hp and I know it accelerates better than the Dodge did.

My only complaint is the cup holder, the holes need to be a little bigger.

The seats are extremely comfortable, easy to adjust with the memory feature, (I'm 6'1 my wife is 5'4")

Runs perfect on regular unleaded gas (87 octane) A lot of cars today won't run on 87. It also gets great mileage for a big car. I average 24 in town and 30 on the highway.

The trunk is the size of a living room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2003

26th Jun 2003, 11:38

I agree with your brief summary of the Bonneville SLE. It is a great car both in terms of looks and performance. The cup holders are not only too small, but placed in an awkward area of the console.

You have one inaccuracy in your overview though. The engine only puts our 205 horsepower. While I agree it feels like more (likely from its torque rating) I thing Pontiac needs to up the mid-level model horsepower to 225 to keep pace with the imports. The new SSEi is getting a bump this year and the SLE should follow.

2000 Pontiac Bonneville SE from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Blah..not reliable

Faults:

Day One- Cracked Windshield, minor scratches on front fender. Dealer repaired.

Day One- While replacing the windshield, dealer scratched the dash. Dealer replaced dash.

Day One- Car pulls to right. Dealer reviews.

Months later- Car still pulls to right & vibrates at 60-65mph. Dealer reviews-Balances Tires.

Months later- Trunk leaks. Dealer replaces seals.

One year later-Back seatbelt breaks. Dealer replaces.

One year later- Still vibrating at 60-65 mph & when braking. Dealer balances tires.

One year later- Sunroof Breaks- Dealer replaces.

One year later- Passenger window no longer works- Dealer replaced motor.

One year and a half- Molding on door looks damaged. (Like rust, but it is plastic) - Dealer replaces.

Car still vibrating... Dealer still balancing.

Two years later- car still vibrating- Four new tires-Dealer purchases.

Remote key entry-had to be reprogrammed.

25,000 miles later---Dealer is still reviewing the vibrating. They have changed brake rotors.

General Comments:

I have owned 4 cars in my life. Two Nissan's, One Mazda and a Truck. I have never experienced these kinds of strange and constant problems with the Bonneville. This car has been treated with lots of TLC.

I will never purchase another one. I love the look of the car.

It may look good, but I do not trust it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2002

3rd Apr 2003, 23:08

Have also experienced multiple problems with the 2000 Bonneville since purchased. Both front wheel bearings replaced, steering shaft replaced,2 front door modules that controlled the interior lights, rear door module replaced due to window not working, gaskets replaced for an anti freeze leak, new radio/CD player because the unit would not shut off, new lighter and lighter housing because that didn't work and now we're back for a third time for a leaking trunk. Still have a problem with the passenger window not working at times, but since it's an intermittent problem nothing can be done at this time. This car has only 18,000 miles and is pampered. A lemon in every sense of the word.

28th Jul 2004, 22:29

I have had my 2002 Bonneville for two years. I love the car, but has been to the service center so many times, they know me by first name and call my car Bonnie.

The following has been replaced: Rack and Pinion steering system, the CD player twice, the transmission, both of the rear window motors within two weeks of one anther, a bezel pealing in the interior and front brakes. All have been under warranty (I have a 100K warranty). If not for the warranty, I may hate the car.

My trunk leaks and the car vibrates between 65 and 70 miles per hour. It will make a visit to the service center again this week.

When not in the shop the car is great, but we are at a 50/50 split between me driving and it sitting in the service center.

Believe it or not we ordered the 2005 Bonneville with the Northstar engine. We have known plenty people who have had a Bonneville without problems. We figure we just got a Champagne colored lemon this round!

14th Jun 2005, 12:52

Have you ever heard about test driving a car first then you would know the problems.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 37 reviews